We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, do not go full board!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Helios Lloret de Mar
Ranked #35 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Reviewed June 4, 2013

On the whole the hotel is pretty good, wouldn't say it deserves a four star rating but was clean and well presented. Staff were ok for the most part barring some of the restaurant staff who were pretty miserable and not very helpful. However it really lets itself down where the food is concerned. An awful buffet, and even the fresh cooked counter food was pretty inedible. My reco is stick with fried eggs on toast for breakfast and don't even try the rest! Powdered eggs, rank coffee, horrible juice and unripe fruit. Lunch and dinner both reminded me of school dinners or even worse. Actually, the lettuce and tomatoes were just about ok and I had a spring roll one day that passed for edible but that's pretty much it! It's a shame cos apart from that the hotel is pretty good. Lots of pensioners around and I'm not sure they were too happy to see 20 of us turn up on a stag but we were quite well behaved considering!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Skindrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 359 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel in central located, which is convenient so you can go everywhere on foot. The disadvantage is the noise from the disco's and bars in the vicinity. You will certainly be bothered by this noise. The beach is not far away, neither is the swimming pool where we had a lot of fun. Food was OK. No surprises for a three star hotel like this, but we found it not that expensive at all. Sangria ordered at the bar was pricy but worth the money!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stinger008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Shearings full board holiday. Hotel 3 star, Food minus 1 star. In fifty years of holidays never seen so disgusting food served up as 4 star. Soup looked like dishwash & tasted as such, always lukewarm. Three main dishes shown as Pig, Chicken & Fish. At no time could you tell what the Pig or Chicken was, the fish usually had its head & tail attached. The vegetables, potatoes boiled hard as nails, half baked stone cold, mash OK served only twice rest of time CHIPS. These looked as though they were yesterdays reheated. Broccoli stone cold plus other cold veg. Vegetarian meals booked but no cooked food only Salads, so 12 days of salad lunches & dinners.
The tea, using two tea bags managed a grey colour & tasted yuk, yet one could PURCHASE tea at the bar & get Brooke Bond!!! at a price. Many of our fellow traveller's purchased meals at
MacDonalds that gives one an idea how good it was.
This was the first time with Shearings & the last.

Room Tip: Don not go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hammond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just arrived back from the Helios. Looks impressive when you go into the foyer. Positive points, central, staff friendly and accommodating from there it was all down hill. My wife and I travel all over Europe and we love to ear foreign foods but Food wise the
Helios was appalling, fresh veg in very short supply, if you like chips
and pasta then Ok. Sea food was terrible, fish fillets over cooked and
hard, shell fish well a French couple opposite us eat one muscle made a
face and pushed the food away from her. Did have boiled potatoes on one
occasion but they were so hard could not cut them in half. Drinks
vending machine did not work half the time producing just water. Lunch
and evening meal had to pay for water. My wife and I stopped eating at
the restaurant because it was so bad and eat out. Our room was
terrible the bath drain was rusted so most of the water we presume was
going down to the room below us as was the room above us into our bath
room. Room cleaned only once, balcony was filthy with wine and beer
stains all over and rail sticky.

Noise wise cant really mark the Helios down as we expected high levels
of noise when going to Lorette but revelers are in full swing until
approx 5 am so can be difficult to sleep until then.

Sorry not a Hotel for the faint hearted.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

i've now stayed in the Helios 3 times for the price its a good clean hotel foods good it's right on the main street now at night it can be very noisy so if you can ask for a pool side room that gets you away from the noise.Being on the main street your 2mins walk from all the main Discos places to eat Pubs the beach & Bus station a short walk to the back of the hotel there's plenty of shops so everything is on the Helios door step i will no doubt be back next summer and i'll stay in the Helios.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the-dj-doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

could be noisy during the high season and ask for rooms ( poolside)
but i think that all the city of lloret will be noisy....
good breakfast and helpfull staff.

Room Tip: certainly during the high season ask for quite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Hotel is well situated, set back very short distance from promenade and yet only 2 minutes walk to main bus station. We stayed at this hotel for the week after our booked reservation in a Htop was cancelled day prior to travelling. Really could find nothing to complain about and well satisfied with everything in this hotel. Our room on the 5th floor had been completely refurbished to a good standard, with traditional styled Catalan furniture. Room and bathroom not huge but of adequate size and comfortable. Everything throughout appeared to have been finished well and all the new fittings were of high quality. Bed was comfortable and mattress had obviously seen little use. Throughout hotel, mostly everything appeared to be new including in foyer and restaurant. Regards noise, there just was not any on our floor, since almost all the local bars and clubs were closed being out of season. The only noise we endured all week was in the restaurant from excited tour groups of older Spanish, who clearly enjoyed their meal times by all talking at the same time whilst trying to consume as much food as possible. Restaurant was very large and finding a seat was never a problem. Price option dictated we stay full board, albeit with the weather being so good we only had lunch in on 3 occasions . At the weekend it appeared many people from outside the hotel came there for lunch, but they had other less spaced table areas. The food was very good at every meal, with fine choice well presented. Only thing though was that since the food was aimed at Spanish clients, we had to be careful what chosen since could be flavoured with garlic. Needed to taste a little first, but sweets were excellent and plenty of fresh fruit. Breakfast cereals disappointing as inferior to quality of other food, whilst morning drinks were ok. Lot of entertainment organised throughout week, but for Spanish people. Never met anybody else who was British or Irish in hotel during our stay nor in resort for that matter.
All the staff were extra efficient and most polite, albeit they could appear aloof compared to staying in Htop hotels where seeking tips upon leaving. Clearly this hotel is well managed and
able to remain quite profitable when almost all other hotels in Lloret have long closed for the season.
Would I recommend this hotel? Well yes certainly, based upon our experience of it. However, because of its situation being so central, things are probably much different in the warmer months with the likely noise from all the surrounding clubs and bars. Also, I suspect that the Helios Lloret will always cater mainly for Spanish and French speaking clients and so other nationalities may not meet too many others staying to make new friends.
Lloret itself in January can be glorious, with the sunny days we enjoyed. Never experienced such empty promenades and beaches, which we had almost to ourselves on weekdays. Only just enough bars stay open for a few hours on beach fronts, where in obvious spots to enjoy a beer in the sun. Getting around by bus and train remains just as easy.

Room Tip: Our room on the 5th floor had recently been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Monterrey
Gran Hotel Monterrey
#13 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
URH Hotel Excelsior
URH Hotel Excelsior
#46 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marsol
Hotel Marsol
#31 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bella Dolores
Hotel Bella Dolores
#32 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Guitart Gold Central Park Aqua Resort
Hotel Guitart Gold Central Park ...
#83 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delamar - ONLY ADULTS
Hotel Delamar - ONLY ADULTS
#1 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helios Lloret de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helios Lloret de Mar

Address: Av. Just Marles 29, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#29 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range: $56 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helios Lloret de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Helios Lloret de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Helios Lloret De Mar Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing