We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel if you want holiday on a budget, great distance to beach-Take your own Breakfast!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Flamingo
Ranked #31 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Reviewed December 1, 2010

This is a great hotel if you have limited funds. We found the hotel to be clean with ample facilities for what we needed. It's a great distance to the beach. The food is awful though, that really was the low point. The reviews are a little harsh on this hotel, it is not a 5* hotel but does not claim to be. The staff were helpful and friendly. There are lots of shops and restaurants around and a lot of bars and clubs. This is definately a hotel to pick if you are after a clubbing holiday. All in all, good hotel with great location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A751987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 775 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2010

Get your drinks in out side the hotel, unless you are old and rich.
Never been treated so well by the staff as afterwards. How could they tell?

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Langorous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

i saw reviews of this hotel thought oh, but not too bad we got a four bed for two people, bathroom mordern & bath/shower. it was noisy first few days however you are in middle of nightlife & shops, so no taxis fayres. easy reach shops & beach great hotel for disabled. food not bad if you could describe what your eating, some sort peasant stew, fish &fish,fish. breakfast consists of bold eggs ham cheese, make your own toast, note* drinks hot & cold from machines only allowed at breakfast, there not even any water on table pudding caramel stuff, jelly & ice cream.or rice pudding. the lift on your right watch get mates in first before pressing button has it closes quickly. we named it tubo lift coz it quick,

the beach pebbles think bring sandals or trainer you can throw away end of hols, has pebbles sharp on your feet. its hard to paddle has beach drops away at edge sea, it get deep very quickly. so not suitable for kids.

walking around you get bombarded with totes trying ti get you into thier club, drinks xpensive. we went to bars two hard rocks ones, the cheaper bars we found behind hotel, where shop prices cheaper.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Me and my Mom stayed at Frigola Hotel for a week recently. Firstly, I would like to point out that Frigola Hotel is the 'cheap option' and Flamingo Hotel actually belongs to the same owners. The restaurant is shared by the two hotels and has the same staff running both.

I had low expectations of the hotel as I got a really cheap deal through teletext holidays with half board. However, I still had a shock at how bad this hotel actually is! We were placed on the 1st floor and our balcony was opposite loud bars that were open until 3am (to be expected for a hotel so cheap).
Other 'features' were:
# NO T.V / Air Conditioning and NO PLUG in the sleeping area. There was ONE plug only which was in the bathroom.No complimentary drink/kettle/soap.
# Holes in the bedding and very lumpy matresses which made it very difficult to sleep (excluding the noise from nearby bars).
# Dreadful food. Fish was very bony and inedible unless you could spend 20minutes picking all the bones out. One choice of 'chicken' in a sauce was 3 thin slices of processed chicken that you would have on a sandwich rather than as part of a main meal. Choices for meals were more or less the same every day.
# Two different locks on the door of your room. However, when cleaners go in they only close the door behind them which relies on one lock only. We found that the lock in question failed to lock our door behind the cleaner when she left our room and when we returned the door opened without us turning the key. We reported this to reception straight away and failed to get as much as an apology when we explained we could have had our passports/money/clothes stolen. They did look concerned and fixed the lock asap. We asked to have another room as we didn't trust the lock and was given a key for room 507 which had a similar lock with loose screws and was coming away from the door! (it was a door knob/lock). We advised the staff that this wasn't any better then the lock we currently had. They gave us no other option even though other people at the hotel had complained about noise and then been moved to 'Flamingo Hotel' (across the pool area) where they had a t.v and air conditioning (and locks that worked, hopefully!).
# On the last night of our stay, some bright spark at the hotel decided to put two different groups (nationalities) of individuals infamous for having conflict, on the same floor as us. It sounded like a football terrace for hours as we were kept awake by the constant fighting. Police were called by the hotel.
# We asked for a 07:00 am wake-up call so we wouldn't miss our transfer to the airport (well, rather a wake-up 'knock' at the door as Frigola has no telephone in their rooms). We watched the woman behind the desk write down our request but thankfully our alarm woke us up as we received no such wake-up. The man on the reception said he had no such request - perhaps the excitement of the fighting throughout the night had distracted him?

The hotel was a 5 minute walk from the beach and there were plenty of shops in Lloret de Mar to keep you occupied. We went to Barcelona (a must) as it cost around 25 euros per person for an excursion there. Very worthwhile!

We liked Spain but certainly wouldn't stay at this hotel again, even if it were for free!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PARADlSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelflamingo, Manager at Gran Hotel Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2010

Dear Sir, madam,

We do apologize for the inconvenience caused at your stay, the frigola hotel is, as you state in your report, a hotel for young guest, as so listed with all the touroperaters we work with directly as for example hotelbeds, thomas cook or TUI.

this however is the page for the Flamingo Hotel

The hotel flamingo does have AC, cable tv, phone, new beds and sintorized windows. The noise of the outside world we cannot block completely but we do our best.

Please do contact us, the next time you want to come to lloret de mar, then we will do our utmost to give you an upgrade to our sup rooms, and give you the atention that yould have had in the first place as our guest.

Again our apologies and we hope to have the posibility to great you in one of our hotels in the near future.

kindest regards,
Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

old tired basic hotel unhelpful staff, lifts do not work or respond if they are not on ground floor!! rooms shabby old and very basic and only 1 electric socket in the whole room and believe it or not it is in the bathroom!! paint flaking and tired looking, breakfast every day was plastic looking cheese and spam meat and hard boiled eggs and hard crusty rolls, evening meal was worse rabbit twice [fed the cat better quality] turkey neck??? cold spag bog and rice every night a joke really the resort very poor only has 3 english bars lots of very noisy clubs they do not cater 4 the english here at all rooms had no aircon or hairdryers [as originally described but not on there now strange that!!!???] met 2 girls from london who were there for 4 days h/b £440 after 1 day they booked flights and left another £320 thats how bad and depressing this hotel is we are very easily pleased but this was a joke they shouldnt send english people there at all we have been to all the costas and this by far is the worst please believe all the negative reviews as they all now seem to be 100% genuine so if you can avoid this sorry excuse of a hotel [3 star id give it a 1 at best] please do and save your money

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steve1962-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I stayed in the other hotel the frigola which is joint on to the flamingo and I can honestly say it wasn't as bad as everyone made it out to be yes it's noisey yes it's not for familys but it is in the centre of a strip of clubs and bars in the day there was no noisey teenagers around they all sleep and rise about 11.30pm! The food isn't great so take extra cash to eat out breakfast is flith dinner wasn't to bad same thing every night fish meat salad pasta chips and a mixture of interesting deserts which I didn't try! The staff don't really speak English well and aren't that bad we needed something doing and it got done within a hour they do like to photocopie your passports so be prepared for that and they don't like to explain why. About two minutes away is a lovely beach were we spent most of our time as the pool area doesn't really get much sun. As it goes for the rooms well plain and simple and very old fashioned is the best way to describe it. It was basic as it can be really but clean and cleaned every morning so make sure your up because the maid likes to walk in while your asleep so were pj's haha but she does come back later if your in bed other then that there pretty good really nice clean sheets everyday. So overall this hotel isn't that bad just take money to eat out and enjoy the rest of the town if you walk down all the little streets the beautiful and there's a fantastic church tucked away between the shops. If your over 25 this hotel really isn't for u unless u wanna go clubbing and stay up late personally I went clubbing once and drunk in the bars most nights I'm only 22 but felt old and was probley the only English girl in this town haha ENJOY.......

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kls1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We booked this hotel after finding a cheap holiday on the internet and after reading the reviews wished we hadn't, so we were dreading it. However, the hotel was basic but the room we had was very clean and adequate. The food wasn't inedible as previous reviews have said but it was the same offerings every evening, it reminded us of visiting Spain in the 70's, salad, chips, rice, noodles then a different meat/fish choice. It wasn't the most exciting food we've eaten but if you are on a strict budget you would not starve. The main problem we found was the noise. It was noisy all day and night and there was nowhere to go to relax. The pool area is right next to the main road and with all the night clubs on the doorstep it is very noisy all night with people coming and going .Take ear plugs if you want any sleep. The beach is quite close but this was really packed as well and very pebbly. There is a lovely beach, however, a short bus ride away at Fenals, which, unfortunately we didn't find until our last day. Tossa is also a nicer area. So, Lloret and the Flamingo hotel is only suitable for youngsters who want to spend their time nightclubbing. We also found the bar and restaurant staff at the hotel very rude, the receptionists we spoke to were helpful though.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jes25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Delamar - ONLY ADULTS
Hotel Delamar - ONLY ADULTS
#1 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
684 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Helios Lloret de Mar
Hotel Helios Lloret de Mar
#37 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alba Seleqtta Hotel
Alba Seleqtta Hotel
#20 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
#14 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Spa Hotel
Cleopatra Spa Hotel
#18 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
URH Hotel Excelsior
URH Hotel Excelsior
#43 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Flamingo

Address: Avinguda de Just Marles 25, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range: $49 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Flamingo 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every season, Gran Hotel Flamingo gets ready to satisfy fun lovers from all around the world who come to visit us each year. It is ideally situated to experience the best of Lloret de Mar, as it is located on the town’s main avenue, only 150 metres from the beach and right in the heart of the shopping and leisure area, where you will find the best clubs in which to enjoy the authentic Lloret de Mar nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Hotel Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Lloret De Mar
Flamingo Lloret De Mar
Flamingo Frigola
Gran Hotel Flamingo Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing