We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Least We Had Some Sun !!”
Review of H.TOP Royal Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H.TOP Royal Beach
Ranked #76 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Reviewed March 15, 2011

4 Star more like 3!
Good Points - The rooms are cleaned everyday, staff friendly enough. close to the beach. shame theres no sand. small park, small games room. bus stop right outside hotel .
had no problem with a2b transfer.

Bad Points - long time to check in had to wait in 4 different queue to get room key and i.d cards. ( which was a pain to get out every time you wanted a drink) once arrived you cant get a drink till 12 ( all inclusive )
food is a big down side its cold its the same everyday always lots of salad and pasta. cold puddings ( rice pudding ) mainly fruit. not much choice.
Entertainment - very poor , if any.
we were out of season but expected some thing to be open. everywhere was closed 1 or 2 shops open nothing to do or see.
Don't stop here if you want any sleep i would hate to think what the summer is like.
outside noise rather then hotel noise. the only bar open was across the road didn't shut till early hours and the smokers gathering outside made lots of noise to. just a very noisy area. would i stay here again..... NO
you get what you pay for. glad it was just a weekend trip.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendyg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,132 - 1,138 of 2,092 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2011

this place is nowhere near as bad as some people have made it out to be.

The food is average - a little bit of the same thing every day but most certainly edible.
The rooms were nice and very clean - the cleaners came every day.
If youre looking for a quiet holiday then maybe book elsewhere but for those looking for a good laugh and lots of booze then its ideal.

We paid next to nothing for 3 nights all inclusive - it is well worth the money.

If your rooms overlook the Robin Hood bar across the road then earplugs are advised - unless you plan to go in the bar yourself! We had a really good night in there one night.

Most of the staff were friendly - except for a dude with a strange moustache behind the bar.

Those who cause trouble or make too much noise are removed from the hotel.

All in all a good break.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucym25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Overall I could not fault this hotel. I have stayed in The Casino hotel which is the same chain as this one and I have to say there was no comparison. The hotel is clean and the staff are overall quite friendly once they suss out that you are not the stereotypical brit who stays at this hotel. My only fault was that we were kept awake most nights from rowdy guests. I appreciate that they are on holiday but shouting til 3am was not acceptable particularly as there was a lot of children present at the hotel. However, the hotel dealt with the situation superbly. The food was not the nicest but for the price it was edible and I had money spare to eat out if I wanted because the holiday was so cheap! I would definitley stay in the same hotel chain again as the free shuttle bus service is what makes the hotels so unique, offering you a wide range of other hotels within the same chain at no cost to go and visit, many of which are in resorts that would cost a lot to get transport to. If you prefer a quieter hotel The Royal Sun at Santa Susannah or Royal suites are a better option as is the resort!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Just back from a 6 day stay at this hotel.
I have stayed here many times in the past, and everything is still much the same.
Going out of season you know that you will not get the same facilities as during peak season but some things still annoy me
a lack of entertainment –a disco playing the same songs every night. They reportedly had bingo 1 night!
lack of snacks when staying AI –I believe you could get sandwiches from the bar but I never saw any
rooms not cleaned until after 3pm –except for 1 day, but that is a different story
the hotel was due to close the day after we left, but we had so many conflicting stories that nobody seemed to know from 1 day to the next whether we would be able to stay there for the whole time (this moving people to a different hotel when it suits them is normal practice with HTOP particularly during early/late season)

all these niggles make choosing a 4* hotel seem a bit worthless.

The welcome on arrival was good.
The rooms, and general areas were kept clean.
The bar staff were friendly and the service was much better at the bar than I have experienced in the past.
You can smoke in your room, or at least ashtrays were provided, and also outside at the pool area.
Bbc1 and bbc2 on the tv.
The food was adequate. I have mentioned in previous reviews of HTOP hotels that I think the standard has gone down, not the actual cooking of it which is still very good, and this was confirmed here. Every meal has less choice than previous years and the choice always seems to involve cheaper cuts ie chicken drumsticks and sausages for the evening meal.
So, all in all, a reasonable break in a hotel/area I know well but nothing to get too excited about.

However, although the hotel was relatively quiet for 4 of my 6 days, at the weekend the hotel was invaded by a group of Spanish pensioners. We went from relative peace to a full hotel in minutes. What was a relatively quiet hotel turned into a cauldron of noise at meal times. It was worse than when the students invade in May.

This brings me to the different story.
After the Spanish had checked in the quality of the meals improved remarkedly. It was the main topic of conversation among the Brits all weekend. We had paella, roast beef, roast pork etc.
The rooms got cleaned in the mornings as you would normally expect them to be.
We had entertainment on the Saturday night they were there, a Spanish singer on keyboards. No disco.
Noticeably, they have a machine in the foyer to get newspapers, which had a good choice of British papers every morning –you guessed it – except for the mornings the Spanish were in residence.

So, would I go back? Yes. This is still a good hotel that provides the basics and I know it is better in the summer re entertainment and the roof top bar is open at that time.
I think there are better hotels in the area, but off season there is a very limited choice. I will probably stay there or the royal star next month, but when the season starts I will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimd-f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

When we arrived we we're quickly served at reception and given our keys and all inclusive cards. The food was quite varied and tasty. At the bar you could have two drinks at a time, and they we're generous measures. The rooms we're basic but clean, like the hotel in general. The staff we're friendly. The only down side to the hotel was it is a twenty minute walk into the centre of Lloret.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We had booked for Royal Sun in Santa Susanna arrived to check in and advised they are shutting following day and transferred to Royal Beach. The Royal Beach is the most dilapidated, threadbare, vandalised hotel I have ever been in. First impression as stepped out of lift onto our floor......smell of stale cirgarettes, stained and tatty threadbare corridor carpet, skirting boards and door jams crumbling, in our room wall light fitting hanging off precariously. All the linen in hotel, bed and dining room, threadbare. only good thing I can say is plenty of hot water water round the clock and excellent shower pressure.
Food is disgusting.......very bland, and very very salty..............I thought Mediterranean food was garlicky but all I could taste was salt. Meat steaks, chops etc very chewy in fact even the chips were mediocre. Bread rolls are the safest bet. Thank goodness for Roxy's across the road....tasty food and very affordable. Watch out for table clearer's...they are on a mission and take no prisoners. never worked out why some tables set with bottles of wine and water. This hotel volunteers no information. Apparently a free shuttle to Barcelona but no information about it. Reception manned but almost as if helping with queries an irritant. Bar staff are friendly. Large square bar but will only serve all-inclusive guests from one corner despite always being 4 or more bar-staff.....bit strange!
Lovely beach a short walk away.
20 min walk in other direction into Lloret de Mar worth it once get to the coastline and historic streets which reminded me a bit of 'The Lanes' in Brighton. Looked round a Medieval Market which was very interesting. lots of leather shops with beautiful coats and jackets but watch out prices are expensive.....double plus what we expected!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyjane7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Excellent hotel, 3 min from beach, rooms cleaned every day, good choice of meals, friendly staff , great beach front location, bus stop outside to go to Lloret, it is walkable about 15 min , good all inclusive package.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie12393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lloret de Mar
0.4 mi away
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
#83 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,857 reviews
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
#75 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,038 reviews
10.8 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
H.TOP Royal Sun
H.TOP Royal Sun
#15 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
GHT Oasis Park & SPA
GHT Oasis Park & SPA
#21 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
937 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
#14 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Royal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Royal Beach

Address: Avda. America 15-23, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#37 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range: $39 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Royal Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star H•TOP Royal Beach is family oriented hotel, full of life and activity. It is located in Lloret de Mar, Costa Brava (north-east coast of Spain), just 100 meters from the beautiful sandy "Platja de Fenals" beach. The 153-room provide many facilities and services for adults and children. It is situated at 85 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 25 Km from Girona Airport. Lloret de Mar is one of the most popular cities in Costa Brava known for the lively nightlife and its clean&safe beaches. FACILITIES Rooms • Social room (ping pong, billard, etc. • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools ( one for adults and one for children; unsupervised pools ) • Sun terraces • Laundry room • Souvenirs/gift shop Children • Miniclub (really is children's activity room ) • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Spa area • Hot tubs (Outdoors. From 1/5 to 30/9) Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Currency exchange • Car hire • Medical service (external service) • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage (coin lockers) • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your H.TOP Royal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Royal Beach Hotel Lloret De Mar
Royal Beach Lloret De Mar
Royal Beach Hotel Lloret De Mar
H.TOP Royal Beach Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing