We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extra charges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Flamingo
Ranked #28 of 125 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“extra charges”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were in the hotel in sept. Advertised: mini bar, wifi and lot of other things.
Its look a great offer, but when you arrived, you can see there is no fridge in the room no safe no remote for a TV, but you can have for some extra money.

Remote for TV : 10€ deposite
safe : 20€ + 10€ deposite
wifi : 20€ / week
Oh yeah, if you like more suprise they don't debit your card, you need to pay cash. Don't bother yourself to get a wifi because it's slow, couldn't even open a google. We were very lucky because, we had only breakfast, selection should be fine, but the quality is terrible. I couldn't have scrambled eggs because at 8:30 in a morning is ran out, and never been refilled again.The location is excelent very close to the shops and beach, but this is the only good thing about the hotel. If you need a wifi just go to M or the BK have a shake and use wifi for free. Next time I pay little extra and get a normal hotel.

Room Tip: top floor, if you want to get a rest. streets are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlekrisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelflamingo, dep Calidad at Gran Hotel Flamingo, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear madam,

thank you very much for your comments,

We have read them with great surprise and would like to take a moment to respond.

As is normal in a lot of hotels on the coast in Spain, (and also mentioned in the brochures and online sites where you can buy our hotel) we ask for a deposit when you would like to have the remote control on your room, if you do not want to pay the deposit you can as well change channels manually.

as for the cost of Wifi and availability for wifi, Cost per day is 4€ we have receivers at different points in our hotel but due to sometimes high occupancy, receiving good signal can be momentarily difficult we are aware of this and continue working on solving this problem.

As for our buffets, they are refilled every time during opening hours of the buffet which for breakfast is from 07.30 until 10.00.

Again thank you very much for your comments and we can promise you that we will take them at heart and improve all of the above which has to be changed.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    188
    160
    93
    121
See reviews for
118
213
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donetsk, Ukraine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

First of all I'd like to worn you about the noise which is going on 24/7. So you cann't open the window. But conditioner in your room doesn't work 24/7, it just turns off by itself after 10 mins working with electricity economy purpose. When it is summer it is really not very comfortable. What I mean by telling about the noise: its people, which rest there. The contingent is teenagers all around the town. They party all night long, sing songs, drink a lot and you can only imagine how they behave themselves on the beach and on the streets. They make a lot of garbidge everywhere, smoke even near children all the time, eat from the ground etc. This hole atmosphere doesn't make your rest pretty comfortable at all. In the hotel except conditioner (which actually is there, but you can count, that there isn't) there is no hair dryer, no minibar, no safe box for your passport or smth. Food was the same every day, so if you stay there for long, you'll hate it on the very 5th day.
So, if you are a teenager, and there's no need for all the staff, which I listed below, go to this town Lloret de mar and have some kind of rest, if you can call it a rest)
For all the others I'd recomend to go to Barcelona take some small hotel room, there also is a beach and a lot of interesting things to do)))

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kateryna_Chabaniuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelflamingo, dep Calidad at Gran Hotel Flamingo, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your comments as they make it possible for us to improve our services.

As to you your letter, first of all, our air conditioning at the hotel stops only when the terrace doors are opened or when the chosen temperature has been reached, Both measures we took last year as it is included in our global plan to save as much energy as possible as this is better for all of us living on this green planet.

I regret to read that you have not enjoyed our buffet restaurant with showcooking facilities, however when you say this os monotone I have to disagree with you, The show cooking buffet has every day fresh meet and fish for our guests and twice a week we have a themed evening at the restaurant, in the buffet area you can choose out of various salads and deserts.

As of your comments about the destination, we will send them through to our city council.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lloret de Mar hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lloret de Mar, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I am really sorry to have chosen this hotel. If you are a teenager willing to spend all your nights in discos, drinking, running and screaming around - this is a place to come. Otherwise, if you expect to get some sleep at night - a very wrong option. Before coming here, I read the bad reviews about the hotel being noisy, but I thought (naive!) that I usually sleep very well, so I did not pay attention to that. The result, though: doors banging, youngsters screaming all night long in the hotel and outside it. No sound isolation whatsoever! The security guy is walking around the rooms to (most likely) calm down the "guests". Really, it seems that I'm in a crazy youth hostel rather than in a normal hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelflamingo, dep Calidad at Gran Hotel Flamingo, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear lina,

Thank you very much for your comments, we lament to hear that you had difficulties getting a good night rest, something that everybody wants when being on holiday. We would like to invite you to come back to the hotel and try it again in the the pre or post season when the destination has less young people as their clients.
Normally our procedure with complaints, when given to our management, is to ensure a swift solution to make your stay as comfortable as possible, we do hope that you took the right steps during your stay.
As for the youth hostel part, Dear lina we are a 4 star hotel with 4 star services and all our installations have been renovated this year. Again lina we would like to get a second change from you if you are up to it.

kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We booked this through a company that said good for families, this is NOT the case, there are only about another dozen familes here in this hotel rest are rowdy drunk german or dutch teenagers.
Its such a shame as the hotel is clean, food is good, staff are very friendly and rooms have lost of space.
We have slept an average of 4 hrs a night as kids were running up and down corriders chapping doors etc untill 6am.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelflamingo, Dep Calidad at Gran Hotel Flamingo, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Miss Donna,

thank you very much for your comments about your stay at our hotel. We of course are happy to read that you have enjoyed our services and staff. Your complaints about the noise are known to us and we have taken action upon this point in various ways.

we would like to invite you back to our hotel with your family either at the end of this season or next year to show you the differences and changes made to this current problem, this all with a special discount and upgrade.

We hope to hear from you soon.

kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stay with the girls at this hotel. My first time but there 2nd. First impressions loved it at 1st sight. Close to all amenites. Beach within 10 mins walk. Club Collosso acrossed the road fabulous. Room was good. Security very good. Room only board. Had loads of foods shops nearby. So much choices. Locals firendly. Went to water park in Barcelona day trip was the best day of the whole trip. Had a fabulous time will go again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ange1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelflamingo, dep Calidad at Gran Hotel Flamingo, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Hello Ange,

thank you very much for your kind comments, we hope to see you back next time around.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you make sure that you book the Flamingo not the Frigola the hotel is actually quite nice. If you book with a travel agent you could be put in the Frigola thinking you have booked the Flamingo like our friends did so be careful. Frigola is like a 1 star youth hostel with 1 plug socket for the whole room in the bathroom, the Flamingo is a good standard 3*.
Bad Points....
When we arrived we had to pay a 30 euro cash deposit per person, which wasn't stated when we booked! They wouldn't allow me to give a credit card. So straight away we were 60 euros down on holiday spending money and went home with 60 euros that we had to convert back at a much worse rate than we had paid!!
When booking the room states air conditioning,(which was one of the reasons for choosing this hotel) when we arrived our room was boiling as it was 35 degrees outside I tried to put the air con on but couldn't so I rang reception they told me it came on at 4. I went out came back at 7 & tried again, I was then told it is only on 4-7 and 9-2am. Well if your not in your hotel room between those times to put it on it wont come on so the first night we couldn't sleep because the noise from the street means you can't have the door open. We complained but they didn't seem to care, they were just rude.
The pool is right by the road & doesn't get much sun, we go to the beach so it was fine but if you like sitting by the pool, I wouldn't recommend it. It states it closes at 7.30, my fiance jumped in at 7.10 (ok it was empty he probably shouldn't have done it) but we are on holiday its a laugh and the security guard literally had a fit over it shouting & screaming at us!
We are a couple aged 25 & 28 not a group of 18 year olds. We were told no alcohol in our room or we wouldn't get our deposit back.
I don't know who this hotel is for as I would say its too noisy for families and couples and too strict for anyone wanting a laugh. When you are on holiday you want to relax as, we weren't causing any trouble or disturbing anyone else but were made to feel like naughty school children. I'm used to staff in foreign hotels not being particularly friendly and I don't normally care but this was something else.

Good points are the central location and cleanliness/modernness. But there are much better places in Lloret I wouldn't stay here again.

Lloret de mar itself is also changing, apparently they are trying to make it more of a respectful place. Hello its Lloret de mar that's why we go there!? We have been for the past 4 years, you now have to wear a top when walking around, police are everywhere all the time you feel scared that you're going to do something wrong. You are also not allowed to drink the cocktails from the beach bar on the beach you have to sit at the beach bar. The police are always hanging around checking. Just all seems silly to me! Also no more burger vending machines :(

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2012

It was a very nice, clean and spacious hotel and room. It had also a clean swimmingpool. It had a very good price for the luxurius rooms. I would stay there definitiely again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Nydia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Flamingo, responded to this review, May 13, 2015
We want to thank you for your kind comments about the Gran hotel Flamingo.
It is very gratifying to read your comments for continue working to offer our best quality and profesional services to our guests to make their stay unforettable.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Ana quality department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Delamar
Hotel Delamar
#1 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
#14 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alba Seleqtta Hotel
Alba Seleqtta Hotel
#20 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
GHT Oasis Park & SPA
GHT Oasis Park & SPA
#17 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
835 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Anabel
Hotel Anabel
#5 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
618 reviews
1.2 mi away
Els Llorers
Els Llorers
#6 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Flamingo

Property: Gran Hotel Flamingo
Address: Avinguda de Just Marles 25, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#24 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Flamingo 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every season, Gran Hotel Flamingo gets ready to satisfy fun lovers from all around the world who come to visit us each year. It is ideally situated to experience the best of Lloret de Mar, as it is located on the town’s main avenue, only 150 metres from the beach and right in the heart of the shopping and leisure area, where you will find the best clubs in which to enjoy the authentic Lloret de Mar nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Gran Hotel Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Lloret De Mar
Flamingo Lloret De Mar
Flamingo Frigola
Gran Hotel Flamingo Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing