We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!!!!”
Review of ALEGRIA Fenals Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ALEGRIA Fenals Mar
Ranked #40 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from a week at the hotel savoy with my partner, we both could not wait to get home!! Reception staff were not helpful at all, neither were the other staff that worked there.Very miseable and rude! They did the littlest as possible to help you with anything, unless it involved money in their hand, then they would help.The food was absolutley discusting, we both lived on burgers and salad the whole week, and they werent the best, but the best from the rest.Everything was cold, the chips were freezing and so hard, we had to heat every meal we got, in the microwave that was there (very suprised there was not a charge to use it) as there was a charge for everything decent in that place such as drinks - drinks were watered down, i could not drink them, and had to go to local shop to buy our own.Beer was ok, but again watered down. When asked for certain drinks in which you had to pay for (only decent ones), they had a small amount left in the bottles, and no more - this was not even enough for one drink! my partner asked for a pint of beer, they dont give pints of beer, they give you the smallest glass possible, if you want pint glass, you have to buy one!!!! you can only have one drink per person at one time.....oh my god, why!!!!!sitting around the pool, everybody that was staying at the savoy felt the same way, every person that arrived after us was saying the same thing, we could hear them all complaining and trying to get a transfer elsewhere.But..........there was a rep, but only one a week!!! during the stay there was 3 coaches of french (i think) students arrived, we lost 3 nights sleep due to them running up and down the corridors banging on everybodys doors, at 4-5am in the morning!!! we werent the only ones complaining of this, i think it was happening on every floor as there was so many of them. this was reported numerous times to the staff, but nothing was done about it, they just moved them to other floors, where they were doing exactly the same to the other people that were staying there!! staff just did not care!!there was no amusement on in the hotel at all, people were having to amuse themselves, by playing cards and dominos (i couldent stand anymore of it) it was like a old peoples home!! 1.50 for bottle of water and 1.50 for a packet of doritos!! very expesive, you could buy a multi pack for that at home! balconys were not private at all, nothing to divide them, just a small wall between each. rooms are very very small, but ok to sleep in i suppose. apart from that the weather was great, we had plenty of time to sun bathe as thats all that you could do.
we went out for a night out in barcelona town, never again,not a nice or safe to be for young people.during the day it was fine, lots of shops, but all sold the same things.nothing interesting.
The staff just did not welcome you being there, they couldent even crack a smile.very miserable people.i wouldent even rate this hotel as a 3*, it is over rating!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank debbi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for ALEGRIA Fenals Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 314 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel In August on a four day trip in Spain. The hotel itself was clean. The staff we a bit cold, they weren't nice but they weren't mean. The breakfast at the hotel and the restaurant in the hotel was very good. Actually i was surprised at how good the breakfast was. My room was clean but a little out dated. It had a nice balcony tho. The Hotel was in a beach town, which was very nice. But if you want to stay in Barcelona, there is going to be at least an hour drive, give or take a little, to the city center. Overall the hotel was good. Enjoy your trip in Spain;).

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

just returned from a week at the Hotel Savoy. To be honest it was just ok, it was very clean and the reception staff were friendly. Some of the bar staff were miserable and rude but not all of them and they let you take more than one drink most of the time. If the management tackled the rude staff it would have been a lot better.
The food was ok for the first couple of days but after day 4 I had to eat out as it was all the same and most nights just about warm. The rooms are on the small side but for time spent in them they seved their purpose
I got what I paid for - a cheap week all inclusive in the sun in an average hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moli07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is in a good location close to the beach ( but so are other better hotels) - Have just returned from a very long week at this hotel staying all inclusive.

The hotel mainly appears to be used by Russian and Polish tour operators, so Brits not really catered for at all.

The food was disgusting full stop and the drinks tasted watered down to me, most of the bar staff were exceedingly rude and unhelpful, same goes for those working the buffet meal service.

Faced with such unpleasant surroundings I took most of my meals out of the hotel, a few nice places close by with good food and reasonable prices.

Ignoring the damp patch that appear in the bedroom wall each time I used the shower, my room was fairly good with a large balcony one of the few benefits of a seventh floor room, the view of the hills above town was pleasing enough and I did not suffer much noise from other rooms.

I was not happy to find the room TV did not carry CNN or BBC World in fact again Brits not catered for at all.

I did not find the reception staff too bad mostly, hired a room safe and person I dealt with was nice enough another time asked directions to somewhere and same person was rather grumpy but gave information I needed.

Room Tip: I would not advise staying at this hotel at all
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank omega65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

First of all, i really have no idea why so much negative reviews. Perhaps if all those people are used to Ritz, Hilton, Hyatt or similar luxurious chains of hotels, than i get it.
Savoy is a great 3 star hotel. It has all that any kind of travelers would need. Hotel is 100 meters away from excellent Fenals beach. Rooms are bit small, but hey, you are on a vacation, you will need a room only to sleep, and for that, is more than enough. Hygiene is excellent, so no worries there. Buffet service in a spacious restaurant is for breakfast, lunch and dinner and you can choose from variety of meals. Plenty of fruit and dessert is also available. Fenals is a very quiet part of Lloret, so is Savoy, therefore, night rest is guaranteed. There are no running down the hallways, yelling of teenagers and more things that you would find at hotels downtown Lloret. It`s a great place both for families and teens who are going to have a pleasant sleep after wild nights. Staff is very helpful, minus a many times mentioned lady at reception who seems like she landed there from some far away planet, not knowing where she is or what she is doing there. Not much help from her, but as for the rest of the staff, great job guys. For deposit of 10 euros, you can rent sunbeds or sun umbrellas for the duration of your stay, and return it when you check out, they will give you your money back. Excellent! On the beach, you can rent sunbeds and umbrellas for the price of 5 euros per item, between 10 a.m and 6 p,m. Decide for yourself.
If you want to have a pleasant stay at Lloret, for a very affordable price, Savoy is a great place for you.

Room Tip: Although it would seem that view towards pool is better, it is much quieter towards back alley and b...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rasha_Zemun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We went there 11 days in august 2012.It is a 3* hotel no more no less.Our room was very nice,very very clean,enough for us and a 4 years old child,has great tv(plasma).Breakfast and lunch was good but the dinner not.You have fresh fruit all the time, the dessert table was very poor.The hotel is in a quiet area near from the main street in Lloret,ideal for the family holiday and for sleeping.The beach is very nice just a few steps from the hotel,and has enough place for all(it isn't like that one in Lloret).I don't know reasons of such a negative reviews about this hotel.They don't speak english so good, but what!?BUT IF YOU WANT BETTER HOTEL FOR THE SAME MONEY BUT HALF B.,IT IS BETTER TO STAY IN SURF MAR IT'S MUCH MUCH BETTER IT IS A 4* HOTEL.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARINA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I was very worried after reading the reviews for this hotel so went with a open mind after getting a cheap all inclusive deal for my family, yes the rooms are very small but you dont stay in your room much only to sleep! The air con wasnt very good but being on the 6th floor kept doors open so wasnt a problem, food was edible not always hot but ok the staff are quiet miserable but there are some nice friendly staff too hotel close to lovely beach and just far enough away to stop noise from lloret de mar center walk is very hilly i would recommend this hotel but remember to go with a open mind and dont let the few negatives ruin your holiday

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank constantenople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Surf Mar
Hotel Surf Mar
#36 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
#15 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Institut Gem Wellness & Spa
Institut Gem Wellness & Spa
#41 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mariner
Hotel Mariner
#90 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rigat Park & Spa Hotel
Rigat Park & Spa Hotel
#34 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#75 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Fenals Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Fenals Mar

Address: Carrer Domenech Carles, 8, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain (Formerly Hotel Savoy Lloret de Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range: $48 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ALEGRIA Fenals Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel inn Fenals just one step from beach. Swimming pool, terrace, bar-cafeteria at the pool, garden, satellite tv, buffet restaurant, live entertainment, well communicated by bus. Watch with our live webcam the activity at the entrance and sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ALEGRIA Fenals Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ALEGRIA Fenals Mar Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing