We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay and great hosts”
Review of Shuna Guest House

Shuna Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shuna Guest House
Ranked #2 of 21 Croyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buderim, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay and great hosts”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Over the past 12 years we have travelled over to the UK numerous times. Croyde is one of the prettiest coastal towns in North Devon,our first stay at Shuna Guest House was such a pleasant one, and over the years we have stayed at Shuna 6 maybe 7 times. The rooms are beautifully english and the hosts are really friendly and make you feel more than welcome. The breakfast is the best B & B brekky i have ever had.
Annie is so sweet and Al is helpful and friendly.
I highly recommend this place to anyone that is visiting North Devon, you would not be disspointed.....

Room Tip: All are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belinda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    20
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
177
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights and was a delightful place to stay. The room was excellent (Room 3) as all the rooms are here, clean and cosy. Annie is a tremendous host, warm and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble for her. The breakfasts are as everyone else says absolutely brilliant! Lots of variety, Annie even went to the trouble of getting some veggie sausages when she knew I was a vegetarian. Very tasty they were too! Annie is good fun, easy to talk to and happy to offer advice regarding good places to eat and visit. We too are more than happy to support the numerous good reviews this outstanding guest house has.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharpe-and-Gromit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Wedding at Croyde Bay involved weekend stay. Not knowing the area, we chose the Shuna based on previous Tripadvisor reviews.
We were not disappointed, - phoned on the day & requested early book in to allow changing. Excellent response, with room ready and without asking, Annie offered to drive us to our wedding location.
Room clean, comfortable, with tea making facilities. Breakfast, - good products and ample. Location good, easy parking & within walking distance of beach & village.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroughton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have had a fabulous weekend in Croyde spoilt by Annie's display of discourtesy. We booked late in the day.....Arrived late afternoon and out of courtesy called in as a deposit had not been paid.....Explaining we would like to visit Baggy Point we said we would book in later. Early that evening an irate Annie phoned angrily stating we had spoilt her evening out!!!! This came out of the blue as it was still early. . That night the electricity in just our room went off 5 times leaving us in the dark for some considerable time. At no time was an apology given or asked if we were ok! I have stayed in B & Bs many times in Croyde but will not visit Shuna again.......ps remember to take your slippers as you are not allowed in the house with your shoes on.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank summertime000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAD5560, Owner at Shuna Guest House, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Before I respond to this review please can ask anyone reading it to look at our other reviews before making up their mind - as you can see this is not typical feedback from our guests.
Al and I love running a guest house and have had the pleasure of sharing our home with many lovely people for over 13 years.

In response to the comments -
On arrival at 5.30 pm we asked our guests to check in and take their key, to give them the freedom to come and go. They insisted they wanted to go for a walk first and would be only 1 hour. After 3 hours we were left wondering if they had changed their minds (we hadn't had a deposit). I decided to give them a call, only to be told they had gone for a meal. I was a little taken aback as if this had been their plan why hadn't they taken the key or phoned? I most definitely was not rude.
They were not left in the dark! yes, the circuit breaker for the power points tripped because they had flooded the bathroom and water had dripped onto the electrics below. This tripped the switch, thank goodness!

I find it amazing how these people sat and enjoyed their breakfast, all chats and smiles, and then felt comfortable enough to leave their car in our drive all morning while they walked on the beach. At no point did they mention any of the points that they have raised in their review.
Al and Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned from the Shuna and we can only support the many previous good reviews.

Annie goes out of her way to give a warm welcome and has your every need covered. All the rooms are of a good standard and you would not be disappointed whichever one you chose. Close to the beach, it is the perfect base in Croyde. Plenty of parking space and you can then forget your car for the length of your stay.

We had to leave early due to a family emergency and Annie was very understanding. Shame but we hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart14_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is the perfect place to stay in Croyde. We had a warm friendly welcome on arrival. Our room was fantastic complete with balcony and superb views front and back. Everything was spotlessly clean and immaculate. Annie made us a superb breakfast which lasted us well into the day. Annie and Al are a lovely warm couple and Shuna is a credit to them.
We shall be definitely staying with them again and are recommending them to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlover1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Shuna's has it all; location, great rooms, excellent service, outstanding breakfasts, easy parking and really nice people who do all they can to make your stay a treat. You get real value for money and will come away wanting to have stayed longer or hoping to go back soon. A first class base for exploring the glorious countryside and coast line North Devon has in abundance. Croyde has a number of good well priced eateries to suit all tastes within a 10 minute walk and a breathtaking beach on the doorstep. My wife and I would recommend Shuna's without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little more for the best room with the separate dinning area and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard209966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
0.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,765 reviews
3.8 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
843 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
829 reviews
7.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shuna Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shuna Guest House

Property: Shuna Guest House
Address: Shuna Down End, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Croyde
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Shuna Guest House Croyde, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing