We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Care home. Good for the money we paid”
Review of Sun Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sun Village
Ranked #84 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Reviewed November 5, 2013

When I retire and I am waiting to die with a pack of cards. I shall come back. The average age is 60 plus. 100% clean. No fault there. Most of the staff are brilliant one bar woman was rude. We got told off for making noise at half 11 at night. Our friends got issued a letter threatening them with a 200euro fine. It wasnt even midnight. No lilos in the pool thought that was bizzar. Second pool closed and this was where the afternoon sun was. Food??? If you like a carb overload-great. If not eat salad. Vegies be warned - examine EVERYTHING. Nothings labled and the snacks were dry chips funny looking pizza and SALAD. the ice cream is to die for. And its a great place to relax with no noise. We came In November and there were no kids (we loved that as wed left ours at home) we only paid 152 pound for 4 nights flight transfers and hotel. Well worth the money and would come again for that price.
the beach has no sand. Just pebbles (we cut our feet wear trainers)

Were brown though :):)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdsk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 408 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Reading the reviews before me and my 5 friends booked this hotel we didn't think they were all going to be spot on but they were. As we arrived we were welcomed by the reception and the cleaner having a argument to which they didn't stop even though we were stood there.
Most of the staff were very rude to us apart from the two young girls at the bar.
The food were absolutely awful, even the chips wasn't worth eating. Three of us were sick straight after food.
The rooms are small but clean and has everything you need, the shower is a good thing.
All of the sun loungers aren't in the sun but there's plenty of space to move them and make them in the sun.
Both pools are good size and clean.
Let's just say 4 nights were enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just wanted to tell everyone my veiws about my holiday but sun village deleted my comments off their facebook page as they said they didnt like my tone or my comments i am a family person with children who saved hard to pay for my holiday and i just wanted what was advertised nothing more Where should I start at the beginning I guess we arrived in lloret de mar and was dumped on the side of a busy main road with a family member how has a heart condition and diebeties and my eight year old daughter we were told to go down this road turn down there and your hotel is on the left we paid for transfers to our hotel not to treated this way and was told you will be picked up here in 2 weeks, we was not shown to our room the carpets in reception was very dirty when we looked out of our room we had a beautiful sea view but noticed the pool was totally in the shade as we're all the sun beds this was the case everyday from 3 pm the front pool was in the sun all day which would have been lovely had it been open as it was still under construction as was the main function room and bar and sun terrace which opened on our second week we were under the impression this hotel was totally renovated so was very excited to staying here there was no children's entertainment what so ever a gentlemen sat with a colouring book and pens on one occasion and as for entertainment a man with a laptop and a speaker played same music every night the staff were dresses very basic the day before we came home staff were issued with their new uniforms which were very smart to us any improvements made at this stage would be no benefit to my family,
When spending time around the pool there were groups of teens doing summer salts into the pool which made t
It dangerous for the young children also on 2 occasions which I have on video people being thrown in the pool on the new sun chairs when staff were approached nothing was done and yes there is a divide in the pool so there is a small area to paddle but not for children to swim therefore having to use bigger pool.
their was only a very small bar and most of the time having to queue for long periods especially of an evening and being told you can only have 1 drink so the whole family having to queue individually and being told to bring you plastic glass back,
Food was the same every single day and some of it attceptable most of the food cooked on the hot plate in front of you they threw masses of salt all over it I told a member of staff that my child's food was cold they pointed me to a microwave not what you expect for 4 stars.
The wifi was very hit and miss only worked once in our room in 2 weeks mainly everyone sat around in the reception only place it really worked,
NOW TO SAY SOMETHING NICE
The cleaning maids were a pleasure rooms were cleaned everyday and fresh towels if the room hadn't been so nice think I might have cried they rest of the staff need to take a leaf out of their book,
And on the day we left looked like it wouldn't be long before the building works were finished so hopefully anyone who plans to go here wont be subjected to the same upset as we were.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoetoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice hotel, everything is brand New BUT the staff don't know what service means!!! Just housekeeping knows what is good service.
The same Food everyday nobody is checking what staff do. Old Food all the time, nothing from Seafood like in other hotels!!!!
Just one thing is great in this hotel - the view from the room :-)
Hope at somebody will invest in good menager there and everything will be better next year.

Room Tip: If you going to this hotel don't take just B&B - better Food you will get in restaurants in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kajkot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel on Thursday.
We a big concerns over the reviews on here but it wasn't as bad.
When we arrived at 2am we were taken to our room and the room was lovely and clean with a pool view. As it was 2am we could not get a drink no vending machine so no water or anything so went straight to bed.
Woke in the morning to find not only pool view but also sea view! It was lovely. We were a 5 min walk from the beach and hundreds of shops.
I would advise not to go all inclusive and eat out, the food was apalling and the man who stood at the restaurant door with the glasses was lovely to us but very rude and unfair to others.
The small front pool is not in use as there is still some building goind on under reception but it really did not interfere with our holiday at all.
The lady at the Bar was awful, she would allow people to order two drinks at a time but whenever my son went up for us she would say no one at a time and bring your plastic beaker back, she was rude.
The wifi is not fully up and running, we would log in for two minutes and then nothing and everyone was having the same issue.
Entertainment ... A guy with a laptop and speaker playing music, EVERY night!.
Was a bit quiet and boring but clean and enough areas to sunbathe.
Cleaners were very friendly and happy.
Would return to the location but would look for a different hotel next time however it's worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Millen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstherF, Public Relations Manager at Sun Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your honest review.

As you said, we are still working on our second pool, but work is almost finished and doesn't interfere with our guests comfort. We do apologize for not having this ready during your stay. We hope you did enjoy our main swimming pool and terrace bar. Sitting out in the evening by the pool with our All Inclusive service is also quite nice. Entertainment is of the mellow kind, we hope respecting tastes of guests of all ages and cultures.

The hotel is in a great placement and I'm glad you went out and visited town making your visit fully varied. Lloret de Mar offers all kinds of activities and entertainment, although simply walking through it's streets and window shopping is quite entertaining by itself. Going to Barcelona on a day trip taking with you our picnic packed meals is also a great option.

Our buffet restaurant is varied and we try to cater to most guests tastes. We are working in bringing more interesting dishes, however in the peak of the summer holiday it is hard to satisfy each of our guests tastes which come from diverse countries and cultural backgrounds. We hope you at least enjoyed our 'show cooking' grilled meat and fish, our salad bar and desserts, and our All inclusive snack bar, a very economic and handy choice when compared to other meal plan options.

We are working on our WIFI installation and it is fully working on all common areas. The shape of the building is giving us a little hard time for us to get it fully working in every room. However WIFI is completely free of charge and with no restrictions. Some guests might get more advantage of this than others depending on their hardware and room situation. We apologize about you having problems with your connection. This is certainly a problem in every hotel offering free WIFI, but we are working on having the best installation in Lloret de Mar very shortly.

About our staff, I'm deeply concerned that they came across as rude to you. I will give them notice of this and make sure this doesn't happen again. I apologize in their name though. At times working with a high number of guest at a time can become stressful and they lose a bit of temper. This is not justifiable however and needs correction.

Once again we thank you for your comments which will help us keep giving better service each day.

Best regards
Esther F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I am just from this hotel! It is really the worst I ever been! It is not really ready for the visitors, it is in construction prosess. Rather dirty rooms and halls. WF - no(( Location - not good(( Animation - no((Rubbish around the swimming pool((Very poor food((... And just lie information in these pictures. Information about service in this hotel - is absolutelly false! My sincerelly wishes - as far as possible from this hotel(((( It is terrible

Room Tip: If you want to have good vocations stay as far as possible from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ViennaLValeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstherF, Public Relations Manager at Sun Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. No doubt we have started with some shortcomings, however the situation is not that bad as you picture it. Obviously you are disappointed, and we apologize for not having had some services ready at your arrival.

Descriptions of our hotel might be mixed with the description of the old hotel, however we are trying to update all information as quickly as we can.
Photos of the property are recent and veridic. Services we offer are free wifi, children animation and nightly entertainment. Rooms are brand new and cleaned daily.

There is a brand new swimming pool and terrace, with sun beds and day long bar service. We offer All Inclusive meal plan that you can enjoy, with tap beer, sangria, local brand liquors, coffee and non-alcoholic beverages, popsicles and ice cream and snacks served daily at the buffet restaurant.

Our buffet restaurant caters to international tastes that most of our guests we know are happy with. Grilled meat and fish, pasta and rice dishes, salad bar, several style meat dishes and side dishes, fries, hot dogs, steamed vegetables, legumes. Several deserts, fresh fruit, tropical fruit and elaborated puddings and cakes. In short plenty to chose from. Our breakfast is also plentiful, with English style breakfasts, sausage, scramble eggs, bacon, toast, different breads to chose from, pastries, such as croissants. We also offer pancakes, waffles, yogurts, fruit.

Thanks again for your comments. We strive hard to give better service each day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Surf Mar
Hotel Surf Mar
#36 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#22 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
216 reviews
1.0 mi away
ALEGRIA Fenals Mar
ALEGRIA Fenals Mar
#35 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
#82 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosamar & Spa
Rosamar & Spa
#12 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Acacias Suites & Spa
Hotel Acacias Suites & Spa
#44 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Village

Address: C/ Turo L'Estelat, 5, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#41 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range: $71 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Village 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Village hotel has been completely refurbished in 2013 and has opened with 4 stars. Its two swimming pools, "Sunset Beach" located at the front part of the hotel and "Sun Village" located at the rear, each with separate ambiences with loungers and terrace tables. Both spaces have bar offering our All inclusive and a-la-carte service. The hotel is located near the commercial center, at Sa caleta beach and above a promontory overlooking the beach, mountain and the town, beautiful views to be enjoyed from your room balcony and our Solarium Terrace. Easily accessible from the main road and located at a short 350m walk to the beach and a bus stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sun Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing