We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub, food and service”
Review of The Thatch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Thatch
Ranked #3 of 21 Croyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Pub, food and service”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Managed to book a table for 8 on a very busy bank holiday weekend. Staff asked if we could be gone by early evening as they had another booking. This wasn't a problem as we like to eat early. When we arrived the pub was packed, but staff showed us straight to our table and then to help us along they took our drinks orders and food orders at the table, instead of making us go to the bar.
The food is typical pub grub, nothing to fancy, but it was all cooked really well and tasted great, we couldn't fault them. Good value, great food and fab staff. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowboy358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    55
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
57
58
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed for two night break (at Billy Buidds) away from the kids in mid/late August.
Good bits:
- It is really easy to walk down to Croyde beach - turn left at Billy Budds and stroll 1/2 mile.
- You can usually park easily - they have 4 car parks (Thatch, Billy Budds, Crosscombe, Priory) - if one is full you can use the other and just leave your registration (parking is 'interesting' in Croyde)
- Really, really friendly staff - genuinely so and not the put-on crappy/false friendly attitude
- Room was clean and bathroom had the comforting 'just bleached cleaned' aroma. Nice size TV which worked. Tea and coffee was the basic Nescafe & UHT.
- Good cooked breakfast in the Thatch - eggs nice and runny so freshly cooked rather than hotplate cremated eggs.
- Guests get a priority booking in the restaurant - really handy as it gets mega busy
- Half decent wine list - some good selections
- The Thatch restaurant food is still quite tasty - mainly pub grub type stuff, but was better than expected.

Bad bits
- Food and drinks are expensive even by B&B/ Pub standards - it is not a gastropub but does know how to charge (almost £5 for a pint of Guinness)
- We stayed at Billy Budds and the jukebox thumped through the bedroom floor. We knew this was a pubroom in advance but it did keep going until 11.45pm (I think it may be later at weekends)
- Unfortunately the room was also above the kitchen areas - so had the familliar empty keg removal symphony in the morning (7.15am)
- Beds are not massively comfy
- Really easy to get on the coast path for a walk around the headlands/coastal path

So, all in all - we knew we were staying above a pub but still quite a bit of noise late night/early morning.Would we stay again? Not in a room above the pub - over the road or another B&B - definately. Croyde is a stunning little village.

Room Tip: Make sure when booking to ask for a room not above the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave-Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

3rd time we've stayed The Thatch this time in Room 5 on a sunday night. Room clean, good size for an old property, tea coffee and chocolate on the hospitality tray, soap, shower gel and shampoo all available in the bathroom. Shower pressure is very disappointing, a dribble rather than an pressure wash! As you are above a very busy pub you do hear some noise from the bar, but we expected that. You may not get a sleep in either as the hoovering of the pub begins around 7am. Breakfast was fine, only suggestion is to stop deep frying the sausages. Location is key for this pub right in the centre of the village close to the beach and with great outdoor seating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormanBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We've been coming to croyde every year for about 25 years and it's tradition to have a meal at the thatch. They introduced me to cheesy garlic bread and nachos for which I will be eternally grateful but service is perfunctory apart from the bloke who takes your drinks order, you can end up queuing for 20 mins to place your order and that queue is frustrating if you're settling your tab. They don't normally take reservations and it's often busy.

Nachos and Mexican chicken are fabulous and generous portion of ribs, altho can be spicier than expected.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank eve-boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We don't generally write about eateries, but people need to be warned about this 1. Caesar salad with chicken £15.00, jacket potato £9.00, ham egg& chips £11.00!!!!!! Pay upfront at bar. Filthy tables& filthy menus .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babenbasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freckleton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Booked after reading on TA and it was great. Dog friendly room and staff were first rate. Food was pub grub but excelent value for money, especially the crab claw starter. For the money it was great value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vrodrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

We've been into the Thatch and Billy Budds each time we go to Croyde, and I must say, they are now at risk of driving loyal customers away at the expense of seasonal tourist trade. You don't even pay these prices in London ! A pint of cider and a Guinness and you'll be lucky to getuch change from a Tenner ! (about £9 actually)
Message to the management, either raise your game and offer Michelin standard food and drink, or don't try and charge the prices that these cost !

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monkeyzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
0.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,746 reviews
3.4 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
802 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
806 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thatch

Property: The Thatch
Address: Croyde, Braunton, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Croyde
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Thatch Hotel Croyde
Thatch Croyde
The Thatch Croyde, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing