We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not again in this hotel”
Review of Maria del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maria del Mar
Ranked #72 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Not again in this hotel”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

First of all all of my reviews in trip advisor are all good comments, but this one is one hell of a nightmare hotel, Room not cleaned we were on the 5th floor, she just change the towels and pick up bin, as the bed I made it everyday, We even found dirt and many hair when we checked in. We needed few ice for drinks they didnt wanted to give us. No fridges in the rooms. Receptionists help less, and very rude. poor breakfast. When your having breakfast maid leave broom amd sweep near you its disgusting, for sure I say no and dont recomand this hotel.

Room Tip: Its better to choose another hotel than a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cardona969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    111
    118
    56
    50
See reviews for
111
96
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The room was nice and the location of the room was excellent it backed onto the other balconys so we could talk and make friends with other guests i had an excellent time and would return, HOWEVER the maid stole from me and my friend, she stole 2 packets of paracetamol and packet of prescription tablets. We told the reception and they did not even try to help us one bit and said we must have mis-placed them but we searched the room when we left and they were no where to be found. Also the food is dreadful, we was half board and after the first week we couldnt even bring our selves to go down to breakfast and dinner as it was just chips and salad. Overall for the group of staying our age range (16-21) it was the perfect hotel, right on the strip, noisy, free wifi and good swimming pools, i would not reccomend this hotel to families and i would say GET A SAFE!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roselitscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

the hotel itself was nice and clean, made friends with few of the receptionists, we were a group of 6 british girls but the hotel was far from designed for british peoples taste. some of the staff at the restaurant wasn't very pleasant, we paid for half board but most of our spending money had to wasted on food because it was THAT awful. the only food we recognised in the evening was chips and over-cooked sloppy pasta and bread rolls. I know what Spanish food is like but they did not have any traditional food but stuff like battered swordfish and watered down soup etc. very unappetising. we always had people look at us as if we didn't belong there, which was more than obvious but we didn't let it bother us because we went to have fun. breakfast was bearable, cold meats, cheese and bread rolls was our breakfast for 7 days...the area itself is nice, very bustling, near to the strip and only 5 min walk to the beach. the sea was lovely but it wasn't sandy, it was rough coarse sand, quite stony. go to santa Christina beach which is 10 mins by taxi, trust me, once you're there, you'd want to stay there all day, absolutely beautiful. all in all nice stay..oh by the way, its 20 euros by coach to Barcelona for a nice day of shopping and sight seeing :-)

Room Tip: the higher floors has poor wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tintin26782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and three teenage children. Full board basis. Great value for money. Always something we could eat on the buffet and rooms were cleaned daily, with fresh towels. A bit noisy at night but to be expected as mainly young crowd. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Themaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel was good! enough for young peoples..20 meters faraway from the main lloret de mar street.....close to CLUB TROPICS only 20m :)
Clean, normal size bedrooms, and not so noisy like other peoples said...Negatives of the hotel are: Food, poor breakfast and poor dinner with no quality foods! Room without safe (u should rent it if you want) ....Room without a small fridge...This hotel is only for few days staying not a week or more...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giasis_lefteris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just back yesterday from 2weeks here in Maria del mar,could not fault hotel for cleanliness etc but the lack of understanding uk people was terrible,spoke to 5 people on the day of arrival about the food,we are Muslim people everything was pork of bacon or had pork or bacon in it,they were upset and kept watching us I'm a white uk person the food was never intended for British ppl and the few there were upset by that,we were there full board so a waist of money as we couldn't eat anything,they never tried to help us at all regarding this,the staff in the dining hall were most unpleasant there were 2which the ppl hated,rude and abrupt, also the entertainment was only for the local Spanish ppl,14 days of the same songs music,it wasn't even ppl they were entertaining in the hotel it was locals in for a night out,would say the best and most helpful and nice person working in the hotel was Diego the animation guy,couldn't have did enough to help
great manner and dedicated to his job,so Diego thanks for your help your a credit to the hotel,enjoyed the holiday but not the food or entertainment,they should really review this and improve this,as it would make your stay mote pleasant

Room Tip: The rooms are spotless we were at back of hotel and heard nothing from the nightclubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Clean hotel, basic rooms, beds comfy, shower hot but lacked power.

Swimming pool areas clean and tidy, they were being painted ready for summer, although this did not cause any issues.

Food is typical spainish fare, plenty of it, desserts basic. Enough for me to eat as a veggie, too! Water and wine for 10 euros which it seemed they would keep for you ready for the next meal.

Bar area outside was cheap for coffee but not for soft drinks, and you can't take them into the restaurant with you.

Lloret de mar is Blackpool in the sun! It was fine for me and Mum as all we wanted was a pool and hot weather.

Not many brits during the week although we were told that they arrive for stag and hen parties at the weekend.

Mum found that the hotel was noisy as you could hear other rooms, including alarm clocks in the morning.

For what we paid the hotel was perfect, the free wifi and air con were a bonus that we expected to pay for.

Room Tip: Triple glazed balcony doors provided good sound proofing, probably better on floor 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyFoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helios Lloret de Mar
Hotel Helios Lloret de Mar
#48 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xaine Park Hotel
Xaine Park Hotel
#63 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Flamingo
Gran Hotel Flamingo
#31 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
#14 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astoria Park
Astoria Park
#35 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
537 reviews
0.6 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#66 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria del Mar

Property: Maria del Mar
Address: Ponent 11-13, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maria del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maria del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Del Mar Hotel Lloret De Mar
Maria Del Mar Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing