We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would revisit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
Ranked #82 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Reviewed May 15, 2014

@ weeks ago, together with my wife, I spent 7 days in this hotel in
Lloret de Mar which is a wonderful and interesting seaside village/town. It provides lots of connections to all resorts of the Costa Brave including Barcelona & Girona.
Upon our arrival, we were rather taken aback by the reception desk who spoke very little English. They, though seemed very fluent in French & German.
The hotel being in a very central position included all amenities Food was plenty and quite good, though not particularly varied.
I suggest a high floor room over looking one of the pools. Ours also had a sizable balcony.
Clean rooms: daily done up. Clean towels changed every day. Lifts were fast and suitable.
Amusement: well nothing special except for the 3 ladies dancing the Flamenco: (just one night). Otherwise shows were not at all capturing. During the shows, drinks at the bar, were very cheap e.g. Beer @ €1 per 1/2 pint glass.
Hotel is centrally located. Only 10-15 minute walk to the Central Bus Station.
A Sports zone, including football ground etc only 15-20 minute walk.
We loved the place and would love to go again.

Room Tip: Like I said in my review one had better ask for a room in the upper floors, as these are quiter,: on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TMizzi1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 1,883 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

Fantastic holiday at H Top Royal Star. The hotel was dated but perfectly functioning and the service in all areas was excellent. Really enjoyed the indoor pool and spa facilities and the location of the hotel gave you a choice of beaches and other HTop hotels. This hotel was more "Spanish" than we found the other H Top hotels in Lloret to be and seemed to be catering for pensioners dance holidays but there was always other options of entertainment.
Unfortunately, although the trip went really smoothly booking through lowcostholidays was not so smooth. The agent booked out flights and hotels and got the titles of my mum and dad mixed up on the flight booking meaning a potential "change fee" of £220. It took me ages to get through to their customer service team on a high rate number costing me a fortune and then the agent said he was unable to help and I had to contact the airline direct. So, I then had to contact the airline on a high rate number who said that the change didn't need to be made as the title doesn't show on the boarding cards. Lowcostholidays should have 1. done the leg work to correct their mistake (they could have phoned the airline, it didn't need to be us that did 2. known that this was the case so reassured us that the change didn't need to be made and 3. compensated us for the phone calls we had to make because of their mistake. They promised to look into it but we have never had any feedback whatsoever!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
3  Thank Katrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Star & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Katrina.

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your comments on TRIPADVISOR .
It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. I already passed your nice comments to our staff.
We all looking forward to wellcoming you again at the HTOP ROYAL STAR in a not too distant future .

Thanks Katrina !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Great holiday , got back on the 30 April 2014 , room clean daily, food was great something for all in party,staff great, will be going back next year.lots to do around town, seafront about a 10 main walk from hotel , market on Tuesday only 10 min away

Room Tip: High floor pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Star & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Martin.

Thank you for your review and write your point of view about our HTOP ROYAL STAR IN Tripadvisor.
We are happy about your good experience in our Hotel, reports like your has a great value for us especially to our staff because they could feel that the good job are really appreciated for our guests.
Once again, Thank you very much Martin !!!!!

Hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel having been at some great H TOP hotels beforehand, and this did not disappoint. The rooms were lovely, someone some balconies below us did have a party one night but the noise wasn't a problem for us as being young adults we were up anyway. The restaurant was lovely and the staff did all they could to ensure that the 15 of us were sat together. The hotel is a walk from the beach but perfectly located as you have a choice of which beach to walk to. Great family holiday enjoyed by 5 year olds and 65 year olds, would recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Star & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Chloe.
Thank you for your recent feedback on you stay with us at HTOP ROYAL STAR. I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a fantastic break. I have passed on your feedback to the team who are happy that they were able to make your stay enjoyable ..
We look forward in welcoming you again at the HTOP ROYAL STAR or any other Hotels of OUR HTOP HOTELS chain.

Thanks Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

we Booked last minute with Teletext.We arrived late at night and was hit with a tourist charge!!!!! good Points
Staff were friendly and could speak many languages, hotel was clean but dated, good variety of food,meat ,fish,chips,salad,rice or pasta.sadly nothing special for children.Location is ok about 10 mins walk to the main resort and 5 to the bus station.All Inclusive also meant you had use of washine machines but you have to book in advance.
Not so Good
Food is not always hot even if you went in when it opened,soup was normally luke warm.Card system to get in slows everything down and then you need it again to get a drink so queues could be quite long (we went out of season)
Our room was 82 which in the lift was E It was right on the main road side looking onto the second pool quite small but ok for 2 people,room was also dated with a small portable TV on the wall.My bed had a horrible childs plastic mattress cover which I took off on the second night as very uncomfortable to sleep on.
We stayed first week of the Easter holidays in April and the hotel was full of older Spanish and French,disco mainly consisted of music that the Spanish would ballroom dance to,some traditional dances too that was really nice to watch.Music seemed to repetitive.Bingo was spoken in all the languages that took part
sadly I would not rate this hotel as a 4* more like a 3* we visited a couple of the other hotels in this chain and I think we had chosen the best one as they looked even more tired and in need of a facelift.
If you are using the hotel as a base then its for you but not the best hotel to take a young family. we were a family aged 26-54

Room Tip: Not sure there would be one if they are all like 82. this room would be noisy high season due to bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilac10lilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H.TOP Royal Star & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Lilac10.
Thank you for staying with us at the HTOP ROYAL STAR.
We really appreciate your nice comments regarding the cleanliness,the quality of our meals and of course the friendliness of our Staff. Good staff are words we love to hear when describing our Hotel.
We take a note of each and every guest’s observation and comments with the goal of improving.
We are looking forward to welcome you back with us in the very next future.
Thank you for your writing about our HTOP ROYAL STAR.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Spend 12 nights here. Our booking was for H Top Palm Beach (3 star) but on arrival we were advised we had been transfered to the Royal Star (4 star) no reason given but as it was 4 star we walked the 400 meters. Check in no problem. Room on 3rd floor over looking swimming pool. As we were all staying in one room a little cramped but it was our choice to only book 1 room. Room cleaned every day. Hotel a bit dated but its cheap so not complaining. We went all inclusive food ok must days but got very repetitive. Breakfast nearly same every day. Bacon (often over cooked). My boys tried all the cerals and as expected were cheap brands and they did not like. Snacks between meals was same every day. Hotdogs, burgers, eggs, or continetal type breakfast of ham or cheese plus rools. Drinks from bar all OK sometimes had to wait but not to often. Entertainment in the evening was mainly for the older folk and I am 55 and felt young. The kids entertainment was for very young kids. As it was April out side pools cold in side pool small and busy. Staff good. Infact on the last but 1 day upon checking return transfer the manager went out ofhis way to sortout problem for us even though the problem was nothing to do with the hotel. Would I go again no put we have never been back to any place we have holidayed before.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank tooth695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were only told our hotel 3 days before departure and so it was with some trepidation (after reading reviews) that we started our holiday at the H Top Royal Star.What a surprise, we found the hotel to be clean and although rather dated (not a four star) ideal for our holiday with 4 adults and 4 teenagers.
There was enough choice in the restaurant to please everybody,with lovely salads and meat and fish on every day.I read reviews stating that the food was cold but we certainly did not find that was the case.We had a trip out to Barcelona and the hotel provided us with a free packed lunch.
At night there was entertainment and the hotel was packed creating a buzzy atmosphere that we weren't expecting this early in the season.
A lovely 10 minute stroll to the beach which was clean and not too busy. We also went to Barcelona on a coach (approx 20 euro return).This service runs every 30 mins and the bus station is about 10 mins walk from the hotel.
The staff were pleasant and we did not encounter any rudeness towards us as previous reviewers have stated.
All in all we had a great time.I think some people expect far too much for the money that they paid. This was a great place to explore the Costa Brava. The only downside to the hotel is that the walls are paper thin and you could hear people in adjoining rooms and corridors. However the beds were really comfy and we all slept really well.
I would recommend this hotel,it is in a great place.Lloret has pubs and clubs, we recommend the Tyrol Bar,shops and a great beach. we were never bored.

Room Tip: Try and get the 2nd floor upwards as we noticed that the lower floors were facing a wall with no vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank h0lliess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.4 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#80 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
2,136 reviews
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
#75 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,061 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Monterrey
Gran Hotel Monterrey
#12 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
GHT Oasis Park & SPA
GHT Oasis Park & SPA
#21 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
960 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alba Seleqtta Hotel
Alba Seleqtta Hotel
#20 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samba
Hotel Samba
#86 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Royal Star & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Royal Star & SPA

Address: Avda. Vila de Blanes, 70, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain (Formerly H TOP Royal Star)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#39 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range: $35 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Royal Star & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star H•TOP Royal Star & SPA hotel is a nice family oriented hotel located in the lively city of Lloret de Mar, (north-east coast of Spain). Positioned at 10-minute walk from Fenals Beach Creek and a 15-minute walk from the Lloret de Mar beach. This classic 397- room hotel offer plenty of fun activities and relaxation comforts for adults and children. It is situated at 85 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 25 Km from Girona Airport. Lloret de Mar is one of the most popular cities in Costa Brava known for the lively nightlife and its clean&safe beaches. FACILITIES Rooms • Social room (ping pong, billard, etc.) • Restaurant • 2 Bar • 2 Swimming pools • Sun terraces • Laundry • Souvenirs/gift shop Children • Miniclub • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Spa area • Heated indoor pool with waterfall • Turkish bath • Sauna • Fitness room Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping Others • Facilities for guests with disabilities • Currency exchange • Car hire* • External medical service* • Air-conditioning / Heating • Safe boxes* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes* • Parking* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your H.TOP Royal Star & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Royal Star Hotel
Royal Star Hotel Lloret De Mar
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing