We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a find!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Croyde, Braunton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Covertdin...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Wow. Didn't expect such space, attention to detail and comfort. Well done guys on providing a tardis of luxury. I'll be coming back here and with the ease of booking, proximity to everything I needed and that wonderful bedroom and sitting room I can't wait to return.

Date of stay: November 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sitting room and garden
Liked least: The rain.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
givesfair...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Doesn't live up to past reviews.”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Having read good reviews to Priory Cottage I was disappointed to find that it didn't live up to expectations. The general cleanliness of the house was poor. We found established cobwebs throughout the house, ones that could not have appeared over night. There was mould growing on the curtains in the double bedroom that has the bunk beds off it. This shows the property hasn't been aired. There was dust on the window sill surfaces, a few dead insects on them also. The sides in the kitchen felt tacky, and needed a good wipe down before we cooked breakfast in the morning. Basic inspections of the property do not seem to be happening. A light bulb had gone in the downstairs bathroom, which made it darker. One was also not working in the dining area. The kitchen clock wasn't working as the battery was dead. One of the guests had an uncomfortable night sleep in the twin room, and after looking found slats from the bed had been removed and left on the floor under the bed. The back door also didn't shut properly. The toilet seats moved when sitting on them, and the grime mark around the sink in the bathroom didn't leave you feeling clean after using the bathroom. The plug socket in the kitchen by the microwave was fixed securely to the wall, which is a health and safety issue. The dish washer has seen better days, as during each wash it emitted a burning smell.

The location of the property was great, and parking was good. However due to all of the things that were wrong, it felt like the owner relies on location to keep customers happy rather then the quality of the property.

The last review for this property as July, so I am guessing that it hasn't been used since then, and hasn't had a clean through since the last guests stayed there.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: It wasn't clean
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2013
We always try to keep Priory Stables to a high standard of cleanliness and I have had many complimentary emails/reviews from previous guests to this affect and glowing reports of my housekeeper. We are always quick to respond to guest complaints as nothing runs perfectly so it would have been more beneficial if you had contacted us when you arrived reagrding the cleanliness so that I could get the housekeepr back in to address. I was surprised to hear your comments about the kitchen and specfically the dishwasher. I installed a brand new kitchen and dishwasher the start of October and you were the first guests to use it. Priory Stables has been continuously busy since July to October and this is the first complaint we have received. However, we welcome all feedback and I will be addressing the cleanliness to ensure we maintain the same high standards as previous reviews all indicate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatalieWh...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house, recommend for a memorable holiday”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The house was fantastic. I know the area of Croyde well, and camp here many times each year. But this time there was a large group of us staying, and we felt like a bit more luxury.

The house is very well located, easy access to the local shops and pubs. The beds are extremely comfortable, two guest both woke up from such a deep sleep claiming 'the didn't know where they were they were so relaxed'. The kitchen area and living room are large enough to accommodate a full house, and the sun terrace is perfect for chilling out.

I would definitely stay at this property again and recommend to my friends.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the house - bedrooms downstairs, living areas upstairs.
Liked least: More parking space, and one extra shower room would have helped.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydia G
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Wonderful holiday at lovely house, very near beautiful beach and village. Stayed with a big group of friends - the house is spacious, wifi available, clean, lovely garden and balcony and barbecue available. Great communication, made our stay very easy and enjoyable. Thank you very much, highly recommended and would stay again!

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolf211
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great house, great location but wifi BT vision not yet installed- due mid March”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

All good points in this review bar one... I will start with the bad point then move quickly on.
We stayed here for a week in February 2013 and found the house to be ideal for our needs apart from one thing. The description on all websites said the property had free wifi and BT Vision with films and sports. We booked just two weeks before the holiday start date and it wasn't mentioned during the booking that wifi and BTVision hadn't been installed yet. Not impressed as it was essential for one of us for work purposes. I contacted the owner who said he has had issues with BT since January and installation was due Mid March. No discount or compensation for misleading description however I will adjust this if one materialises. Fairs fair.
However, do not let this put you off (unless wifi is essential) just double check if this is on your must list.
Very nice house and very convenient location. The Thatch pub is 1 minute walk away, other pubs within 5mins walk, (if that) 5 mins walk to shops and the beach is a 15 minute walk.
We took our two dogs so I will mention a few points for dog owners...
1. Hard floors throughout except for the stairs so good for keeping the place clean of any dog hair. Long handled dust pan and brush provided.
2. Croyde beach allows dogs in winter but check for summer allowances.
3.It has a courtyard garden with outside lighting. This is enclosed once the front gate is closed but if you have a small dog it might be able to get under the gate. You can block the side alley bit though with something to make sure dogs can't escape.
4. There are approx 10 steps down to the courtyard garden so no good for old dogs /immobile ones
5. Croyde has dog friendly pubs which also serve food. Very handy
6. Plenty of good places to walk
7. The house didn't smell of dogs at all, (I'm very sensitive to this and dislike any doggie smell)
Enough about dogs.

The house was clean and tidy - thanks to Naomi the housekeeper. Very good job
Booking was easy and all relevant information was provided (except the lack of wifi)
The kitchen has everything you need (except tumble dryer) and on arrival we were given a nice bottle of wine and chocolates. Nice touch, very nice touch indeed. Thanks Joby (the owner)
The bedrooms are spacious nicely decorated.
The bathrooms were perfectly adequate and clean.
Off road parking for 2 cars
The house was warm... Controlled via thermostat and timer on wall....needed in winter
There is an outside decking area and also a patio table chairs and BBQ in the courtyard bit.
Nice sized TVs in lounge and master bedroom
King sized bed was comfortable.... Don't know about the others

All in all a very nice place indeed. It was perfect for us and our two dogs except for the wifi issue. Which may be sorted by now.
Worth a visit.

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and location
Liked least: No wifi and BT Vision
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2013
I was as disappointed as you with the poor service I had received from BT. Twice I had the engineer cancel on me and I was trying my best right up to your stay to arrange the installation. I can confirm that BT Vision and WiFi is now installed at Priory Stables. I also stand by my offer of a discount on any future trips with us. Apart from this I am glad you had enjoyable stay and found the house to be well equipped and to a high standard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 15, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anthony T
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Accomodation”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I highly recommend this accomodation, our group of six adults and two children, found the facilities to be first class. The location is a short walk to a fantastic surfing beach and scenic walks with amazing sea views. highly recommend the Thatch pub first class selection of beers and food, also a short walk from the house.

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Accomodation
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing