We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place,Perfect.”
Surf's Up Beach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Surf's Up Beach House
Croyde Beach! A large secure garden facing the sand dunes and sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Surf's Up Beach House
Croyde Beach!
A large secure garden facing the sand dunes and sea
The bright open plan living area
A wood-burning stove for cosy evenings!
Features covered area for drying clothes/storing firewood
Outdoor seating
New fully-fitted modern kitchen for your convenience
Kitchen
Kitchen/sitting area
Bedroom 1: light and airy double bedroom
Bedroom 2: large bedroom with double and single beds
Family bathroom with bath and separate shower
Separate shower
Conservatory dining area
Single bed
Double bed
Croyde Beach
Great for surfing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Croyde, Braunton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Domski972
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place,Perfect.”
Reviewed February 28, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Amazing location, closed to the beach and well equipped kitchen and living room.Large garden and perfect for our dogs.Will recommend to friends and we'll visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destinati...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed January 11, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
4
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely break over Christmas in Croyde but I would like to draw your attention to a couple of things that spoilt our holiday a bit.

It was freezing cold for the first 5 days. The house should have been warmed up at least a week prior to us arriving. The house isn't really winter appropriate.

Although you assured me of 4G and wifi I used my entire 4G quota in 4 days and had to pay £32 for 10 days of wifi that was very unreliable (only worked in the bedroom). I will also be charged extra for the 4G (outside of my plan) I had to use every time I had to log into BT with FON wifi. So not at all satisfactory.

I enquired about the comfortableness of the furniture and you assured me it was adequate for adults and teenagers. We found it to be very uncomfortable. It turned out that our two teenagers didn't come in the end but had they come it would have been a disaster. There is not enough seating for 5 adults (let alone the 7 you advertise). The bean bags are not bean bags but really only foot stools. The chairs are extremely uncomfortable, bearing in mind we wanted to snuggle up in the evenings. We had to bolster everything with pillows from the beds to try to make them comfortable.

The log burner was inefficient, we had to buy dry logs as well as use the ones provided.

When walking around the floor was very noisy, bouncy, cold and slippery. My dog is not used to wooden flooring and was skidding all over the place. This house would definitely benefit from some kind of rugs in the winter.

The weather was quite bad and rained most days. This would have been fine, we were expecting it but; the entire house was shaking in the wind.

As for the plastic roof running the entire length of the house, this was the bane of our entire visit. It rained every single day, very heavily. The noise of the rain on the roof became unbearable at times it was SO LOUD. It kept my daughter awake most nights and spoilt most of our evenings. There is a definite 'Caravan Feel' to the property.

The Bathroom was freezing and the shower is ineffective (hot cold hot cold) and very small.

The TV was inadequate as it only offered regular TV and perhaps a couple more channels. Again, not really great when you plan to stay in most evenings.

The radio didn't work, the washing machine doesn't spin properly, the cooker doesn't get hot enough, the toaster has to be done twice.

I'm sorry to sound so negative but this was our experience.

On the plus side, the location is perfect, the beds are comfortable, the kitchen is nice, the parking is great, its nice and private and you allow dogs.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halocco
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well equipped & well located”
Reviewed August 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Charming, well thought out little beach house, very well equipped and tastefully decorated. Large garden with plenty of space for our dogs to run around. Very clean and we loved the welcome scones & cream and nice toiletries in the bathroom. Please note there is absolutely no wifi, or 3G or 4G signal at the house on O2 or Vodafone which we thought was great but the children thought was a disaster.....!
We enjoyed the fabulous coffee shop in the village called 'The Stores' (they have free wifi!) they did fabulous organic local food, yummy coffee with oat milk and a glass of rose in the evening. There was also a pizza oven outside every evening from 5pm -9pm, which made pizzas absolutely from scratch with organic ingredients with were delicious.
We are a family of 5 and generally it was a great place to stay within walking distance of the village & beach. We put the 3 children (15,11&7 yrs) together in the bigger room and we slept in the other small double.
I am sorry to say that although the small double looked very nice & well decorated, the bed/ mattress was extremely uncomfortable and after a week of sleeping on it I have a sore back and neck which I have never previously experienced. Also the small double room has a thin corrugated plastic roof and when it rains (which it did frequently) the noise is very loud which is not great if you are sleeping lightly in an uncomfortable bed....!
The beds in the children's room/ triple, in contrast, were very comfortable and the roof is lovely and high and made of normal wood so they all slept brilliantly.
Visit Saunton sands, it is utterly beautiful and has a fabulous restaurant with great views over the beach(Dogs welcome all year). We enjoyed Ilfracoombe too especially the boat trip along the beautiful coastline towards Exmoor, we were lucky enough to see porpoises. Westward Ho is fun for some traditional English seaside entertainment.
We would definitely consider visiting again and we had a very happy holiday, but please, please could you put a new mattress on the small double room bed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrighty-B...
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 27, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Helpful owner in booking, superb location, beautiful accommodation, very well equipped, everything you could want for a short break.
Log burner, dishwasher, great bathroom comfortable beds, well played out and beautifully decorated.
Traffic free stroll along paths to the beach and coastal footpath.
Walk to Saunton along the coast footpath take dogs on the beach.

Couple of minutes walk to the excellent Thatch pub which is great.

Nice enclosed garden for dogs ( or kids)
If I was going to Croyde again I would definitely stay here again,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma W
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, just wonderful!”
Reviewed May 29, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in Surf's Up for a week in May with my partner and our dog and it was just perfect! 2-3 min walk to the beach for walks with the dog and for us to relax, same distance into the centre of the village for food/drink/shops! The property itself had everything needed, large master bedroom with single bed for a child, large second bedroom, open plan kitchen/lounge/dining, plus lovely large bathroom with great power shower and large bath. Had a wodnerful outside garden that could access from both the front and back door, plus a patio area. There was even space to drive our car into the drive and close the gates behind us so that everything was secured, which was great for us has had taken our bikes and surfinge quipment. Would highley recommend this property to anyone looking to go to Croyde Bay, especially anyone with dogs as was just ideal for us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No wi-fi but not really an issue
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zia P
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A really lovely weekend. Fantastic house well equipped. Loved the log burner. A very special place. Would highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misskc59
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My friend and I booked 'Surf's Up' for a week's relaxing break with our dogs. We very much enjoyed our stay. It felt spacious yet cosy and was clean and well equipped. The beds were very comfy (haven't slept so well in years!) and it was a rare treat having two double beds in such a property! Our dogs loved having the run of the, good sized, garden with the added bonus of a high wall which makes it very private. Croyd beach is a short walk away and, when dogs aren't allowed (May to Sept inclusive), Saunton beach is only a short drive. Having rented other similar properties in the area, I have no hesitation in recommending 'Surf's Up'. It's head and shoulders above the competition!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious but cosy, log burner, private garden.
Liked least: no Wi-Fi
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing