We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, comfortable premises and great welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Bakery B&B and Self-Catering Accomodation
Ranked #9 of 22 Croyde B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 22, 2012

A two night stay was welcoming and refreshing.

Breakfast is relaxed and prepared fresh to order. The bedrooms are attractive and clean with en-suite and there is a lounge available to use as you wish.

Two excellent pubs for other meals and a choice of good beaches within minutes.

David and Pippa (the owners) really make it a break to remember - thank you!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent - see pictures on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 50 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

My fiancée and I stayed for two nights Friday/Saturday whilst we were visiting North Devon for a friend's wedding whom had a website about their wedding day with a list of nearby bed and breakfast venues.

I chose The Old Bakery because it was not only the closest to the wedding venue but I was also attracted by the photos, interactive website, ease of booking and payment and the introductory feel of a 'family-run', attractive place to stay.

Correspondence with David was easy and on arrival we were warmly welcomed and shown around. The place has a self-contained kitchen and lounge area that we could use as we pleased which was very convenient.

The king bedroom was excellently presented, very clean, tidy and accessible with everything you could possibly need complete with modern en suite to an equal standard.

Nicely located and parking is not difficult due to a car park situated virtually opposite.

The breakfast was lovely, and full of variety - cereals, fruit, yoghurts, and a full English made as you want it - I especially recommend the home made bread!

Over all great place to stay, not too expensive really (£30 per head per night) and I would definitely revisit should I find myself in N Devon in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwebond83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This B&B was a great find. Perfect location very close to two great pub/restaurants and a short drive from the sea/near by golf courses. Charming home with beautifully cosy rooms complete with all the comforts to make this a relaxing getaway. Dave and Pippa the patrons are superb hosts who were very friendly throughout. We stayed for two nights in March 2012 and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose the double en-suite with roll top bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BENC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at The Old Bakery for two nights and would not hesitate to recommend it. The room and bathroom were decorated beautifully - no chintz to be seen! - and the owner was tremendously friendly and helpful from the off. Stones throw away from two good pubs and a 5 min drive to the nearest beach. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This bed and breakfast is only in it's first year but deserves to become a classic north Devon landmark. The rooms are elegant, immaculate and restful. The breakfast truly homemade and delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulashmore077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night as were in the area for a wedding. The B & B was lovely - we had a twin room and beds were really comfy, views were fantastic and the room and bathroom were spacious and spotless. We were made very welcome with tea and cakes on arrival and breakfast the next morning was exactly what you expect at a B and B. We would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missrlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

The Old Bakery is run by a very friendly couple who are able to provide great advice for visiting the local area. The B&B is within a a 5 minute driving distance of both Croyde and Putsborough beaches. The village car park is across the road and allows free car parking. There are also 2 great pubs within walking distance that provide great food.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidBrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croyde hotels
1.8 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
1.0 mi away
Combas Farm
Combas Farm
#1 of 22 in Croyde
153 reviews
1.9 mi away
Freshwell Camping
Freshwell Camping
#6 of 10 in Croyde
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakery B&B and Self-Catering Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery B&B and Self-Catering Accomodation

Address: Chapel Street | Georgeham, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Croyde
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Bakery provides both B&B and self-catering accommodation run by David and Pippa Morton. The Garden Room comprises a cozy separate self catering cottage for two with an open plan layout. The main house has three guest bedrooms, a guest lounge, dining room and kitchen making it suitable for singles, couples, families and small groups of all ages. Our aim is to provide comfortable, relaxed and friendly accommodation with some features which make it a bit special and different.The three guest bedrooms are all en-suite and furnished in contemporary style with flat screen TV's incorporating DVD players. Each has a kettle and we provide complimentary fair trade tea and coffee as well as toiletries. Upstairs we have one twin room with a shower and one double room with a bathroom featuring a lovely roll top bath. Downstairs our ground floor room can be arranged as either a twin or super-king double, plus it has a sofa bed that can sleep up to two extra people. The shower room is large enough for a standard wheel chair and has been adapted to suit people with limited mobility. B&B guests can use the kitchen once breakfast has been cleared away offering a flexible semi self-catering option. Groups booking all three rooms have the further option of fully self-catering and of having the use of the premises till 5.00pm on the day of departure. Group bookings must be for a minimum of 2 nights. Groceries can be pre-ordered and delivered by the village store directly next to The Old Bakery. Other Facilities and Features:- Guest lounge, free Wifi, library of DVDs, books, magazines, games and puzzles, Patio and garden, storage for surfboards, wetsuits and bikes, passes to Putsborough Beach Car Park at reduced rates, home produced eggs, bread and solar electricity. Our priority is to make sure you have a great stay and we are available to assist in any way we can. We want you to leave refreshed and with some wonderful memories! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Bakery B&B And Self-Catering Accomodation Croyde, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing