We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location food okay”
Review of The Thatch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Thatch
Ranked #3 of 21 Croyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
DERBYSHIRE
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely location food okay”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited here on Saturday, it was our first day and we had spent the afternoon on the beach and were looking forward to a tasty pub meal. Sadly it was a let down, its a lovely pub but the food wasn't great. It was very expensive for what you got - my boyfriend and son had burgers, the kitchen staff got them a bit mixed up but rectified this quickly, apparently they were alright but not outstanding considering the cost. I had bangers and mash but it wasn't very nice at all but I ate it because I was starving, the consistency of the sausages was horrible - the meals weren't worth the money.

Lots of nicer places to eat, okay if you want a pretty pub to sit outside and have a drink.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PINKPRINCESS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    55
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
57
58
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in the cottage opposite the thatch but owned by the pub. Quaint , clean, cosy , all you need but a little noisy from pub garden noise. Big bathroom to dry your beach gear and small side garden. Parking beside cottage. Breakfast substantial.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suze2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you see my reviews then you know I like my luxuries and have never stayed in a B&B so this was a first. Saying that, I love Croyde and know it well and have spent many an evening in the Thatch, just never stayed there, having friends who live in the area.
So I took a risk in booking this as a last minute Thursday night stay. The web site is good though and I could see pictures of the rooms which was reassuring.
Anyway, we got a last room over the Billy Budd section. Room 16. I would have gone for the quieter Priory but this was all that was available.
Well in a nutshell it was a DELIGHT - from start to finish. From booking via speedy email and friendly call right through to leaving breakfast !
We were welcomed superbly by a bar staff member who took us straight to reception. Then we were shown to our room. Parking was easy and free. Our room was really nice and had a little set of outside stairs and roof terrace to get to it. I was surprised at the value for money and level of facilities and cleanliness. It was soooooo clean! I was reassured by flat tv, cool radiator, spotless shower, neat furnishings, fluffy white towels and cool kettle and coffee and tea. All really clean and modern and well presented.
We had a great evening in the bar. Veggie nachos were to die for! We took our last orders to our room as it was near the gorgeous outside garden patio.
I really loved it and learned something about value for money here. My hubby was delighted I was pleased as I can be so fussy. Says something about the place. There was small noise at closing time and the suds of barrels in the morning, but it was all acceptable and atmospheric as we were over a pub.
This place looks so good from the outside- credit to the managers for getting it so right. Covered in flowers, well painted, beautiful thatch and good branding etc. it looks welcoming and inviting.
We had a breakfast in the price and that too was impressive. Juice and toast and cereal on help yourself and cooked breakies to order. One for veggies too! Gallons of tea too.
Easy checkout completed the event. All the young staff were particularly friendly. check out was at 10 which is early but then breakies was til 12!
I loved it!!! And surprised myself. Will def be going back and recommending it to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have recently had a weeks holiday in Croyde with our family and went to eat at the Thatch one evening. We sat outside enjoying the sunshine but could not say the same about the food. We found it was overpriced for what we received and I would not recommend the chips. The children's portions were ample could not complain about that The service was good and they quickly removed the used plates.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanStoke_on_trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in the pricey Priory Room 21 for our recent wedding anniversary. We were blessed with fantastic weather which made the weekend for us. We ate in The Thatch on the Friday night; the food was fantastic, the portions were superb, although we made the mistake of having a starter of Nachos which filled us up (ours were not soggy!). The staff were very accommodating and friendly, we were able to check in much earlier than the advertised time. The room was spotlessly clean, pleasantly large bathroom which has been fitted to a high specification, with a fantastic shower. Our only critical comment is that they could certainly consider a waitress service for the breakfast, rather than having to go to the bar to order food. Bearing in mind what we paid for two nights, this was a little unexpected.

Room Tip: If you want quiet nights to sleep, book the Priory rooms, not the rooms at the Pub itself, these are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Given less than an hour's notice, the restaurant management were able to arrange a table for 19! I haven't spoken to all 19 about their meal, but my enormous rack of ribs was very good. The children's meals looked like adult size and were well accepted by nearly all the littl'uns.
The place is enormous inside.. they seem to have cracked the Tardis effect. If you go in school holiday time you'l fine this is not the place for a romantic meal for 2 ( maybe they have a special area for that sort of thing!).
The staff were extremely busy but, to a woman/man. were friendly and helpful. Requests for slight 'tweeks' of the menu were happily accommodated.

Room Tip: We just had a meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wil221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Came here after hearing great things. It was overpriced and had to return my food. I had BBQ chicken nachos. They arrived soggy and the chicken was clearly processed and boil in the bag. It was one of the cheapest things on the menu at £9 and was terrible. We got a refund and left.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Daisyebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
0.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,746 reviews
3.4 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
802 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
806 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thatch

Property: The Thatch
Address: Croyde, Braunton, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Croyde
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Thatch Hotel Croyde
Thatch Croyde
The Thatch Croyde, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing