We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor rooms, poor pool, unfriendly restaurant staff”
Review of ALEGRIA Fenals Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ALEGRIA Fenals Mar
Ranked #36 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The hotel seems to have been built as per the type project for Costa Brava hotels. I have to idea what kind of the concrete they have used for the walls but you can hear everything in the rooms around you, starting from the lavatory flushes, corridor noise, elevator noise and talks in the next rooms. The rooms close to the elevator shaft are absolutely terrible, they are not only much smaller as the other ones (sold for the same prices by the way) but also have some stupid polygonal floor (edge cut to save space for the elevator shaft).

The restaurant is terrible. If you are going to get some clean glass from the shelf, be ready that the waiter runs across to get it saying "sorry, this for the all inclusive customer". "And where do I take the one for myself?" "I don't know!". Sitting on the terrace till the late evening has no sence, as the lights will be turned off at 23-00 no matter if you finished your cocktails or not). Also the cuisine is not tasty, each 3rd day nearly the same poor food sets. Better try the nearby small cafees, much better.

The small pool is dirty, you find there the pines from the nearby pine trees all day.

The only good guy is the tapper, he does his job properly. The location is more or less OK, as you need only 2-3 minutes to walk to the beach but it's better to avoid this hotel. The real value should be 2 stars.

Room Tip: not the one close to the elevator shaft!!! avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelKonon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 333 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

We was in this hotel 10 day, and it was excellent.Hotel is very good, clean, located in a quiet area, two minuts from Fenals Beach, this beach is much better than the beach in the center, cleaner and less crowded. Near is Beach sa boadela and santa cristina. 10 minuts from Fenals beach is the garden Santa Clotilde,and if you go to LIoret, you must to see this garden. Food is very good, a lot of difrents meals, fruit...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Milos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Well everything you have read is true it is clean but the staff are not a happy bunch. To be fair there is not much for the wee girl behind the bar to be happy about left on her own all day doing three people jobs . The food is consistently cold and would be eatable if at the right temperature. Was on a hen weekend so it did us don't book here if are going for 1 or 2 weeks . Management need to take heed of these reviews as this would be a smashing hotel if they changed their ways of doing things, and it is true it seems it is not for British people so I don't know why British tour operators are sending us there there wasn't a problem about us being British but we were the only ones there. Overall not the best hotel I have been in but did us for a weekend , you would probably go out and spend money if you were here all inclusive for a week or two....

Room Tip: ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilmaf711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Having read tripadvisor I was already prepared before arrival at the hotel. Firsty I would say it is in a good location and very close to a lovely beach. Its around a ten minute walk from the main strip which makes it easier to get away from the noise. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are basic, fine for sleeping and showering. The cleaner was lovely. That's where the good ends!!! The staff and food at this hotel really let it down badly. The reception staff are dismal, and their attitude is very uncaring. The bar staff are miserable and downright rude! There is no evening entertainment, and returning late a night is a bit daunting as it is so dark. Overall I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The food is inedible and cold. The only saving grace is the fresh fruit. The drinks are below par, and if you drink g and t like myself you will not be able to get the tonic without paying!! It does not represent good value for money . We did not let it spoil our lovely break, but the hotel did not make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loribell15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Just back from the Savoy, what can I say...... this hotel is only good for going to the beach. The food is cold even when the dining room opens it's doors the food is still cold!! Stick with the salad !! this hotel is wasting it's time doing all inclusive. On a plus the rooms were clean and new fresh towels every day. Staff are pretty glum to say the least and the rest of the clientele miserable. Elena on reception was very helpful once you get past the language barrier. One drink at a time , it will take you an eternity to feel even slightly merry!! Go the the bar just down the road for breakfast and drinks wonderful family run business nothing fancy but made us so welcome. The beach is very nice and water lovely. Thankfully we did not pay overly much for our three night stay, however all we really got was bed and not even with the breakfast. The manager seemed to be locked in an office somewhere, never dared to come out his probably a sensible move but not one that will make guests want to return.

Room Tip: all rooms the same - sea view front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toddyjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We chose this hotel purely on the basis that it was cheap, cheerful and in a good location. My partner and I stayed here for 10 nights which in the end became too much.. the hotel was absolutely spotless and I couldn't fault it, the pool area was very modern although it was impossible to get a sun lounger unless you put your towel out at about 8am. The male receptionist was very friendly and helpful although the woman was really miserable and always seemed to busy to help you. The room was quite small although clean and had all the amenities we needed for an all inclusive break, however the air conditioning didn't work and the bed broke a couple of times during our stay (this was never sorted out) the decor was also really off-putting. The location is fantastic about a 30 second walk to a beautiful beach and lots of restaurants, shops and pubs and just an easy 10 minute walk into main Lloret. A big problem we had here were the staff, they were really miserable and unhelpful- except for one man on the bar- and spoke really bad English.. everything seemed to be catered for the Germans, Russians &Ukrainians. The food was pretty poor with little to choose from unless you like fish and frankfurters, a lot of it was cold and we ended up eating out on a couple of occasions due to this. The biggest problem with this hotel is the other guests, if you're a social person I wouldn't bother staying here as there are barely any other British guests here.. purely European and they are SO miserable and rude, we went out of our way to be polite and conscientious and all we got were foul looks and rude whispers which really put a downer on the whole experience.

Hope this review helped!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the hotel are quieter but the view isn't great and you don't get m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssssunshineeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Hi,
This has got to be the worst hotel i have ever stayed at.
On arriving the hotel looked ok on the outside but a little dated around the reception and dining areas.
At reception we were given our room key and all inclusive bracelet and shown to our rooms. As it had been a long day of travelling nothing more to report for the first night.
On waking the next morning the first thing i saw was the realy dated decor in the room and all i could hear was the continual dripping of a tap which was not fixed and lasted throughout our week here. Went out to the balcony to escape the noisy tap and found it to be aprox 1.5m2 (not big enough for 2 people).On getting ready found the shower was hot and stayed hot and quite powerful (maybe not so bad i thought to myself). Got ready and went for breakfast.
Now this is where it starts to go downhill. I was greated with frankfurters in gravy and grey sausages (no not great but grey). So i went looking for the fruit and was greated with moldy apricots as i was starving i searched through a plate of about 200 apricots and found 4 edible!!!!!!! went to get a bottle of water and i was chased as this was not for AI guests only for paying guests!!!!
Well not going to let this ruin my holiday so went out to get breakfast. Were advised by the travel company that we booked with that it was close to the centre how wrong were they!!!!!!! It was about 20-30 mins walk all uphill. Got breakfast happy again:)
Back to the hotel for a few drinks (at least that should be ok) again how wrong can u b. Were the only british in the hotel and there was a sign in english saying one drink per person on going to the bar all the other hotel guests were allowed 2 but myself and the rest of the group that we were travelling with were only allowed 1!!!!!!!!! Took it on the chin and went up to get 1 drink at a time had about 12 and felt no effect (i usually have 2 back home and am tipsy). So went back out for drinks and lunch. made it back for dinner which again was inedible apart from the water melon. Back out hiking into town for my dinner as i was starving.
On waking the next morning i found i had a cut on my toe, every morning was the same a new cut somewhere on my body and couldn't quite work out how. The day before we left i found a large shard on glass in my bed!!!!!!!! (we hadn't broken any glass so has been in the bed since we checked in)
The maid came a nd cleaned the room and she was the best thing about the hotel, very nice, happy and would do anything to help including chasing after us on our last day as one of our grop had left there phone in the room. She was fantastic.

The rest of the holiday was pretty much the same.

Now the hotel pool had about 20 sun loungers which was not enough so u had to site on a chair or the concrete ground. No balls, lilos or and sort of fun in the pool!!!!!!!

I could go on and on but i won't, just take my word for it and never go!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cease69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Mariner
Hotel Mariner
#89 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rigat Park & Spa Hotel
Rigat Park & Spa Hotel
#35 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Surf Mar
Hotel Surf Mar
#38 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copacabana
Copacabana
#45 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#20 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Delamar - ONLY ADULTS
Hotel Delamar - ONLY ADULTS
#1 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Fenals Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Fenals Mar

Address: Carrer Domenech Carles, 8, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain (Formerly Hotel Savoy Lloret de Mar)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range: $60 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ALEGRIA Fenals Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel inn Fenals just one step from beach. Swimming pool, terrace, bar-cafeteria at the pool, garden, satellite tv, buffet restaurant, live entertainment, well communicated by bus. Watch with our live webcam the activity at the entrance and sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your ALEGRIA Fenals Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ALEGRIA Fenals Mar Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing