We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“All round excellent”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Croyde, Braunton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Aovert0n1...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“All round excellent”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Priory Stables met all expectations. I, and a group of 12 friends, thoroughly enjoyed our week stay there. It was well equipped, spacious and in a prime location- a quick walk to the lovely Croyde Bay beach, and a minute away from the Thatch, or corner shops. The owner was very helpful, welcoming and easy to contact; making our stay all the better. I sincerely recommend this property to groups of friends, or families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the house. Thank you for your lovely review and if you wish to return again don't hesitate to get in touch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasoddy
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The house was clean and nicely decorated. So much room in the lounge and dinning area completed with spacious and comfy beds and bedrooms. Both owner and the housekeeper were very friendly and helpful. The house is perfectly located near the sea, beach, pub and local shops. i would stay again without a doubt.
Thank you very much Joby for making our week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cactusjac...
uk
1 review
“Amazing for the family ”
Reviewed July 5, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I have just stayed in this house and wanted to say what an amazing time we had.
We had four kids with us and it had plenty of space and freedom for all of us. The location is ideal as we could easily nip to the shops, pub and only a five minute walk to the beach.
The house was clearly freshly painted and was totally up together, so would highly recommend to friends, in fact I have already rebooked.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca M
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location, but dirty”
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed 11th to 18th of June. Just read a review stating, they had a lovely stay and the property had just been painted? The review was left on the 21st June!? Please read the review on the 29th May, I agree with everything they have listed and had clearly been ignored, as the property was still the same on our arrival! The bathrooms were filthy, the tiles were brown and full of grime, the shower head was dirty and mold on the blinds. We didn't call the owner or the housekeeper, why should we! It should be clean for every guest! We wanted to relax, not have someone cleaning, whilst we were there.The wardrobes were full of pillows and quilts and old paint pots, we had to move them, to hang our clothes. The upstairs toilet leaks, the floor was wet after flushing, so we stopped using it. You can see the property was once a high standard, but not anymore. A professional cleaner is needed, to bring the bathrooms up to scratch! We had a issue with the WiFi and the owner did sort this out promptly. It's a great location, but property let it down.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2016
Thank you for your feedback. The house has been re-painted from top to bottom but was after your stay. I understand you didn't want a cleaner at the property whilst you were there but I had spoken to you on a couple of occasions to resolve the issues with BT so that the wifi was working and you hadn't mentioned once you were unsatisfied with the house. We absolutely strive to make every stay perfect for our guests and thought you were happy from the conversations I had with you. All feedback is welcome and everything you have mentioned in your review was or has been rectified. We have over 30 reviews and more than 90% are extremely positive!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenyskin...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing house in a fabulous village by the seaside.”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at the lovely Priory Stables in June and both the house and village lived up to expectation. The house is located in the center of the village with only a short walk to the beach, shops and the fabulous Thatch Barn Inn. We would strongly recommend the Thatch for great food, family friendly and a great atmosphere. The house itself was ideal for our needs with a couple of families staying. It was spacious with lots of living / dining space, we were lucky to have some sunshine so the sun deck was ideal to take in the views with a glass of wine. The house had clearly been recently painted which made it nice and clean and fresh for our stay. You had all the mod cons you would want want with large TV's, Wifi, DVD player etc which made it a comfortable stay when we did have some rain. I would strong recommend this lovely house and we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2016
I am so glad you had a lovely stay at Priory Stables as we strive to ensure every guest has a great experience and enjoys all the comforts of the house. You are correct we have recently redecorated and you were the first guests to enjoy the benefits of a freshly painted house! We would love to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLBrown_2...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean Me !!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly the location is great for going to the pub, going to the beach or for walks.
Never been to this part of the UK before (as a long way to travel from Edinburgh).

Purpose of visit = A large group of friends getting together for the weekend.
Of the 10 people who stayed for our 3 night stay at this property, none of us would return.

All 10 people agreed that the property was in desperate need of a good clean. It desperately needs some TLC. Bedside lamps could be fixed, headboard could be re-attached to the wall, DVD could be working (as it would have been ideal to watch DVD's on a damp rainy weekend). It would have been handy if the outside shower worked for those returning from a surf. Mouldy blind in downstairs bathroom unsightly. BBQ was coal NOT gas as stated in the info and was too late when we realized. Bath Mats & Hand towels have seen better days (personal opinion they were disgusting) One of the camp beds provided was broken. No batteries in the remote controls. Not enough sofas for 10 people to sit. People has also expected towel to be provided but this wasn't the case unfortunately. Kitchen taps ... which on is Hot/Cold, and one was a trickle. Not sure of of the point of the fire extinguishers which were ornamental as they weren't on brackets on the wall and not tested or have a certificates so slightly useless. Only 8 proper dinning chairs (2 fold out plastic ones provided). 10 people cant sit out on decked balcony (not enough seats). Mattresses REALLY uncomfortable. Family bathroom = Tiny.

Advertised as sleeping 10....... well it doesn't sleep 10 adults. It has 1 double bed, 1 kingsize bed, 2 single beds and 1 bunkbed suitable for children under 8.

Property advertised as ''been re-furbished to an extremely high standard with all the necessary comforts to make it a holiday to remember''. I/We totally disagree as it was certainly not a high standard. It may be a very well used house and the decor reflects this.

Summary - Uncomfy beds, Unfomy sofas, needs a VERY good clean = 10 disappointed people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and it walking distance to all the things we wanted (pub/beach)
Liked least: Needs good clean & Bed Uncomfortable
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2016
I'm sorry if your stay wasn't as expected. In these situations it's always best to contact us ASAP whilst at property so that we can rectify any issues quickly and ensure your stay is an enjoyable and comfortable one. We have had many guests stay and thoroughly enjoy their stay and in the main leave 5 star reviews. However, we always welcome feedback so that we can continuously make improvements to the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara B
Ringmer, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect...”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at Priory Stables for 2 nights - fab accommodation in the heart of Croyde - most picturesque, relaxing surf town ever!.....House was very clean, upside down with kitchen/lounge on top floor, with great views, and very light and airy.......we'll be back!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2016
Thank you for your positive feedback and I'm so glad you had a lovely stay. Don't hesitate to get in touch when you want to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing