We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous view.”
Review of Baggy Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baggy Lodge
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Croyde
Chew Magna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous view.”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Oh dear. Should have read the reviews before we booked. On a positive note, we enjoyed the location and our room had a great view. This place is fine if you know what you are getting beforehand. The staff were friendly and the place seemed generally clean but very tired. I would recommend Baggy's to a group of teenagers on a budget wanting a basic place to rest there heads between enjoying long stints in the surf. We had loads of hot water!

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms make up for the very tired decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for your review Julie D.

Baggy's Too was an old tired building that we used for a couple of years whilst we did up ours across the road. it was what it was and did not pretend to be anything else.

We are now in our renovated place across the road.

Mike x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    4
    7
    4
    13
See reviews for
6
14
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

A group of us stayed in Baggy Lodge too. When we were making our booking we understood that it is a cheap accommodation and not to expect anything to fancy, but that did not prepare us for what was in store. We found the staff member to check us in to be rude and incompetent, parking was like trying to find your way through a maze. We stayed on the first floor. The location was amazing, with views stretching right over the bay, but you had to focus on this to ignore the smell of damp coming from the room we stayed in. You would think the building was made of paper, as throughout the night we could constantly here people banging from the floor above us which kept us awake. The management tried to sweet talk you into liking the place, trying to cover up the fact the building is in need of serious renovation and is at the end of its life. Lets hope they decide to do something better with the place.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more noise from the floor above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxjohn893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for your review maxjohn893.

Baggy's Too was an old building we used whilst we were renovating our place across the road. It was what it was and was fun for a while.

We are now in our renovated place across the road.

Mike x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My three friends and i have just got back from a three night stay at "baggy lodge too" as a short celebratory holiday after finishing our GCSE's (there were about three or four other groups like us). Its not top quality and a little run down, but perfect for us. We took surf lessons with the surf school across the road (£30 for 3 hours with wetsuit and surf board included) and they were great, it was only us being taught, so it's alot more personal and you feel you're getting more for your money i think than if you went with the other surf schools which teach you in huge groups. Surf hire and wetsuit hire is also available there, i think it was about £12 for 24 hours. Our room was with a connected balcony with amazing views across the whole of Croyde Bay.. They work very much on trust, so even though the bar isn't managed at night, you can just write down what you had on a tab and pay in the morning. We also used the BBQ (£5 per use). The bathrooms are communal, but are cleaned regularly and were fine. There is also a room segregated for guests with a TV and DVD player, and also tea and toast facilities available at any time. Amazing location, a 2 minute walk from the beach, and you're about 1/2 mile from Croyde itself and a 20 minute walk to Baggy Point.

Very welcoming, and a great place to stay in terms of surfing. Don't expect the highest quality rooms ( they all have bunk beds) and the management do stress that it is not the key place to bring a young family. Probably only open for another year until it is knocked down in place of a health spa.

They accept groups of 16 year olds without any accompanied adults, and the management said that they have more trouble with adults than teenagers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sky007999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for your review sky007999.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2012

An really stunning room with excellent facilities including flat screen tv,indoor and out door wet room.Only issue is the parking and board storage.i was told I would have to park my car a mile away in croyde over night as it was free but then have to get up at 7am to go and pay for day parking because he wanted to save a space for one of there cars.Not good after spending £400 for 4 days.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark170968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for your review mark170968,

Trust me if there was something I could do about car parking I would. However, we are stuck with only two spaces on a first come first served basis. Otherwise we can offer lifts to the car park in the village. The parking situation is made clear on our website and on all emails.

Mike x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Great surf lodge, finished to a high standard with lots of charicter. Just outside croyde, but close enought to walk in. Only critisum is that the lodge bar is not open in the evening.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank 00Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for your review 00Jim

Mike x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Be careful with this business as it is in fact two companies operating under a franchise agreement. We previously had a good experience with surf hire and friendly, helpful staff at "Baggy's Too", the run-down but hospitable surf lodge on the coast side of the road. So we decided to book a few nights B&B. Little did we know that the more luxurious building across the road is run by someone else and they are anything but helpful and accomodating!

The rooms are nice but the descriptions misleading (see previous reviews) and soundproofing is APPALLING. We had hoped to catch up on sleep and get up for early surf but our room was connected by wooden doors to the rooms either side, meaning that we were constantly woken up by other people talking, watching TV etc. While the other guests were at least reasonable in the amount of noise they made, the managers were another matter: they kept us up until 11 or 12 every night watching TV loudly with the door to their flat open, crashing around in their kitchen etc.

Parking was very limited and we saw another paying guest be refused parking by the manager and made to park half an hour's walk away in Croyde (meaning he had to get up at crack of dawn to walk back to the village and move his car). Despite these people also paying £100 per night for their room, the manager would not move his car or the surf school vehicle that were taking up two of the spaces. Nor did he offer a lift or to fund the parking or anything like that.

The house rules were also written in a very rude way, which gave anything but a welcoming impression. Instead of making polite requests of guests it was all "you must.... no exceptions", which gave the impression guests were expected to be problematic, whereas the only problematic people we saw were the managers! Other signs made it very clear to people using the facilities for surf lessons etc that loos were for "residents only, no exceptions", which seemed remarkably stingy toward people paying for surf lessons given that the nearest public loo was quite a walk away.

Be warned and make sure you know if you are booking with cheap but cheerful Baggy's Too or expensive, anything for a profit and sod the customers Baggy's Lodge B&B. The name may be the same but the attitude of the managers anything but.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Genoveva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for your review Genoveva A.

Bit emotive! But straight responses:

Normally it is quite here, if I remember right we had family arrive at about 11 pm so we spent an hour or so with them in our lounge, sorry if we were a little noisy.

The café loo is for all café customers and not only for residents - you miss read the sign.

House rules are a drag, but necessary I am afraid.

Parking is limited to 2 cars and others can be shuttled to free parking in the village.

We operate a surf school and our vehicle has to remain on site (to shuttle others to the car park if nothing else. Parking arrangements are clear on our website and on all emails.

We are not about profit - this is our home which we choose to share with others.

Mike x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Me and a mate stayed at Baggys in February on their winter deal. £40 for 2 nights, with all the tea & coffee you can drink, all the cereal and toast you can eat PLUS a full English breakfast each day (which, as it is served in the cafe can be eaten at any time during the day). That has to be the best value ever!

The rooms are dorms but very comfortable and warm, with a nice homely feel. The staff are very friendly, helpful and welcoming. All the toilets and bathrooms were clean. There was a widescreen TV and nice warm fire that you could relax at after a hard days surfing!

I enjoyed it so much that I visited again a month later, this time on my own. Again, the service was superb. The staff were great to chat to and answer all my questions about the local area.I can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for your review Graham S.

Mike x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
1.5 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,748 reviews
3.3 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
807 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
811 reviews
0.7 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
3.0 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#10 of 15 in Woolacombe
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baggy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baggy Lodge

Property: Baggy Lodge
Address: Croyde Bay, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Croyde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Accommodation with en-suite double rooms and shared bunk rooms. Also a day time cafe and evening bistro. On-site surf school (Lyndon Wake) and surf equipment hire. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baggy Lodge Croyde, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing