We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“avoid.................. worst holiday ever !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of H.TOP Gran Casino Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
H.TOP Gran Casino Royal
Ranked #109 of 127 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“avoid.................. worst holiday ever !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

noise all night by rowdy teens, had no sleep all night, couldnt even bare the thought of a 2nd night so paid to upgrade, will never ever go there again, security dont even tell the teens to be quiet, they let them run wild........beware..........the best thing about this hotels is.........walking out .the front door, i wont even rate this hotel with a 1 BUT i have to to post the review !

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    250
    479
    372
    1,079
See reviews for
493
663
43
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Let's start by saying I am easy going, don,t expect too much from any hotel. That philosophy rarely leaves me disappointed. On this occasion however... This is a hotel aimed at groups of teenagers, leaving their parents side for the first time to enjoy a holiday, not yet having learned the art of live and let live, each and every group try to outdo the others in the amount they can drink (for free) and how loud and late they can play music and shout. 2am comes and the noise dies down whilst the pubescent throng disappears, like magic, off to the nightclubs and bars in town.... Quick get some sleep! Sure enough 6am comes far too quickly and it's being sick contests, kicking every door on the corridor practice, as the revellers return oblivious to the rest of humanity. Come getting up time for the rest of the world and the throng retire weary and in need of sleep... Oh how I wished I had brought my drum kit to share the joy with the now incapable zombies. No that would be childish. But so so satisfying!
To be serious, none of this is the fault of the hotel, they do a magnificent job of standing in for the little loves absent parents, but even they have their limits. The Gran Casino Royal caters for this type of client. The fault lies with your Tour operator who will, when it suits deliberately misdirect normal people to share with the school promenaders.
If a very very loud sleepless alcohol fuelled few days is your idea of fun... You will have a ball! All you can eat and drink of an average( but not bad!) standard! BUT BEWARE
if you looking for a NORMAL type of holiday, where you can sleep at night and especially if you have youngsters. This is not the hotel for you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael465003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Do not come here if you are looking for a relaxing family holiday!!

However if you are looking for a place to stay with the sole purpose of being on holiday to party then this place is perfect! Yes it's noisy, no the food isn't fantastic. And our group of 11 ended up being the only English!! Pretty much everyone else was German!

Rooms are basic but get the job done, food is there if you want it, plenty of drink available. And it's a 5 minute walk to the strip.

Would definitely go back, but be mindful of what you are going there for.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

June 28th-1st July 2014. I went to H TOP Gran Casino Royal with my boyfriend, and another couple. All of us are 18. After reading all the terrible reviews made me regret booking the holiday. I was dreading it so much after hearing the beds are uncomfy, no sleep, basic room, limited food and much more.When we first arrived at the hotel to check in the staff looked miserable and were very un welcome. We didnt even get a hi, they were all chating and had to speak up to get their attention just to book in. The hotel was very basic but didnt matter because were only there to sleep. The reviews i read were that the beds were hard and uncomfortable, I found the beds perfectly fine. The shower was leaking and did look like it was going to fall off, but the shower was defiantly the best thing about the room, it was powerful apart from the shower rack did nearly fall on my head after hanging the bath towels on it. The first night was absolutely horrendous! We can home at 2am and there was fights outside our room, constant swearing, music on full blast through speakers and this carried on til 6.30 AM! had no sleep on our first night and complained first thing in the morning. I asked to speak to the manager and he didn't sound surprised about it being so noisy and not being able to sleep. I asked to move rooms somewhere else and 3hours later we moved rooms. The second night the noise carried on but no way near as bad as the first night. When walking out of the hotel we wasnt even able to walk under the hotel balconies as people are throwing ice cubes, drinks and other items at people!!The alcohol in the hotel was so weak vodka didnt even taste of vodka it tastes like it was watered down with hardly any taste!The hotel has one small pool and a baby pool. The pool was freezing for the first 2 days and was easy to get a sunbed as it was very dead. The bedroom doors had no lock and made me feel unsafe, expecially when there was a fight literally outside our room on the first night!The walls were so thin we could here everyones conversation from our neighbours. Made us feel like we had to whisper to each other just to have a private conversation.

The annoying thing is having a card for drinks therefore you can only have one drink at a time and must take the plastic cup back before you can get another one. There was so many germans it was unbelievable! The food was very basic and limited. I literally lived on fried eggs and pasta for lunch, breakfast and dinner for 5 days! the times for food were ridiculous, 2 hours for breakfast wasnt too bad and for lunch and dinner was only 30 mins!!!!The only good thing was desert to have small pots of ice cream. ALL fizzy drinks in the restaurant and bar were all flat and tasted horrible.

We mainly went for the light life which we was not impressed with. The clubs were nothing how i expected lorett de ma to me! al of them were dead! Me and my friend got into some clubs free because were females as well as some free drinks. the alcohol was also very weak in clubs and didnt taste how we expected. I ended up buying my own alcohol from the shop, just so i could taste it. It was advertised everywhere the club 'tropics' was having a foam party we stayed there till 3.30am and was still NO foam!we all went back to the hotel with disappointment after being told there was foam all night! All the clubs played no english songs and were all in spanish. Only tropics played some old english songs.

The beach was usually packed and had to pay for sunbeds. There was no sand, there was small stones. The sea was clear and lovely, but the first 2 days it was freezing!

The only good thing about the holiday was the activities. We went to water world which was fantastic which was 30 euro's each and the bus was free. I'd also recommend marineland it was fantastic, saw a dolphin show, sea lion and birds of prey. Also got to stroke the dolphin and sealions with a picture for 20 euro's. Marineland also had a waterpark which was very good. I would recommend the bar called 'blue' it was right in front of the beach with a lovely view and looked beautiful at night. The staff here were friendly and even gave us fluffy blankets to keep warm. The alcohol was very good here!
I wouldnt recommend this hotel for families nor teenagers that are going for the night life as all clubs were dead.

Room Tip: ask to have your room on the top floor on an end!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Gran Casino Royal, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Customer;

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback.
We are thankful for your good comments, that kind of comments maker our job easier.
The intention of all the staff of the H. Top Gran Casino Royal is that all the clients who visit us leave with good impression of their holiday.
Unfortunately, we don't always get it.
This hotel, like many others, is visited annually by a large quantity of young tourists from all European countries, especially in the summer months (Germany, Great Britain, France, Croatia, Macedonia, etc.).
There are times when the average age of the tourists on the Costa Brava goes down and other times of the year when it goes up.
Not everyone understands that Lloret is not a destination for relax 100 %.
To any Hotel is possible to go with family or children or older people; but the truth is one; and the truth is that Lloret de Mar It is not famous for its museums and architectural works; Lloret is famous worldwide for its nightlife and its discotheques, apart from its beaches, its sun, its surroundings, its restaurants and a long etcetera.
Our chain of hotels, H. Top Hotels, has a total of 14 hotels of 3 and 4 stars with different characteristics, in different locations and of different dates of construction. Our hotel is one of the oldest and in spite of having our own maintenance team it is very difficult for us to compete with the other more modern hotels.
We regret that your experience with us has been negative.
Logically, in Lloret there are hotels more family-friendly, small and quiet; maybe the profile of our hotel was not the most appropriate for your holiday.
Please, visit our web page; we have more hotels at your disposal than live up to your
expectations for future holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lloret de Mar hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

My family and friends and I have stayed here a few times, back in 2009/2010.
When we stayed we were pleasantly surprised because we did not expect a lot.
The staff were pleasant enough, the rooms were cleaned, fresh towels were available if you asked, nice pool area- if a little unclean. It seems the quiet family hotel has changed over the years to a party place which is a shame as we enjoyed our stay here. Far enough away from the clubs/ pubs to not hear them from our hotel and not very far from the beach - walking distance.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
runcorn
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I like lloret de mar,however would not stay at this hotel,again,it seems regularly,invaded by lots of teenagers,that are very noisy,running around,banging and knocking on doors all,through out the night,i could not sleep in this envirornment even though we had a comfortable bed,others who had asked for another onto another floor ,was disappointed that it was even noisier,than the room they had moved fromyou can,t get away from it,however ,i did enjoy the food here,but i just felt so tired,it totally spoilt my holiday,has we left a coach pulled up with a coach load of more youngsters,was so glad to leave know you do get what you pay for but sleep is pretty basic,slept for a week when i got home,would visit lloret de mar again,but just not this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuncornGoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Rooms cleaned daily. Rust in the bath. Tiles broken on the balcony. Food ok for a weeks stay maybe! Full of kids 17- 20, Germans etc. We were on hen party and were very well behaved. Avoid if you have children. Really noisy, chanting from the balconies. Smoking pot. Staff ok, fed up really of all the complaints. I would be too. Veranda where you sit to drink needs a good clean. Pool clean, not big enough for the amount of rooms. Lifts were also a nightmare. Would not go back to lloret full stop.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Gran Casino Royal, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Customer;
We have seen that in some aspects we have not been able to live up to your expectations.
The intention of all the staff of the H. Top Gran Casino Royal is that all the clients who visit us leave with good impression of their holiday.
Of course the room are cleaned daily; Our Hotel may have many flaws and maybe is basic but the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable; it´s not the best Hotel ever, obviously, but it´s not really as horrific as some people are making out.
This hotel, like many others, is visited annually by a large quantity of young tourists from all European countries (Germany, Great Britain, France, Croatia, Macedonia, etc.). Lloret de Mar, it goes without saying, is famous worldwide for its nightlife and its discotheques, apart from its beaches, its sun, its surroundings, its restaurants and a long etcetera.
There are times when the average age of the tourists on the Costa Brava goes down and other times of the year when it goes up (June to ½ September, young´s)
To any Hotel is possible to go with family or children or older people; but the truth is one; and the truth is that Lloret de Mar It is not famous for its museums and architectural works; Lloret is famous worldwide for its nightlife and its discotheques, apart from its beaches, its sun, its surroundings, its restaurants and a long etcetera.
If you saw someone smoking marijuana, would have been good to report it at the front desk or the security guard.
Now it has become fashionable smoke shisha (scented herbs mixed with natural tobacco); Please do not confuse these odours with the marijuana odours !
The lifts work very well; believe me. What happens is that when the Hotel is full (in these months) everyone wants to take one of the 4 elevators at the same time (breakfast time, lunch time, dinner time.....), and then it is very difficult that go quickly to your call.
Logically, in Lloret and in the rest of The Costa Brava, there are hotels more family-friendly, small and quiet; maybe the profile of our hotel was not the most appropriate for your holiday.
The Costa Brava is not only Lloret de Mar; if you visit any website of hotels in Costa Brava (including ours in Platja D`Aro), you will find among of hotels, one that meets your expectations for future holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lloret de Mar
0.5 mi away
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
#79 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.6 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#71 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
6.9 mi away
H.TOP Planamar
H.TOP Planamar
#17 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
#85 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel MoreMar
Hotel MoreMar
#58 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.2 mi away
Els Llorers
Els Llorers
#9 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Gran Casino Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Gran Casino Royal

Property: H.TOP Gran Casino Royal
Address: C/ Esports s/n, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — H.TOP Gran Casino Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 807
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-Star H·TOP Gran Casino Royal hotel is a classic and well-known hotel located in the commercial heart of Lloret De Mar in Costa Brava and just under 5 minutes walking from the beach. The famous nightlife, restaurants, bars, shops and entertainment options can be found in the immediate surroundings.H·TOP Gran Casino Royal Hotel is an ideal choice for young couples and groups looking for a centrally located hotel within a young lively and friendly atmosphere and a good standard of accommodation. Offering different accommodation options the 807-room H·TOP Casino Hotel organize daily activities and evening entertainment. Guests of our hotel can use many services as swimming pool, garden, sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas, 24 hour Front Desk, housekeeping, currency exchange, multilingual staff, tour desk, fax & copy service, billard (charge), car hire, heating, air-conditioning (in restaurant, bar and reception area), playground for children, baby cots and chairs available, lift, safe boxes (charge), 24 hour medical service available (charge), souvenirs/gift shop, Wifi and internet corner (both with charge).Transfer to Girona or Barcelona Airport available (charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your H.TOP Gran Casino Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Gran Casino Royal Hotel Lloret De Mar
Htop Gran Hotel Royal
Casino Royal Lloret De Mar
H.TOP Gran Casino Royal Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing