We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Croyde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at Unison Croyde bay in August 2013 and had a lovely time.
The over all site is really lovely very peaceful and tranquil. We stayed in the hotel which is very well appointed, furniture is lovely as well as a big comfy bed.
The resturant food also is great, very nice choices and very delicious.
The beach access is a real bonus especially if you are a surfer as it takes just a few minutes to get on to beach, saves using the car.
Entertainment was also good. we would recommend a visit, we are sure you would enjoy it as we did.
We have another holiday booked with them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 364 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

My second visit here and both have been excellent. We were there all weekend at the end of September with a a large party for our wedding. We would like to thank Michelle for making our day so special.If you are considering a wedding location please put yourself in Michelle's hands as we did and you won't be disappointed. The venue was perfect and the staff were excellent (special mention for Martin and Ben too). We never had the opportunity to pass on these sentiments to the General Manager in person. He is very lucky to have such hard-working dedicated staff. Our guests were equally as impressed and pleased we had chosen this venue.

Room Tip: From retro chalets, through cottages to large and spacious hotel rooms this place has it all whateve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlynHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in a Gold 2 bedroom self catering cottage on a Unison members special offer rate of £150 for 3 nights. Would sleep 6, but it would put pressure on the one loo/shower room. We were parents with our student daughter and her boyfriend: they had the bunks, but the sofa bed looked good quality with proper slatted base and decent mattress. Generally clean and well equipped, though the decor is getting a little dated now and it lacks subtleties such as table lamps for softer lighting. It's not a place to come if you don't like children, as the cottages face a communal green and the children play out on it (the Atlantic cottages may have been more peaceful in that respect). We used the pool which was very pleasant, and nearly empty despite the number of children staying: all at the beach in wetsuits even at the end of September. We also played crazy golf, table tennis, putting and tennis all virtually for free (if you haven't got table tennis balls or golf balls, you just buy them in the shop) Only problem was with the table tennis which was in a very dusty building and a bit too close to a snooker table for comfort when both are in use. we tried to use the Dune Bar but it kept being full of weddings! The daytime bar is horribly full of large tv screens so we did not use it, and the evening bar in the restaurant/ entertainment area is rather soulless, but it was happy to let us take our drinks back to our cottage as long as we brought the glasses back. The food selection looked uninspiring so we didn't try it. You do need to bring supplies if you are self catering as the shop is very basic, although ok for milk/ bread/ free range eggs. Also a small off licence section, but not much choice (no real ale for instance: although it is sold in the bars on draught).

The holiday Resort is in a lovely location just behind the sand dunes and beach: lovely walk to Baggy Point. (National Trust Coast). Croyde has some pretty cottages but the pubs and restaurants seem uniformly tasteless and/ or overpriced. The surf influence is not positive in that respect. We can thoroughly recommend Sunday lunch at the Kings Arms in Georgeham though (see reviews)

Excellent for families with children as it's really safe with no on site traffic and plenty to do. Overall layout is pleasant and nostalgic chalets look just that! All in all a good stay for the price we paid, it might seem overpriced at normal rates for the quality of accommodation. but you do get a lot of facilities.

Room Tip: Atlantic Cottages are probably quieter than Gold cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mendip_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights mid August and was very impressed with the site,our 2 children had lots of fun with plenty of facilities on site,the only thing I would say needs improving would be the entertainment at night after the childrens shows finished people left straight away and it was only 9.30-10ish we didn't mind as we had young children but for couples etc the entertainment could defiantly be improved.the children's entertainment was great though children loved the dance routines and meeting benny bear!

Housekeeping was brilliant,we had a family room,and was spotless,housekeepers were very friendly and knocked everyday to see if we needed anything etc,couldn't fault this area atall

Location is perfect,basically on the beach!and a 5-10min walk into croyde village
Restaurant was always clean and tidy,and staff always there to help etc,food was good a choice every night of a roast,pasta dish or fish,aswell as a saladbar,and dessert area,something for everyone!
Overall we had a perfect family holiday and will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jones1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed in a family room in the main hotel, 2 adults with a 7 year old, here's our break down:

Cost
We paid £100 a night in peak season (without breakfast). This is a fair price, although stupidly they sent me an email just before my stay offering me the room for £75 including breakfast! They refused to honour this, maybe want to be a bit smarter with your marketing?

Location
Perfect, 5 mins walk to the beach over the dunes (the quieter side of Croyde beach). 10 mins walk to the rest of the village, this really is a great location.

Entertainment
If you have little kids then they will love this. We stopped in here every night when we returned, the bar & entertainment staff are very good. Elvis was back again this year (same guy who has been doing it for 10 years), its worth a look. Benny Bear turns up for the little ones most nights too ( my 7 yr old thought he was great).

There's also crazy golf outside that kids love, clubs are free but bring your own balls (or buy one at the shop). There's 2 tennis courts too but we didn't use them.

Rooms
Family rooms are brilliant, the kids beds are separated off from the double bed. Room was clean and had a fridge (no safe though). Don't rely on the fridge to keep stuff cool all day though, the power turns off when you leave the room.

Housekeeping
This was poor, daughters bed wasn't made some days, our bed wasn't changed once in a week, left dirty towels on the floor which were hung back up (ones that we'd used at the pool, we reused others). And then there's the day they turned up to clean the room.. at 6pm! We also found an old sock, hair bobble and contact lenses in our room. Apart from poor housekeeping rooms are great, maybe they were understaffed this week.

Wifi
Good news - wifi is available all over the hotel. Bad news - the price is a joke and the hotel refuse to offer you any support. As most families have more than one device it will cost you £24 a week, yes, more expensive than a month of fibre broadband at home. I paid for 2 days and had trouble logging on, account was locked. The bloke at reception offered no help other than giving me a number to ring and was rude in the process. Yes, I get it, you don't run the service yourself, but why should I have to be the one phoning up your provider? Washing your hands with the service is unacceptable at those prices, *you* should be dealing with the company on my behalf, the service has *your* logo all over it, why should I care if its a different company?! I work in IT and we use many 3rd party companies, however if a customer has a problem we will deal with it first, you need to do the same. Would you have charged me for ringing the support number from the room? Yes, I think we all know you would have...

Anyway, surely you should be providing free wifi, at least in the bar/club? Ruda, Thatch, Billy Budds, Blue Groove and Hobbs all have free wifi, open your eyes Croyde Unison!
UPDATE: The hotel have told me they're looking into free wifi in some public areas.

Food
Breakfast is very good, lots of food to choose from and plenty of it. There were cereals, fruit, yoghurt, cooked breakfast (need to ask for veggie sausages, they keep this quiet!), pancakes, waffles, porridge & toast. Good value at £7 for adults £3.50 kids. Starts very late though at 8:30, 7:30 would have been better.

Watch out for them changing the time of breakfast and not telling anyone though. They done this with us and claimed the guest books in the rooms were updated the day before. Firstly ours wasn't, secondly do you really think we read these every day? How about putting up a notice somewhere where people actually look? Lots of annoyed people turned up to find out breakfast had finished 30 mins early.

Dinner - buffet style and very expensive, in my opinion not worth it. It cost us £50 for 2 adults & 1 child, when you exclude drinks (as non are included) then this was more expensive than The Thatch, Blue Groove and Hobbs! What a joke, they are all top restaurants in a different class to the hotel. It's a free for all buffet, so if like us you are veggie then it's just not worth it as you're very limited with choice. It would make sense to sell the options separately over at the Dunes restaurant cheaper, without the buffet. I wouldn't bother with any prepaid meals, you're in Croyde which has some of the greatest restaurants in the region, why would you want to lock yourself into expensive buffet food all holiday?

Dunes
I don't get what this is meant to be? It sells the same bar food as at the main bar and, er, that's it. This has a lot of potential to be a good restaurant, in its current state it's just confusing and has no identity (hence always empty).

Pool
Smallish pool, but nice and well run. There's a small gym next to it too, with treadmill, cross trainer, rower etc. Theres also a lifeguard on duty all day.

Overall, despite some of the negatives above we had a great stay. This hotel could be perfect, just needs some TLC around the edges and a little better customer service.

Pros
Location
Family rooms very good
Pool
Gym
Breakfast very good
Entertainment staff good
Mini golf

Cons
Housekeeping poor
Dinner overly expensive
Wifi ridiculously expensive and hotel brush off any responsibility
What is the point of The Dunes? Turn this into something special for Croyde...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulKISS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We went here last year and found it suited our needs so stayed again this year.
As other people have said the resort is generally clean and well kept, and as we have gone at the end of the season think it can be excused a few signs of wear and tear.
We had a bit of a hitch when checking in as we found the chalet we had be allocated, had 1 double room and a room with bunk beds in it.
The manager could not offer us anything else as it was fully booked so offered us some free meals or a discount off the cost of our stay.
We excepted the discount and used the sofa bed in the lounge which we found to be comfortable enough for us.
We could not fault anything else there, the swimming pool complex was really nice, our grand-daughter loved the play area, and the Dune bar was a really nice comfortable place to relax.
We mainly used the resort as a base, we went out everyday to various places to entertain our grand-daughter, but if you have the luck with the weather could quite easily just stay around the resort and use the lovely beech, which is a short but steep walk away.
The chalet we had was well equipped and you really need for nothing.
We went out of season and found this unbeatable value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitramg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

From the monent we pulled up on the carpark, it felt like we were on holiday! We stayed in a hotel room, which was beautifuly decorated, and so clean! Cosy, comfortable beds, and very spacious! All staff were excellent, and so well mannered. Facilties (ie swim pool) were spot on. Can not praise this resort enough! Beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emsyloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
0.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,834 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
860 reviews
3.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,630 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
122 reviews
7.5 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort

Address: Croyde Bay, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Croyde
Price Range: $131 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel lies directly behind the Dunes at Croyde Bay, Hotel Rooms and Self Catering Cottage accommodation just a stones throw from the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing