We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant - couple from clare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA
Ranked #8 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Ennis, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“brilliant - couple from clare”
Reviewed October 4, 2009

lovely hotel situated in a quiet area(fenals) of lloret de mar.booked for eight nights on a balf board basis, as the price was just a little more expensive than room only. We didnt intend to eat in the hotel, maybe breakfast only but the food was so good and varied we ended up eating ther every night. the staff we very friendly and efficient. There are some good local bars just outside the hotel which are much cheaper than the hotel and the loco bar just across the road is very good and very cheap. The local beach (fenals) is about a five minute walk while the main beach in lloret de mar is about 15mins walk. Overall we had a great relasing holiday at the Aquarium and I would definately go there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareCountyclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    506
    159
    43
    24
See reviews for
374
487
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derby
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2009

just come back and i felt i needed to write a review , my first time because this hotel and place is excellent , the best i have ever been too. the hotel was so clean you would see staff cleaning all the time which makes up for the fact the decor and furniture needs to be updated, the food is really good every day different choice the only thing is the meat can sometimes be tough ,the tourist all from all over europe different ages which adds .
staff believe me are really helpful tell you where to go what to do and will point to the cheapest, the area of lloret de mar is also so clean, bins every were recycle also beach is spotless, the only place i have ever seen where if you have a wheelchair or pushchair theres nowhere you can not go . (even those bring that cross a road has a lift) let me tell you no matter what your age or needs this place is the one , so family friendly and wheelchair friendly all the bars have kiddies play area out off the sun ,disco for the young ones day trips to all over the place i could keep on and on .p.s also the royal beech hotel if you want to be bang in the centre

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luciaturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Pleasant stay, very clean hotel grounds, quiet and relaxing although I must say it got boring after three days.

Rooms are indeed small but looked after...

Entertainment - it's not too bad except for the "live music" two nights in a row one sad individual playing limited old songs...

Food was not always the best quality because you could see unfinished foods reappear the day after in another form, but it was tolerable.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

The hotel is in a quiet residential area and there are plenty of quiet bars surrounding it. If you come out and turn right there is a nice little spanish bar on the corner called La Oca, they do free tapas with your lager. (1.95€) Depends how much you drink, you could have enough tapas to count it as your lunch. We went for 10 days and popped in now and again, I had 10 different tapas, very enjoyable.

The Navy bar next door is nice for meeting up with people.

The food in the hotel was not what I would expect for 4*. Dinner was ok, a good choice, but only saw a proper potatoes once. These were sliced thickly and griddled. Very enjoyable. It was chips every night, then they had some "puree" more like smash. Breakfast was the usual, continental (plenty of it ) the chef on the griddle did omelettes freshly cooked with ham or cheese (or both) then next day did fried eggs, so alternated between the two.

The hotel is built in a way that the sun doesn't come round until lunchtime, and people still persist in putting their towels on the sunbeds after breakfast (then disappear, why?) We used to got to Fenals Garden hotel (where you get dropped off at the petrol station) they get the sun all day.

We asked for a pool view upon arrival and were told there were non available, but more or less coaxed into having a room above the entrance which would be quieter. It certainly was, we did not get disturbed through the night. The reception staff were really helpful and gave us maps so we could find our way round.

As for Lloret, it was a nice walk after dinner, it's full of clubs, but some nice shops. We saw one bar that charged 6€ for a pint of lager!!!!

We went to Tossa one day, the bus station is in Lloret, 3€ return each. The road was very narrow and full of hairpin bends, so being a nervous traveller we came back by boat. Cost us 20€ plus 10€ for the obligatory photo on board the boat. Nice sightseeing tour though on the way back.

Would I go again, yes I would and stay in Fenals area. The beach is about an 8 minute walk and quiet.

The staff are really nice and helpful and the hotel is really clean.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfie1WestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co down
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

are party were looking for a good deal, so we looked up telext got on the phone and gave the lady our price tjat we could afford, the company was future travel instant holidays belfast branch.the lady phoned us back with a deal to costa brava at 299 each she told us she had stade at this hotel don julan hotel, we booked when we finely got our itinery through we decovered she had booked us into the don julan center, we looked this center up on trip adviser ,what a dumb, after numerest phone calls we picked the aquirum hotel ,on asking how much more this would cost we were told she would phone us back the call never came, we left lods of messages but siill no wiser to what it would cost, as the holiday was the next day off we went , when we got back home my credit card bill came ,the extra on the holiday was 300 pounds per couple, what a shock, a biger shock when i noticed that she had taken put the other couples 300 pounds onto my credit card. so holiday mekers beware of tele text holidays theres no deals on the box. i would stay at the aquiram hotel again but not a that price.
,

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieoCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

I have just returned from a short break to the Aquarium Hotel in Fenals, Llorett , Costa Brava with my fourteen year old son. We went for 4 days (3 nights) having picked the hotel because of good reviews on here! I wanted something with full board, a nice pool , a good standard hotel, not too far from a nice beach and be able to get out and about too.
Well this hotel was perfect for us. This wasnt to be a holiday where we wanted nightlife, its too far away from the centre of lloret for that anyway. There is one or two bars near by, and a main street with shops and cafes. We just wanted to relax, eat nice food, go swimming in a good size pool or the sea and go on some boat trips. The food was fine at the hotel, lots of choice at every meal. All buffet style. We certainly didnt witness any huge queues or food running out which ive heard can happen. We both like a good breakfast in the morning, and though there was cold meats, fruit, various cakes/croissants there was also a choice of hot english breakfast every mornings. Scrambled egg,beans and bacon was there every morning (sausages were varied ) We'd get a table near the coffee machine so i could keep returning to fill my cup. My son would keep refilling his juice. This was the only meal where drinks were included. Lunch and dinner they'd come and take an order for your drinks which were quite pricey. Water and soft drinks were about 2 euros each. After dinner we'd have a look at the entertainment which was the usual, but very popular with everyone, with people up dancing etc. There is lots of seating in and around the bar in the hotel, the ground floor itself is very spacious with lots of seating everywhere, glass lifts, quite attractive and modern looking. We met a few english people but there was a whole range of nationalities there.
The rooms were cleaned every morning with fresh towels and bed made.There was a telly with a bbc channel in english and a few others. We had read on here to request a pool view which we did and so pleased we did! We were on the top (4th) floor over looking the main pool and it was lovely. Bathroom was fine (bath and shower).
The staff were very polite. On the desk they are very friendly and efficient. We arrived late in the evening, and straight away they told us to put our bags in the locker room and go through to the restaurant so we didnt miss our evening meal (finishes 2115). They were starting to clear up but there was plenty of choice and the staff very welcoming. I would definitly recommend going full (or half) board as the prices in Spain were high. I saw boards outside restaurants advertising 18 euros set meals which werent that exciting. We spent all our money on soft drinks and ice lollies when out and about (even lollies 2 euros!)
We loved the pool, there is also a spa area with jacuzzi and gym and another pool which is partly under the roof and partly outside. My son loved this. there were lots of families staying here with children of all ages, all who appreciated the pool area. there was also young kiddies discos and a childrens club. Also aqua excersises in the pool in the mornings. But the hotel attracted people of all ages (no young groups though) There was no trouble with noise at night (although a room on the road side might have been a bit noisier)
Fenals beach is about a 7 minute walk. Turn left out of the door and sharp left again, keep walking ahead to the end of the road and turn left.its a nice beach, with gritty sand, the water is beautiful. lots of sunbeds etc some watersports and boats to all the various beaches and resorts. We went one day to Blanes and another to Tossa on the boats which were lovely trips ( about 30 to 40 minutes each way ) I did like the look of Tossa de mar which had a bit of character ( I certainly didnt pick Fenals for the scenery, first impression were that it is a bit scruffy but ok!)
We both had the perfect break,and I would go back again! By the way we used Resorthoppa which were very good. We were dropped off right near the hotel (the street it is on is too narrow for the bus to go all the way up) but then he sent us walking in the opposite direction! We were lost for a good ten minutes till I saw another transfer bus and managed to get directions from them. We had been walking further and further away from the hotel, I couldnt believe that we had been right by the hotel in the first place! They were very efficient in arranging the pickup to return though. I received a text and also a note under our room door in the hotel! This was great and the bus was dead on time. Although going back he had pick ups in Tossa de mar and we went the 'scenic route' over the hills so we felt quite ill when we got to the airport, it took well over an hour too. I think a cab could have done it in 20 minutes but never mind, it was £19 each return fare.
There was internet access at the hotel which looked fairly reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelagh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2009

On arrival to the hotel first impressions were very good and greeted with a warm welcome and helpfulness from the reception staff, we arrived early lunch time so the room was not quite ready but it didn't take long for them to get it sorted.
Amenities were great nice swimming pools ,spa ,steam room, jacuzzi's, gym all in with the price so we had a lovely 5 night leisure break with wonderful weather.
My only moan about this hotel was the overpriced drinks 2.20 euro for a small bottle of beer and 1.70 euro bottle of water and don't you dare take your own into the dining area as the staff are rather rude to you if you tried!! and no tea or coffee after your meal which I missed and begruged paying for the rubbish coffee served behind the bar, not many english holiday makers there infact I can count on my hand how many I heard the rest were french, spanish and italian and flipping rude I must say....be prepared to set your alarm to get a sunbed about 7ish otherwise you won't get one and if your not on them for the morning the french will just throw your towels off them !!
Food in the hotel was plentiful and couldn't moan of the choice but we was only there for 5 nights I think if I had a fortnights stay I would of been sick of it but only through eating to much not their fault, usually I like to go just bed and breakfast and eat out of a evening so full board was not my peferred choice but for the price we payed i couldn't grumble.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbados2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.0 mi away
GHT Oasis Park & SPA
GHT Oasis Park & SPA
#17 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
864 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rosamar & Spa
Rosamar & Spa
#10 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Anabel
Hotel Anabel
#5 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Delamar
Hotel Delamar
#1 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
555 reviews
1.7 mi away
Els Llorers
Els Llorers
#7 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
#9 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA

Property: Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA
Address: C/ Actor Pere Codina i Mont, 19, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain (Formerly Aquarium Hotel)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#6 Best Value Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#15 Family Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet area of ​​Platja Fenals, on the outskirts of Lloret, this delightful, friendly four-star hotel has been awarded the FAMILY TOURISM certificate and the ISO 9001 quality standards. It provides an excellent standard of amenities and services and is the ideal choice for a holiday with your partner, family or friends. Hotel Aquarium also has swimming pools for children and adults, a heated pool, a new SPA area with a fabulous fitness suite, Turkish bath, multishower, heated loungers, bi-thermal shower, massage area (the only SPA service that incurs a charge). There is also an archery gallery, day and evening entertainment for adults and children and a kid’s club in the summer season (June to September), garden, terrace, buffet-style meals and show cooking and free WiFi throughout the hotel. Its location next to the beach and the shopping area of Platja de Fenals, 800m from the centre of Lloret, provides guests with an array of options for exploring the surroundings. Since 2011, this hotel has been fitted with solar panels to heat water for the bathrooms and the indoor swimming pool. We do not accept pets Have an unforgettable holiday at Hotel Aquarium. We know you’ll be back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarium Hotel Lloret De Mar
Aquarium Lloret De Mar
Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing