We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Nearby Hotels
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Watersmeet Hotel(Woolacombe)
$325
$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Fortescue Arms(Woolacombe)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Durrant House(Bideford)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveler rating
207
117
36
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
207
117
36
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringcrazy golfsteam roomsand dunesmini golfsnailstable tenniscroyde baytennis courtsputting greenthe cottagesbuffet styleswimming poolhotel roomfamily roomevening entertainmenton site
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 372 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Where other holiday camps bulldozed their 1950s chalets in favour of 'high class' hotels, the marketing bods here had a brainwave. Instead of knocking 'em down, let's make a feature of them! And goodness - what a success! With a fresh lick of paint and some fab old photos on the walls, those Hi-de-Hi hovels are now marketed as 'nostalgic chalets'. Our family chalet had a full sized double bed which was really comfy, a partition wall with bunkbeds the other side, and an ensuite shower room. Outside there is a clothes dryer, and a pub style table for alfresco drinks. The funniest thing was continuing the holiday camp theme to the mirrors - ours made you look huge! Think they must have got a joblot from the Fair's Hall of Mirrors! Yes, the shower is 'snug' to say the least, and from the air the holiday camp looks like the Maze Prison, but overall it is a great place - especially for young kids. And if you don't fancy going back to the 1950s then you can stay in 1980s self-catering chalets, or the brand new hotel. There is an indoor pool (the old photos give it away - it used to be the outdoor pool!) - plus a sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, kids games room, playpark, pool, table tennis, bowls and free evening entertainment each night (if you like that sort of thing). It is only a couple of minutes to the beach - but beware - the walk back is up a steep sandy dune - sort of take 2 steps up and slide 3 back while you are wet and cold and carrying two tonne of wetsuit gear! The restaurant is self-service, sort of - in that if you want soup for dinner you have to sit and look expectantly at the waiting staff - ditto for a hot pud. Some suggestions for the dining room staff: 1. Put the menu on a big a-board at the entrance, and on the front of each dish on the servery; 2. sort out the toast machine - nightmare woman each morning making at least 16 slices for her enormous family, double side for each slice of course! Better to have it done in the kitchen and laid out in a tray; 3. Offer cheese or yoghurt for pudding - bit too much emphasis on stodgy cake; 4. offer bigger glasses for juice/water - only a mouthful in each! But the food is plentiful and hot (providing you queue for your toast before you get your cooked brekkie!). The holiday camp is very hi-de-hi - but that's not a bad thing...if you want a traditional British beach holiday and you have small kids or are an older couple then this is near perfect. Couples and families with teens...perhaps not.

Room Tip: Nostalgic chalets are great for a bargain break!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank allliemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent for little children. No good for 9+. Food really good. Only found out today last day could of asked for veggie breakfast. Dont advertise that anywhere. Or that you can ask for icecream for dessert. No cash machine or cash back on site. Good if you like line dancing. Otherwise theonly good nights entertainment was Elvis. Staff are really nice apart from a very young assistant manager who was quite rude. As my children are 11 and 13 and I dont like line dancing im afraid I wont be going there again. Also a kids coke at the bar is £1.60. One night they sold cans next night was told no cans allowed. Very confusing. No reception or internet unless you want to pay £6 per day.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharnsmart33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

weve been going to this camp for many years now and its always been excellent. brilliant food, brilliant entertaintment, brilliant facilities but it has failed to impress with the quality of service from the staff and this year was no exception. we actually heard one young lady on the reception with the silly big black glasses actually curse us behind our backs all because we were asking about the local facilities which they clearly had no idea about. she was extremely rude and upset my partner very much, not only that we could smell alcohol on her..... which leads me to wonder if we should return.....other than silly rude staff it was lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank londonadvisorfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reservations-Office, Manager at Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Good Morning. We have noted your comments. Please contact us on 01271 890 890 or email us at croyde@unison.co.uk and we will try to resolve this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Having not been to Croyde Unison for some 7 years we were delighted to stay in the new hotel. We had a family room on the first floor, great access via the lift, a spacious room with a good bathroom and power shower, all very commutable.

The location of the Parc is perfect for the beech albeit bit of a climb over the picturesque sand dunes. Just a short walk to the local village, well worth the visit.

The breakfast and evening meals are truly fantastic, great choice and very tasty, our compliments to the chef, absolutely no need to dine out of this complex, great choice on the menu.

The facilities at the venue are great for all ages, good inside swimming pool with spa and treatments, plenty of outside slides Etc. for kids, putting green, crazy golf and a soft play for the younger ones.

Feeling a bit peckish one afternoon we popped in to The Plaza, the food here is also fantastic, good size portions well priced, and plenty of sport on the large screen TV’s.

There is also separate accommodation for pets; they have also kept the iconic old chalets for those that don’t like changes!

Entertainment: Benny bear for the kids games for them but from 9pm adults:
First night a guy making balloons? Awesome not just for kids this guy is amazing, made a motor bike, a massive Scooby doo, even a Lion King!
Next night Captain Coconut??? Again amazing this guy makes bubbles, yes bubbles so big there were people (guests) inside the bubbles, a non-miss show!
Next night a clown, an adult show suitable for kids this guy is hilarious.

Then we had the Abbagirls who stormed the show, had the room up dancing with big cheers at the end, next night Elvis, what a great voice and entertainer this guy is, both musical acts very professional. Five great nights of entertainment all nights a do not miss. A great entertainment team well-presented and well organised. As are all the staff on the site all friendly and helpful.

I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this resort to any age group, also fab for disabled guys.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had a long weekend stay in an Atlantic Cottage, very spacious with 2 beds and 2 bathrooms, useful as mum in law came with us. We had half board and the food in the restaurant was great, extensive breakfast buffet and evening meal was usually a veggie option and a couple of meat and a fish option. Carvery, curries etc. short walk to the beach through the dunes, not good access for a buggy tho.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SJV68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews