We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and flexible”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thistledoo Bed & Breakfast Croyde
Ranked #4 of 21 Croyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and flexible”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A really nice relaxed atmosphere in the family home with a shared breakfast experience and a chance to meet other guests. Plenty of good advice and I liked Gizzy's relaxed attitude - nothing formal and awkward here. thanks for a really nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
23
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great location, Gizzy is an excellent host, the bedrooms are comfortable and the breakfast is really tasty. I had a fantastic stay and I would highly recommended to any one planning on staying in Croyde.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ET00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I enjoyed a relaxing 3 night stay at Thistledoo this week. Gizzy is a natural, friendly and helpful host with a lot of travel experience and I really enjoyed our conversations. My room was comfortable - especially the bed - and it was great to use the powerful shower after a long and hot day of walking. If I'm back in Croyde I'll make Thistledoo my first choice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimForTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A lovely B&B in the beautiful village of Croyde. A family home which is very welcoming. The family room was a good size clean room with towels provided. WiFi was available. Gizzy was a great hostess cooking lovely breakfasts in the family kitchen. Breakfast was a family affair with other guests joining us around the kitchen table and sharing experiences of Croyde and surfing. Would definitely recommend and likely to use again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaky1982
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My friend and I stay with Gizzy and her family in July for a weekend and had a wonderful time. It really is a home from home and Gizzy made us feel very relaxed and comfortable. The location is great, breakfast is lovely and rooms great but the best bit has to be Gizzy and her family - they make you feel so at home! Will definitely be back! Thanks Gizzy!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a great experience at Thistledoo. We have a 6 year old and a 9 year old. They very much appreciated the football goals located in the yard. (So did their parents!) The owner, Gizzy, is very friendly and welcomes children. The breakfasts are delicious and both the village and the beach are easily accessible. We slept in a family room that had one roomy full size bed and two twin beds. The upstairs bathroom has a bathtub for bathing sandy, salty children. Be warned that the business does not take credit cards and the ATM at the post office in the village does not take overseas debit cards. The nearest place to get cash is Braunton if you do not have a UK bank account, so be sure arrive with cash on hand if you coming from outside the UK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I had to write a review as we had the best stay at The Thistledoo, as the rooms were full we were offered to camp in the gardens and we had a brilliant time. Gizzy was so welcoming and friendly, we could not fault our stay. The cooked breakfast was amazing with lots of options and as much juice, coffee and tea as you like. We can't wait to return to The Thisltdoo very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
0.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,748 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
782 reviews
3.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
3.3 mi away
The George inn
The George inn
#10 of 40 in Braunton
123 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 5 in Mortehoe
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistledoo Bed & Breakfast Croyde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistledoo Bed & Breakfast Croyde

Property: Thistledoo Bed & Breakfast Croyde
Address: 7 Bonnicott Lane, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Croyde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistledoo B B Croyde is conveniently situated in a quiet and relaxed area, between one of the countries best surfing beaches and not bad nightlife! Only 5 minutes walk to both. All bedrooms have wonderful views of the countryside, central heating, beverage making facilities and colour TV, Single, twin, double and family rooms available. Traditional English breakfast, vegetarians also catered for. Surfers and families are always welcome, with local knowledge and advice from your host family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thistledoo Bed & Breakfast Croyde Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing