We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying in Beirut - AVOID THIS DUMP.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartments AR Melrose Place
Ranked #102 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Reviewed September 26, 2013

If it was possible to score this as a minus, I would. Quite frankly, the star they get here is by default. I went to Lloret with my fiancée, and this was our first trip abroad together: this "hotel" made it the perfect start. Not. After being dumped in no mans land by our transfer (which took over 2 hours and NOT the specified one hour) with no directions to the place from our driver, our initial impression was that we had been dropped off in Beirut. Thinking they had made an error with our drop off point, we aimlessly wandered looking for the place, being given umpteen different sets of directions from locals and other hotels. It took the best part of an hour to find it, and when we did it nearly killed us walking up the hill to it. We are by no means unfit people! When we finally arrived, we noticed thatvit was apartments, and NOT a hotel as advised in our booking. We waited 20 minutes for someone to come to reception, as there was no means to get their attention, and were immediately startled when they tried to take 120 euros deposit from us before giving us our key. When I refused to pay, I was told I wouldn't be staying there unless I did. This fee was never explained in our booking, but when we told reception this, we were made out to be liars. Guys, if you want to avoid this, as it takes a chunk from your spending money, threaten them with your embassy/consulate, and they will change their tune. After 30 more minutes of arguing, I came away with my 120 euros. Good job, as we hadn't seen the room yet! (And they also had the cheek to ask for a tourist tax fee which, apparently is Catalan law. Bull! I've been before, to Barcelona, and hadn't been asked for this silly fee. Anyway, back to the room.....dirty, run down, cramped and very old fashioned. NOTHING LIKE THE PICTURES!!! And in the four days we stayed, it was never cleaned or given fresh towling. An absolute shambles. The TV didnt work, there were shutters covering the balcony doors (which did come up if you could be bothered to manoeuvre them back down) and the place was too noisy. The bar was never opened beyond 9pm, despite us being told 1am, and the security/night porters did not speak any English. Sure, it's helpful if we learn a bit of the lingo, but this is not very comforting for tourists that the guts in charge of your security are clueless as to what you're saying. Other than that, other little problems were a lack of lighting in the doorways, a vending machine that never had anything you wanted, or if it did, ate your change, and a table area by the pool that you were not allowed to eat or drink at - so if you wanted any refreshment, you were restricted completely to the bar area and its lack of air con. This place is bad. Real bad.

Room Tip: I doubt they have good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Toastie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 62 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

You get what you pay for I have to say I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived after the terrible reviews I had read apartment was large and clean everything you need for s/c only bad thing was the cardiac workout I had twice a day when returning to the apartment defiantly not a walk for faint hearted or not fully mobile,,, staff were friendly and helpful no problems at all

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PettyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

when we arrived the night watch man didnt have a clue on how to check some one in he took are deposit that you have to pay incase you brake any thing they charge you for it its 3 euros per cup or plate an glasses 100 euros for a microwave ect wile he was running around trying to sort out room keys hed askd for are passports witch he left unatended twice he didnt say when he wantd them for just kept saying in the morning well i wasnt goin any were with out an speshly as he left them twice its self catering but the rooms dont even have a kettel there is a fridge but it didnt work very well are drinks were cooler by being left out in the shade there were no pillows for the sofa bed an no sheets we had to hire them the next day when the staff were in witch wasnt often the bar was shut more then it was open so if u wantd a snack or drink you had to walk to the shop witch is at the bottom of a killer hill me an the kids used the pool its very deep even at the shallow end it lookd dirty an i didnt see any one clean it all week when we got out of the pool an went up to are room we got a know on the door and were told off for making the floor around the pool wet i cudnt let my children out on the balcony as the glass was very wobbly an lookd unsafe the windows an doors are very drafty an when you have the shutters down they rattle like mad so if ur just lookin for some to sleep its ok but the beach is cheaper i wudnt recomend this place to any one with small children or any one with moblity issues as its on a very steep hill its not child friendly or even adult fridenly the staff were missrable an only did what they had to the bar was hardly open there are a lot more nicer an just as cheap places to stay

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed here in early October. We both really enjoyed it. We read some of the reviews and were a bit worried but we had no problems. Yes you have to pay a 120 euro deposit but it does tell you that when your booking, and you get it back with no problems at the end of your stay. We arrived around 4pm and were greeted by a really nice man who was really helpful, told us where all the local shops were and everything we needed to know. Our apartment on the first floor was great! Had everything in that we needed (apart from a kettle) but you can always boil water on the hob. The company own a few hotels in the local area and the staff did sometimes have to close our bar for a few hours to go to other hotels but they always gave notice of when this was going to happen. All staff were very friendly too.
The only thing i would say is make sure you wear shoes when using the hob in the kitchen as i got an electric shock and when i told you receptionist his response was just 'you should wear shoes' which is quite dangerous!
But apart from that can't fault this hotel all in all had a great holiday and we have already said we will be going back there next year! :))

Room Tip: Doesn't matter which room you stay in they all have the same view but i think the one bedroom ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

arrived with family and friends to find a "back in 15 mins" sign on the door had 2 children both 5 who were tired thirsty and hungry had to wait 40 mins for someone to arrive to check us in. Then after paying 120 euros deposit! which was not mentioned prior to booking, discovered that our room was booked in my sons name really clever for a 5 year old! the bar was shut more than it was open our balcony had broken glass panel and ours friends balcony opposite was so unsafe it was wobbling.The apartments were set at the top of a "so called" slope which we all renamed cardiac hill. Apart from the apartments being not to our taste the staff were really friendly and polite and the resort itself was very nice and had loads of shops to browse in not just typical tourist ones.Im sorry to say i would not return to melrose place though. oh and one last tip you have to do all your own cleaning and remember to empty rubbish bin or you will not receive all of your deposit back.

Room Tip: book somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived on a Sunday evening for a 5 day break. After a long transfer which should have been 1 hour but actually took 2 hours, we where greeted by a very friendly receptionist who was very helpful during our stay. Our 1 bedroom apartment on the first floor was clean and functional. our balcony was huge with sea views through the trees in the distance which was also a sun trap for the majority of the day. The kitchen facilities where basic, we had no kettle and the hob took an eternity to heat up but we managed with the microwave this did not spoil our experience at all. Our toilet seat was a bit wobbly but when we told the friendly receptionist it was immediately fixed. We also felt a bit chilly in the evenings and once again he brought blankets straight up to our room when we asked. The only gripe we had was the bed it was like sleeping on a stone slab. But we managed.
The noise in the apartments can at times be annoying with doors slamming, shutters being opened and closed, and someone upstairs sounded like they where having their own private flamenco show with high heels on. But usually by 12 there was no noise.
I get the feeling though that this is all very well and good from Monday to Thursday but come friday all hell breaks loose. I am pleased to say we left Friday teatime before the fun began. A stag do of around 8 arrived early hours of Friday morning and a 6 strong girls weekend gang turned up also. Even the receptionist seemed resigned!!!!! On the Thursday evening we noticed things getting a bit more livelier.
Would I go again? Probably for a cheap break but only out of season. I found LLoret very cheap especially the supermarket at the bottom of the hill..... a must for cheap booze, chorizo and the fabulous tomatoes....heaven!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adoptedwiganer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Firstly I must say we have travelled extensively, including India and Gambia and are used to limited services, but for mainland Spain this place could learn from third world accommodation!
Arrived after 10pm due to delayed flight, very tired and hungry and not happy to part with 120 euros deposit on arrival. Access to upper floors is by spiral staircase or lift but mind your head on the way as lighting is poor and its easy to crack your head.
After making the bed (a first for us on holiday!) we scanned the room and were instantly disappointed. The cupboards were very tatty,etc etc the outer shutters practically impossible to open fully. We returned to the restaurant for food and, after what seemed like a lifetime, were presented with 2 "paninis" (bread and ham) made by the night watchman as it turned out.
Returning to our room we were hoping for a good night sleep - Wrong! The Italian inhabitants next door came in at 3am and proceeded to party on the balcony until daybreak. Next morning we discovered it was not a bad dream after all! - No kettle, No change of bedding or towels. No cleaner came in for the ten days we were there. Had to ask for clean towels after six days which were reluctantly provided, however clean bedding was not! After a second night of disturbance at 5am we could take no more and went to complain to reception. On the way we noticed around 8 people in the room next door!! In fairness we were met on the stairs by the nightwatchman/chef/barman who was already on the case and this proved to be the best part of the service all week! However I think they have to keep the noise down for the residents opposite but I like to think it was for us!!
I would not recommend this place for children (or anyone else) as the glass in the doors is not safety glass and I think a serious accident is waiting to happen. Every time they banged I was expecting to be showered in shards of glass. There were no visible smoke / fire alarms and the hob got so hot you could not bear to touch it to turn it down! The railing on the balcony was also very loose and its only a matter of time before someone goes over (luckily the pool is right below which is a good design feature!) All the balconies also afford no privacy unless you're armed with about 5 towels.
When you leave they will check the room thoroughly making sure everything works (assuming it did in the first place) and count the cutlery and crockery and woe betide you if you fail to take the rubbish out!!
I could go on but i'm starting to get angry again! On the plus side it is in a great location for sightseeing, not that the ubiquitous cast of Benidorm who were there would know as they seemed to be glued to the poolside.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Advisatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.5 mi away
Els Llorers
Els Llorers
#9 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
874 reviews
1 mi away
Apartamentos Playas Lloret
Apartamentos Playas Lloret
#39 of 71 in Lloret de Mar
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Monterrey
Gran Hotel Monterrey
#12 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bonsol
Hotel Bonsol
#54 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Norai
Hotel Norai
#38 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal d'Es Trajo
Hostal d'Es Trajo
#2 of 31 in Lloret de Mar
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments AR Melrose Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments AR Melrose Place

Address: Reina Fabiola 1, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Price Range: $47 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments AR Melrose Place 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Apartments AR Melrose Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Place Hotel Lloret De Mar
Apartments AR Melrose Place Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing