We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap... Not so sure about cheerful!”
Review of Els Llorers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Els Llorers
Ranked #8 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I spent a week here earlier in the month.

Upon arrival at 10pm, we were greeted by a less than interested hotel owner and told where our room was along with a "handy" point of a finger. We were also told that he needed to keep our passports overnight (for what reason, I have no idea but after a day of traveling you don't really have the energy to argue!)

The apartment... We booked a 1 bed apartment to sleep 4. When we arrived, there was the bedroom with 2 single beds & a sofa. We managed to pull the sofa out and make it into a DOUBLE bed - not entirely ideal!! Blankets weren't the best, but what do you expect!
The facilities of the apartment were spot on. We had a toaster (ok, it only cooked one side of the bread at a time, but we worked around that!) kettle, coffee percolator, 4 gas rings, microwave oven. Enough plates, bowls etc...
Bathroom was ok, bit dingy due to the brown tiling throughout.
One major downside was that there was only one mirror in the apartment - this was in the bathroom. With 4 women trying to get ready for an evening, it was hard!
We had our towels changed once in the week.

The swimming pool was ok, nothing spectacular. The pool bar was average for food, if not a bit pricey for what you actually get & the quality!
One more than one occasion, we had to wait to be served at the pool bar. Once while paying for breakfast (the owners were doing shots..!!!). It seems the norm for the owners to sit and drink beer at 9am and carry on chatting while you stand at the bar being ignored.

The mini market at the bottom of the hill - the owner is lovely! She is always willing to help. It's not over priced either.

Location of the apartments... they are about 25 mins walk into the town centre (15 mins to the caprabo supermarket). It's quite a nice walk in the day, but I might suggest a cab for evenings.

Lloret de Mar has lovely beaches, bars and restaurants! Nightlife is great, plenty of clubs. We favored Zoo & Tropics.

It is easy to spend a day in Barcelona also, €19.00 return on the bus. This takes 1 hour.

All in all, was a great holiday, just let down by the staff at the apartments.

Room Tip: request main block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CH57_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 858 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

my wife and myself have just returned last week from a lovely holiday break in Els Llorers. The hotel apts are very basic but clean and airy. The bar is nice and the staff throughout were very friendly and helpful. yes you do have to pay 50-00 euro deposit on arrival but what harm and its handy to know that you will have 50-00 left when you are heading home..!!! its about a 15-20 min walk to the beach and all down hill which is nice on the way down......however obviously its all uphill on the way home.....so get a taxi...your on hols..!!
you might bring a travel kettle with you....just a cofffee perc in our apt. also bring a lighter for the gas hob.
otherwise for two 50 year olds it was a great break and really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: to get a good room...be nice to the pet dog and the receptionist.....!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caherdavin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

If you choose these apartments be prepared to:

1. Be greeted by an indifferent, disagreeable and often irate reception team.

2. Carry 50-100 Euros with you for the deposit demanded on arrival and be prepared for a room inspection on departure, irrespective of departure time.

3. Bring your own matches for the gas hob.

4. Make sure you bring your toilet paper with you (only available at 50 cents per roll)

5. Clean your own apartment, as you will find it in the same condition as the previous residents left it in, and will never be cleaned during your stay. This luxury will set you back a further 10 Euros per time.

6. Be prepared to make your own bed when and if new sheets are made available, usually after a week, as the clean sheets are only chucked on the bed for you.

7. Listen to your neighbours all day and night, through the paper-thin walls.

8. Watch satellite, Spanish TV only!

9. Walk 25 minutes into town.


In simple terms, if you choose these apartments the idea is that they are available on a self-service not self catering basis, and as such only a cheap option if available for under £20 per night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickandJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Dear Mr. & Mrs., you have arrived from Greece, from where you made a reservation in an English website in which the services offered by our establishment were clearly set out. Many of our customers come from Great Britain and book their holidays through these websites, with the option of staying at our establishment. This is recorded in their comments included in the website.

• Our policy of requesting a deposit on the day of your arrival is a common policy for all Costa Brava apartments and we think that 50 euros is a very low price (other establishments ask for between 100 and 200 euros per apartment).
• With respect to the matches and the toilet paper, we hereby inform you that on the day of your arrival, you had 2 rolls of toilet paper in your apartment, and, just as you need to purchase washing-up liquid and food in the supermarket, as most of our clients do, you can also buy matches and toilet paper. During the high season, in which our customers pay over 20 pounds per night, matches and toilet paper are supplied free for all customers who request them.
• On the day of arrival of our customers, the apartments are clean and the beds have been made, and clean towels placed in the room. Our service only includes changing towels and bed linen. The towels are changed every two days and the sheets once a week. We maintain total respect for the privacy of our customers and for that reason our employees do not enter the apartments very often, as our customers consider that space their home during their stay. Each apartment has all the necessary utensils for clearing the floor and bathrooms. Most of our customers do their own cleaning, as required, as if they want us to clean the apartments they know this is an extra service that costs 10 euros.
• All remote controls have a change of language button for different languages, and all original programs in English can be seen in English. If you had asked at reception, we would have informed you about this.

We would just like to say that on the day when you asked about toilet paper at the reception desk, we informed you of the cost, just as we do with all our guests, and you were extremely angry about this. We apologise for the aggressive way in which the employees at the reception desk responded to you. They did so in response to your complaint, in an in appropriate and improper way. You then asked us to clean your apartment every day, but this service is not included in the price you paid. We know, from your declarations, that you spent an enjoyable holiday at our establishment and had an apartment on the fourth floor with excellent views of the sea and brand new furnishings. Due to your annoyance at having to pay for the toilet paper, you told us you expected a lot more for the 20 pounds that you had paid.

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay in our establishment, and your comments help us to improve our quality

We sincerely wish you well.

Yours truly,

Teresa Bárzano Abad
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My partner and I just got back. I was so happy with the apartment it was lush, they are spacious and clean, facilities were good kettle toaster and microwave, and four gas hobs, would have been a little better if we had an oven as your restricted to what you can cook without one, but who goes on holiday to cook anyway!! The staff were AWESOME no complaints at all, there is a little mini market at the bottom of the hill (not a steep hill) the lady is lovely and helpful, The walk into town is about 15 mins, lots of shops in town the beach is right next to them, on the way into town 10 mins away is a supermarket with everything you need. we went out between 8 and half 8 most mornings to walk into town and returned back at the hotel around half 12ish toavoid walking in the hottest part of the day and it was brilliant. prices in town are good for food and drink, butto be fait they are good in the hotel too and the food is fab. The pool area is swept every morning and pool cleaned every morning too, we had fresh towels half way through our stay. we got back monday the 4th of june and already looking at booking to go back in october! It was our first holiday together and it was PUUURRRFECT!! thanks!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samantha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Just had a weeks holiday at Els Llorers 18.05.12-25.05.12. I have stayed here before 2 years ago and they have refurbed the apartments which was a bonus. We had a 2 bedroom apartment for the 4 of us and it was plenty big enough. The pool is lovely and cleaned every morning. The bar is excellent - Paytu and Caroline make you feel very welcome.
The only downside to these apartments to some people would be the steep hill climb.
I like it there that much that I have already booked to go back on 18.05.13.
PS. The mini market is excellent and the prices are not overloaded.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view otherwise you may get the rear apartment block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VIC358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

just returned from els llorers had brill time great weather rooms are big bar/resturant prices are good rooms have kettle microwave etc staff are brill mostly CHICO AND CAROLINE WEE BIT OV A HILL TO GET TO HOTEL BUT ALL IN ALL good hotel AND ITS ALWAYS CHICO TIME AT ELS LLORERS

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraineanddann... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at Els Llorers for a 5 day break in May. The apartments offer large rooms with all the necessities required for a self catering holiday (cooker, microwave, kettle, fridge etc). The apartments are imacculately clean and have recently been refurbished with what looks like new furniture throughout.

The location of the apartments is great for those who want to be a little outside the main resort of Lloret de Mar. Due to their location and elevated position on a hillside, the views over the resort and onto the sea are stunning. based in a residential area just outside the resort, they are also very quiet at night, with no noise from bars, clubs or traffic. The town centre is about 10-15 minutes walk away or 5 minutes in a taxi.

The pool is clean and well maintained and there are plenty of loungers/chairs so you'll not be left without.

There is a bar and resturant within the complex which offers excellent food and drink for great prices as well providing pool tables, TV, darts and video games.

All the staff are very friendly. In particular, Caroline, the bar/resturant manager couldn't do enough for you and goes out her way to ensure her customers are looked after and have a good time.

Don't hesitate to book this hotel if your planning a holiday to Lloret de Mar, there isn't anywhere better in the resort!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HotSox87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
#14 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
738 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
#9 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,488 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA
Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA
#7 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Spa Hotel
Cleopatra Spa Hotel
#18 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ninays
Ninays
#33 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosamar & Spa
Rosamar & Spa
#11 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Els Llorers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Els Llorers

Address: Amadeu Vives s/n apt.box 735, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#6 Family Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range: $34 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Els Llorers 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Els Llorers apartments Lloret de Mar, Costa Brava Apartments Els Llorers - Els Llorers Apartments is a quiet complex located in a residential area one kilometer from the beach of Lloret de Mar and offer the possibility to enjoy a peaceful family holiday between sea and mountains. Els Llorers is a place of relaxation surrounded by a natural environment with the best value for money of the Costa Brava.At your disposal there are two private pools with free sun beds and parasols, landscape green space and a child`s playground. Bar-restaurant with a variety of national and international food. Organization of entertainment (karaoke, bingo, games, Wii, POOL contests ...)Services include 24-hour working reception, tour desk, free parking, mini-supermarket in 50 meters, diving school, cots and chairs is also free.Pets allowed up to 20 kg.Extra Services: Daily cleaning, safety deposit boxes, Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Els Llorers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Els Llorers Hotel Lloret De Mar
Els Llorers Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing