We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Value For Money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of URH Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
URH Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #47 of 127 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
peterborough
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Real Value For Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

This Hotel was booked for us as part of a promotion so not expecting much. Pleasantly surprised.
They staff were very good. Rooms, though not large, were extremely clean which counts for a lot) and comfortable.
Location is literally only yards from the beach.
At this price is was excellent value.
If booking on-line in Lloret you cannot be sure what you will get when you arrive but should be O.K. with this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach (not sea view as these could be on the side). Pay a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shubling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    58
    47
    17
    17
See reviews for
29
90
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
299 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We selected this hotel for our short off season stay in Lloret de Mar only because it was one of very few hotels open in the winter time.
Best description of this place is average and tired. Small room with a very strong smell of the cooking food, tiny elevator, narrow corridors, minimalistic breakfast. Maybe it is better during the summer season because it is close to the beach but in the winter it is a bit depressive.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Oleg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We rocked up as we needed a hotel. €75 with a sea view and balcony was fine by us! It's a small hotel, the room stank of cigarette smoke and it was kind if engrained in the towels and sheets too (if you're a non smoker you smell these things) but we left the door open all night as the road was quiet and we could hear the waves. All in all we had a great nights cheap sleep and good friendly service too. Winner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazzer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel has a very good location - on the 1st line from the beach. It takes you 5 minutes to go to the sea.
Unfortunately pictures of the hotel on the Booking doesn't reflect how rooms are really look like. Rooms are small and old. Do not take room 26, very badly located and there is a leakage from the cealing in the bathroom. We have been located there, but after our complaints - they gave us a better room next day. The sea view room costs additional 300 EUR. But the sea was visible from our room as well (room 28). We didn't take breakfest as it is expensive - 5 EUR per person. You can find cheaper and better breakfest in numerous cafe located right near the hotel. We found a great place called Cafe de la Villa - liked it very much.
There is a Deposit safe - for 4 EUR per day. No parking in the hotel. Only city parking near the beach. Also there are refrigerator, TV and hairdryer in the room. Room has been cleaned daily, but still there was a dust in few places after the cleaning. Towels were changed daily, but bedclothes were never changed during our stay (9 days).
The bed is not comfortable at all - very old matress and pillows.
Rooms have thin walls - you can hear what your neighbors are up to:)
The hotel are not advised to the old couples and couples with children - there is a noise outside which you can hear till the morning as there are a lot of restaurants located near the hotel. Staff was friendly and pleasant despite the fact they didn't alwas understood English:)

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4, 5 or 6 floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alla2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed there for 10 days.
Room: We had a side seaview. See the floorplan. The corridor to get there is like a labyrinth. Seems like everything got space optimized while the recent renovation. More rooms equals more income. The renovation seems to be recent, not much tear and wear visible. The problem is they economized on some materials, like there's a huge gap between the room's door and it's frame. Noise isolation is close to zero. Same goes with the bathroom neighbours. The room's door shuts itself with a loud bang unless eased by hand. That's quite unpleasant at 2am when I'm sleeping and others come back shouting and smashing doors. Thank god the (small) terrace's door is very well isolated. There's quite a lot going on nearby in the night. Music, shouting, cars, trashcan emptied at 2am. The aircon does it's job and is surprisingly quiet.
Our problem was the low number of hangers and shelves in the room. When you're there for 10 days you can't have just so few clothes. 3 huge suitcases fit nowhere, those were always in the way. The cupboard has a safe, but obviously needs some payment.
Good news is that there we no mosquitos.
There's a tiny fridge, good for some milk, drinks and breakfast stuff.
Cleaning is good, as usual some tip to the HANDS of the ladies helps a lot.
Bathroom: teeni-tiny. A single person fits just with some dance. A toilet, shower and basin cramped into 1.5m x 1.5m and the door is always in the way. The architect should get the license revoked. Worst ever seen so far.
Breakfast: 5 EUR for juice, croissant or toast and coffee. Haven't tried.
Wifi is free, connection sometimes breaks, otherwise speedy. Seems to work everywhere in the building, but not in the hotel's promenade restaurant.
Location is excellent. Right in the middle of the promenade. The beach is on the other side of the road. Sunbed and umbrella is 6 EUR/day for EACH piece, beach safe 5 EUR/day. Not so cheap. Most side streets are walk only, filled with shops and restaurants. Next supermarket open until 23h is somewhere on Carrer de Venecia (which seems to be a tad cheaper), there's a spar on the western end of the promenade.
Cheapest parking we found is 9.5 EUR/day or 66/week on the corner Av Vila de Blanes and Carrer de la Riera under the eurospar supermarket. Otherwise at the easter end of the promenade and under the library it's 26EUR/day or 105/week, 4EUR/2 hours at the hotel. You better don't come by car or pay hard for it. You can park in front of the hotel while loading the luggage for free. The bus from Girona airport is 9 EUR, bus station is like 15 mins walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: See the floorplan
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamg_hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The room were always clean, the hotel is very close to the beach, like 50 meters, the staff was nice to us but not all of them. The room and bath were modern but the one thing I have to notice about this hotel it is that it was a big disappointment regarding the size of the rooms - everything is narrow, the pictures we saw on booking.com were taken with the camera in an upper corner of their biggest room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice hotel, clean rooms a little on the small side especially as room contained an extra single bed. Extra charges for things such as spa/sea view/ safe. Breakfast was expensive at 10 euros so didn't try it. Really good location on sea front and had a good view from our balcony (paid 10 euros per night extra for sea view) but no seats on balcony you had to stand out there to enjoy. Nice staff but they were unhelpful about directing us to free parking for our hire car, instead insisting there was only local autority paking costing 25 euros per day, eventally after being 25 euros down and having good wonder around we found free parking on the hill on the right side of the bay only a 3 min walk away.

Room Tip: Extra for the seaview was worth it, we asked for a high floor. We were never disturbed by noise outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tochar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marsol
Hotel Marsol
#28 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bella Dolores
Hotel Bella Dolores
#39 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#26 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rosamar Maxim - Adults Only
Hotel Rosamar Maxim - Adults Onl...
#15 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosamar Maritim
Rosamar Maritim
#23 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Acacias Suites & Spa
Hotel Acacias Suites & Spa
#36 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to URH Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about URH Hotel Excelsior

Property: URH Hotel Excelsior
Address: Passeig de Jacint Verdaguer, 16, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain (Formerly Hotel Excelsior)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — URH Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has a great location, is in a quiet area a few meters from the shopping and entertainment area just 200 meters from the modernist church of Sant Roma. Excelsior is a charming hotel with 45 rooms, decorated in a contemporary style and minimalist, tiled floors, modern furniture, bathroom and private balcony. All rooms have a sea views, from side or front. In our Restaurant and Terrace you could enjoy a sublime lunch or dinner, enlivened with music and views of the sea and promenade. The hotel has a rooftop spa: jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath, fitness, sun loungers where you can relax as well as you enjoy privileged views. The reception is open 24 hours with friendly and versatile staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR and Booking.com so you can book your URH Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Lloret De Mar
Excelsior Hotel Lloret De Mar
URH Hotel Excelsior Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing