We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice relaxing break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Bakery B&B and Self-Catering Accomodation
Ranked #7 of 21 Croyde B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice relaxing break”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Felt very welcome at this village B & B good location for beaches and two excellent pubs a short walk away both serving excellent food. Good breakfast with all the usual options available. Comfortable room, nice and quiet at night enabling a good nights sleep. Would recommend to anybody visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter-knightley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
21
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Feeling welcome, looked after and in immaculate accommodation made our brief trip to North Devon work perfectly. The DVD collection, guest lounge, sunshine on the terrace, great breakfast and brilliant local pubs for evening dining made this a wonderful get away. Above all though are your lovely hosts who offer the warmest of welcomes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

From the hello to the goodbye we felt very welcome. Excellent communication before our stay and the understanding of our situation was very appreciated. The room and bathroom was very clean. It was good to finally visit somewhere that thought about the layout of the room and have a socket next to a mirror this is always a bugbear of mine. The welcome cup of tea and homemade cake was a real treat especially in the cosy guest lounge. Breakfast was well cooked and there was plenty of it, especially nice was the homemade bread and marmalade. Thank you David and Pippa for a lovely stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Top quality, well cooked English Breakfast (vegetarian option too) plus a very generous selection of cereals, meusli, fruit compote, yoghurt, fruit juices, home made bread, jams, marmalade etc. all served up by friendly non-overbearing owners in a cared for and cosy bed & breakfast. I would certainly come back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NiceDaysOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

All 3 generations were happy with this excellent b&b from the very start with a welcoming tray of refreshments, fresh, inviting rooms, and books, dvds and games for the children. Breakfast offered plenty of choice including home-baked bread! I feel we couldn't have been better looked-after.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent 2 nights at this delightful B&B and we were made to feel completey welcome by the hosts, David & Pippa. The rooms were clean, spacious and each had its own character. Even Bonnie the woofit came out for a welcome! We welcomed the tea when we arrived which we had in our own lounge area. There is even a bookcase stuffed with books and DVD's which you could loan if you had the time and not like us we were down here for a wedding...

David,wearing his pinny took the order and Pippa cooked up a storm each morning with everything fresh including the eggs laid by resident chooks!! I thoroughly recommend this location as the pub "Kings arms" is 2 doors down the road and a popular beach is just down the narrow tracks about 2 miles away.... Thanks to the hosts we will be back in the summer to visit our friends and also stay at a "home" which we felt most welcome in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettering
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife & I had a weeks stay with David & pipa and it was excellent, the room was very light & comfortable with good sized shower room & free tea & coffee making facility's.
The breakfasts are excellent, is cooked to order with an array of option's with cereal or fruit to start you off.
This is a most unusual B&B in that you have the use of a lounge,dinning area AND a kitchen that we used one evening to prepare a meal for ourselves. Or you could have fish & chips Monday night or Thia on a Thursday night from mobile caterers in the village. Both very good.
All this made for a very relaxing & flexible holiday with David & Pipa being very attentive hosts & most helpful with what to see & do in the area.

Room Tip: The putsborough has the garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
1.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,748 reviews
3.0 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
807 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
105 reviews
1.7 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
2.5 mi away
The George inn
The George inn
#10 of 40 in Braunton
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakery B&B and Self-Catering Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery B&B and Self-Catering Accomodation

Property: The Old Bakery B&B and Self-Catering Accomodation
Address: The Old Bakery Chapel Street | Georgeham, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Croyde
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Bakery provides both B&B and self-catering accommodation run by David and Pippa Morton. The Garden Room comprises a cozy separate self catering cottage for two with an open plan layout. The main house has three guest bedrooms, a guest lounge, dining room and kitchen making it suitable for singles, couples, families and small groups of all ages. Our aim is to provide comfortable, relaxed and friendly accommodation with some features which make it a bit special and different.The three guest bedrooms are all en-suite and furnished in contemporary style with flat screen TV's incorporating DVD players. Each has a kettle and we provide complimentary fair trade tea and coffee as well as toiletries. Upstairs we have one twin room with a shower and one double room with a bathroom featuring a lovely roll top bath. Downstairs our ground floor room can be arranged as either a twin or super-king double, plus it has a sofa bed that can sleep up to two extra people. The shower room is large enough for a standard wheel chair and has been adapted to suit people with limited mobility. B&B guests can use the kitchen once breakfast has been cleared away offering a flexible semi self-catering option. Groups booking all three rooms have the further option of fully self-catering and of having the use of the premises till 5.00pm on the day of departure. Group bookings must be for a minimum of 2 nights. Groceries can be pre-ordered and delivered by the village store directly next to The Old Bakery. Other Facilities and Features:- Guest lounge, free Wifi, library of DVDs, books, magazines, games and puzzles, Patio and garden, storage for surfboards, wetsuits and bikes, passes to Putsborough Beach Car Park at reduced rates, home produced eggs, bread and solar electricity. Our priority is to make sure you have a great stay and we are available to assist in any way we can. We want you to leave refreshed and with some wonderful memories! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Bakery B&B And Self-Catering Accomodation Croyde, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing