We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cream tea”

Sandleigh Tea Room & Garden
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Croyde
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Situated within a walled garden at the National Trust site of Baggy Point in North Devon. Sandleigh consists of a tea-room and garden surrounding an allotment garden just a few metres away from Croyde beach.
Reviewed June 11, 2019 via mobile

Sat and had a cream tea here 6 of us. Very good service icecream for my grandson and water out for the dog 3ed time we have been in 4 years always goodfood and friendly staff

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterC7712, Public Relations Manager at Sandleigh Tea Room & Garden, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019

Hi Tim,

Thank you for the review, glad to hear you enjoyed your cream teas, hope to see you again.

Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 456 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2019

Afternoon scones in a beautiful garden, the nicest staff imaginable and you don't have to be a National Trust member to enjoy it.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterC7712, Public Relations Manager at Sandleigh Tea Room & Garden, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019

Hi Angela,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, I will pass your review onto the team.

Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

So as a large family we have been holidaying in Croyde for 11 consecutive years now. Each year we make sure we have at least one visit to the Sandleigh Tea rooms before we have a walk up to Baggy point. This has always been a much loved and looked forward to part of our holiday by children and adults alike. Each year we have particularly enjoyed how beautiful the outside eating area is, the choice of food available and most importantly the amazing cream teas! We were very disappointed on our visit this year to find the tea rooms had been taken over by the National Trust. Immediately we noticed how quiet it was (school half term week) which was great for getting a table for 12 , but the atmosphere seemed different! The inside of the tea room seemed sparse and no where near the amount of choice there had been previous, the menu was very much reduced and very minimal cakes on offer. We ordered our cream teas as we always do and again were so disappointed , the jam is now in little ‘shop bought’ pots and you only get 1 scone (which is now significantly smaller than previous) whereby you used to get 2 large , gorgeous , homemade , fluffy scones on each cream tea! So sad to say unless it changes and improves we will be looking for a new ‘cream tea’ experience on our trip next year.

Date of visit: June 2019
2  Thank Flyer425446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019 via mobile

We visited here having walked from Woolacombe. It’s located in the National Trust car park. We only wanted a drink but the cakes looked very tempting! Lovely, quaint tea room.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank karencA6283NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019 via mobile

Fantastic little spot in a tranquil garden for a bit of lunch or a cream tea after time on the beach or a walk on the coast path

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank stevemJ7715OT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandleigh Tea Room & Garden also viewed

 

Been to Sandleigh Tea Room & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing