We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so grand casino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
H.TOP Gran Casino Royal
Ranked #110 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a mystery deal with super escapes. (Don't ever book with this company they take on average 10-15 minutes to answer the phone and are based in India so have premium rate phone lines!!!)
Don't ever come here if you're in a couple and want to have a quiet time. From the moment we arrived it was a disappointment, the check in staff were disinterested and quite arrogant! We had requested a pool view and were placed at the back of the hotel.
A large group of young loutish boys (is the only way I can describe them) checked in at the same time as us and were very noisy. They were placed on the same floor as us and not just on the same floor but in the room! They then proceeded until early hours of the morning to run, shout and fight each other in the corridors and as there are no sound buffers under or around the doors, just big gaps, sound echoes through the corridors so we could just hear them shouting and running around. We had the worst nights sleep of our lives, the two separate beds were hard and uncomfortable and I was as the point of tears in early hours of the morning after asking the louts to be quiet and being spoken to very rudely. There was no sign of security managing this disruption either.
The room was very outdated and very dirty. The bathroom was DISGUSTING yellow/brown water coming out of both taps.
After that terrible night we asked to be moved as far away from that floor as possible. It must be said that the staff did apologise for this and moved us to what they said was the 'family' side of the hotel. The room was better in the sense that it at least had a pool view and the two separate beds were marginally more comfortable but they were at different heights. The bathroom was better...the water in the taps came out brown at first but soon ran clear. The shower was the best thing about the room it was extremely powerful and very hot!
It was still very disruptive throughout the night with doors slamming loudly in the corridor and one morning a man was slumped snoring loudly outside our room dribbling sick on himself we assume having been locked out of his own room. We told security and they said 'we know'!

The food for all inclusive was not the worst I've eaten but was not the best either. Choice is limited, If you like chips for breakfast then this is the place for you. Lots of sweaty meat, cheese and old pasta salad. The packed lunch service is a disgrace I was almost sick. Who ever made it must have had 'wet hands' because the bread roll was soggy, the sweaty meat and cheese was wrapped badly in wet tin foil, there was an apple with 'bits' stuck to it and a bottle of water. The only thing form the bag that I kept!

As for the bar it is a pain having to take your one glass back each time. The staff are friendly if you tip them but not so if you don't. The mixers are very cheap tasting and limited. Another downside is you can only have tea and coffee during certain hours and you can't take them to your room!

The location is good. It's central to the beach shops and next to the bus station.

The overall appearance of the hotel is outdated. It was probably very good in the 80's but since then has not been changed. The check in desk is very very slow and took ages to check in and out.

My partner and myself still enjoyed our holiday as we decided to embrace all the faults rather than let it ruin our time, as a mystery deal for the price we paid I'm not sure what I expected but it was supposed to be 3/4 stars and I feel we were conned on that one. next time will not make this mistake.

All in all if you are in a big group of people who just want to get drunk and make a lot of noise then this place will be tolerant of that, but if you are a decent human being then I would recommend spending that little bit more and going anywhere else but here!

Room Tip: All rooms have poor sound insulation so pray to god your not near any loud groups!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammywotsit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H.TOP Gran Casino Royal, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear customer;

We regret that your experience with us has been so negative as you say.
We had desired that your holiday between us had been to his liking or that at a minimum, to find positive points as she has been mentioned by other customers.
Of course we respect your comments, but, we cannot be in agreement 100 % with you.
Our Hotel may have many flaws, but as you can read in other comments our Hotel it´s very basic but the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable; it´s not the best Hotel ever, obviously, but it´s not really as horrific as a some people are making out.
Our chain of hotels, H. Top Hotels, has a total of 14 hotels of 3 and 4 stars with different characteristics, in different locations and of different dates of construction. Our hotel is one of the oldest and in spite of having our own maintenance team it is very difficult for us to compete with the other more modern hotels. All of our hotels, however, are periodically checked by inspectors from the Dept. of Tourism and they are who finally give their approval provided all the regulations are fulfilled.
Check-in time and Check-out, is marked by several points : number of people arriving at the same time ; hour of arrival ; collection of vouchers ; scanning of documents for the police ; payment of tourist fees ; etc , etc . We would like to be faster, but we have to comply with all the requirements.
With reference to the faults found with the room I can only say that we have a maintenance team who do the repairs as they are notified of you and so we do not understand why you did not communicate.
About the food; during these weeks we had an average of 780 clients, and about 50 % British and none of them complained during their stay about the food. We offer an international menu with two typically English dishes daily, which are appreciated by our clients. Is very difficult to please 780 people.
For example, the comments posted here by other customer´s :
“the food is brilliant! I can tell you are shocked, dear reader, but I can assure you it is true - plenty of choice (soups, salads, main courses, meat, fish, proper vegetables, pasta - plus chips and burgers - and plenty of nice desserts and fruit”.
To any Hotel is possible to go ; but the truth is one; and the truth is that Lloret de Mar It is not famous for its museums and architectural works ; Lloret is famous worldwide for its nightlife and its discotheques, apart from its beaches, its sun, its surroundings, its restaurants and a long etcetera.
Unfortunately there is sometimes noise or shouting generally made by some guest who on returning to his room after the bar closes does so in a lamentable state after consuming an excess of alcohol. This is not the responsibility of the hotel. Each person should know his limit and try not to pass it. Our responsibility is to try by all means to enable the guests who visit us to sleep in peace. This is why in our staff we have 3 security guards who are around different floors of the hotel and who control continually that there is peace and quiet on the floors. Occasionally there is some guest who makes more noise than normal when going up to his room but he is rapidly advised that he has to keep quiet. If this person does not take notice of the requests of the security staff, he is asked to leave the hotel.
On each floor, there are signs with the rules; and the Security Guard call the attention of disrespectful people (thankfully even other clients).
The education of some of our clients (not all thankfully) beyond our control, we are a Hotel, we
are not their teachers or their parents.
Logically, in Lloret there are hotels more family-friendly, small and quiet; maybe the profile of our hotel was not the most appropriate for your holiday.
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you for the reasons we discussed in your comments. The intention of all the staff of the H. Top Gran Casino Royal is that all the clients who visit us leave with good impression of their holiday.
We are sure that if you visit any website of hotels in Lloret de Mar or Costa Brava (including ours), you will find among of hotels, one that meets your expectations for future holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

998 - 1,004 of 2,542 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here with friends, I would never take my family here. The place is noisy and crowded. The food is Buffett style, and with everyone crowded at once, it makes it disgusting. Hardly anything tasted nice. The pool area is broken an unattended. Best thing about this place was the free all inclusive bar...just.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H.TOP Gran Casino Royal, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Customer;
Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback.
We regret that your experience with us has been so negative as you say.
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you for the reasons we discussed in your comments.
You comment that in the hotel there was a noise made by other clients staying here; we cannot say that this was not the case. Unfortunately there is sometimes noise generally made by some guest who on returning to his room after the bar or Discotheque closes does so in a lamentable state after consuming an excess of alcohol.
For a Hotel, it is impossible to know through a reservation and a name, such as a person or that education has received.
About the food; during these all year we had an average of 750 clients, and about 55 % British and none of them complained during their stay about the food. We offer an international menu with two typically English dishes daily, which are appreciated by our clients. Is very difficult to please 780 people.
On this same page you can find comments like: “the food is brilliant! I can tell you are shocked, dear reader, but I can assure you it is true - plenty of choice (soups, salads, main courses, meat, fish, proper vegetables, pasta - plus chips and burgers - and plenty of nice desserts and fruit”.
One man's meat is another man's poison.
The area around the pool, may be a bit old, but it is not broken.
For example; This year has been renovated and fully modernized showers in the area
The pool area is never unattended; It is permanently controlled by the gardener, by the waiter from the pool Bar, by Security guard and by cctv.
We had desired, that your holiday between us had been to his liking or that at a minimum, to find positive points as she has been mentioned by other customers.
Maybe the profile of our hotel was not the most appropriate for your holiday.
We are sure that if you visit our website, you will find among any of our hotels, one that meets your expectations for future holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was there with my friend, and for us this hotel was quite OK. We really enjoyed in all beauty of this city! The food was excellent, especially cakes. Poll is small, but good enough for good time... The beach is quite close to the hotel, 10 minutes, and I like it.

Room Tip: Room with 4 beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AysaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H.TOP Gran Casino Royal, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Aysa O:
Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback.
We are thankful for your good comments, that kind of comments maker our job easier.
Not everyone understands that Lloret is not a destination for relax 100 %.
As you can read in other comments; it´s not the best Hotel ever, but it´s not really as horrific as a some people are making out.
Lloret de mar is overall a great area, loads of good clubs and bars for every taste and really good fun if you want a Holiday where you relax in the day and have nights.
Thank you for your confidence in our hotels and our Staff, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Thankfully we used this place for an overnight stop on the drive down to southern Spain. I say thankfully because I thank my lucky stars we only had one night in this lame excuse for a hotel. The reception staff were rude and totally incompetent. The room was a pig sty, broken furniture, a tv with no remote, cigarette burns on one bed, paint stains on the other, no chrome whatsoever on any tap, riots going on in the corridors....it was just awful. As for the included breakfast, great if we wanted chips. It will be a cold day in hell before I'd book a night here again

Room Tip: Don't stay here, you will regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ncolbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here for a week in September and can honestly say I would go again. The staff in the hotel were great, really helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a cheap young and lively holiday this is it. Drinks great and hotel nice. Little dated in rooms but did the job. You get what you pay for at the end of the day! Hotel noisy at night as literally on the strip but this was perfect for us. The only thing I can honestly say that I couldn't cope with was the food, there was something that you could eat like chips and cobs but that is it. Very samey, only there a week but we saw the same things at least twice, there were chips at breakfast too! Other than that though for the money this hotel is perfect. Value for money! Don't listen to half of the bad reviews as I put myself off before I went reading some of them but it really isn't as bad as what some folk are making out! Hope this helps!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank ShaneVernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H.TOP Gran Casino Royal, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Customer;

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback.
We are thankful for your good comments, that kind of comments maker our job easier.
The intention of all the staff of the H. Top Gran Casino Royal is that all the clients who visit us leave with good impression of their holiday.
We appreciate your comments regarding our Hotel.
As you can read in other comments (and as it should be normal), the rooms are cleaned every day and bedding/towels changed daily.
Our Hotel it´s basic but the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable; it´s not the best Hotel ever, obviously, but it´s not really as horrific as a some people are making out.
Not everyone understands that Lloret is not a destination for relax 100 % .
If you want to visit again La Costa Brava, don't forget to visit our website; many of our hotels will satisfy your expectations for future vacation.
Thank you for your confidence in our hotels, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

was the first time i've been on an all inclusive holiday. We got our room for just over £200 for a week which is amazingly good for the money,
The free drinks is worth paying all the money really. The free food was okay on the first day but you get very sick of it very quickly. Although there is quite a large selection, you can't taste the difference between the onion, bacon and bread, it all taste like crap, but bearable.
The hotel is about a 2 minute walk from the clubs strip, a 2 second walk to the train station, and a 5 minute straight walk to the beach. Very good location.
I wouldn't say its a family hotel as there isn't much entertainment and is quite loud at night, but if your our with friends and don't give a crap then its all good.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Gran Casino Royal, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Customer ;
The first thing we want to do, is to thank you that you have trusted us.
Secondly, thank you to publish your review.
Any kind of comment, helps us to improve .
Honestly, we would have liked that your stay with us would have been 100% to your liking, but we understand that it is very difficult.
Our Hotel is in a excellent location, right next to the bus station and literally 5 mins walk away from the clubs and beach, one of the reasons that is the favourite of young people ; it´s basic but the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable.
Thank you for your confidence in our hotel and our Staff , hope to see you again.
Also ; If you visit our website we are sure that many hotels in our company they can offer you a wonderful futures holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

9th \ 16th oct 2013. Total sham from start to finish,dumped at the airport expected to locate the collection bus to hotel that' thanks to kind people i managed to find my way at 8pm at nite! then get dumped in the town and have to find the hotel? absolute joke then the dump is the only words i can find to descride this place! Nothing grand about it what so ever..i stayed here due to on the beach advised they had closed the hotel i had booked and paid for 5 days before i travelled.. i stood to lose 3\4 of my money to which wasnt cheep,beore we get the YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR, i didnt pay for holes in my bath or did i pay for chips and potatoe for breakfast... not a mention of spanish food to be found,unless you count the uneaten meat of peoples plates scooped into a seperate pile to be re united with the others on the hot plate! local tradition or just vile hotel? vile hotel,screaming all nite long drunken mothers screaching at there children..it was like a horrer scene from eastenders! serious awful place,lifts do not work properly,rude staff! just a nightmare,if you are looking for a booze holiday and want to sit and drink from morning till night and have the bronx going on around you then this is the place for you,if you want a nice relaxing holiday,nice pool area,pleasent people,staff,not expensive food but edable and looks nice,evening entertainment a couple of times a week,sleep at nite then DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL....dump dump dump...

Room Tip: Dont go near this hotel is the best tip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank never109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H.TOP Gran Casino Royal, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Customer;

We thank you for having published your comments, as customers come first for us.
These will help us to improve if possible
We are really sorry that your experience with us has not been as positive as we would have liked.
All the staff of the hotel, works very hard, to try to get people who are staying here, to spend a pleasant holiday. Unfortunately, we don't always get it.
With reference to the Transfer from Airport to Lloret or to the Hotel, we have nothing to say about this; as the Transfer are done by another company and not by ourselves.
As we have said in previous reviews by other customers; It is true that this hotel, like many others in Lloret de Mar, is visited annually by a large quantity of young tourists from all European countries (Germany, Great Britain, France, etc.). The truth is one; and the truth is that Lloret de Mar It is not famous for its museums and architectural works; Lloret is famous worldwide for its nightlife and its discotheques, apart from its beaches, its sun, its surroundings, its restaurants and a long etcetera.
Inevitably, the nightlife of Lloret de Mar, affects within the Hotel and its customers
There are times when the average age of the tourists on the Costa Brava goes down and other times of the year when it goes up.
Not everyone understands that Lloret is not a destination for relax 100 %.
Logically, in Lloret there are hotels more family-friendly, small and quiet.
Of course we respect your comments, but, we cannot be in agreement 100 % with you
There is no denying that the Hotel is old and we accept that it has some flaws, but as you can read in other comments about our Hotel; it´s basic but the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable.
Many of the comments that other customers have shared, they say that our food is pretty good and our staff friendly and helpful.
We regret that your experience with us has been so negative.
Maybe the profile of our hotel was not the most appropriate for your holiday.
Please, visit our web page; we have more hotels at your disposal than live up to your
expectations for future holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.6 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#79 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
2,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
#81 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,874 reviews
0.5 mi away
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
#76 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
#16 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Norai
Hotel Norai
#38 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Els Llorers
Els Llorers
#8 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Gran Casino Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Gran Casino Royal

Address: C/ Esports s/n, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range: $32 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — H.TOP Gran Casino Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 807
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-Star H·TOP Gran Casino Royal hotel is a classic and well-known hotel located in the commercial heart of Lloret De Mar in Costa Brava and just under 5 minutes walking from the beach. The famous nightlife, restaurants, bars, shops and entertainment options can be found in the immediate surroundings.H·TOP Gran Casino Royal Hotel is an ideal choice for young couples and groups looking for a centrally located hotel within a young lively and friendly atmosphere and a good standard of accommodation. Offering different accommodation options the 807-room H·TOP Casino Hotel organize daily activities and evening entertainment. Guests of our hotel can use many services as swimming pool, garden, sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas, 24 hour Front Desk, housekeeping, currency exchange, multilingual staff, tour desk, fax & copy service, billard (charge), car hire, heating, air-conditioning (in restaurant, bar and reception area), playground for children, baby cots and chairs available, lift, safe boxes (charge), 24 hour medical service available (charge), souvenirs/gift shop, Wifi and internet corner (both with charge).Transfer to Girona or Barcelona Airport available (charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your H.TOP Gran Casino Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Gran Casino Royal Hotel Lloret De Mar
Htop Gran Hotel Royal
Casino Royal Lloret De Mar
H.TOP Gran Casino Royal Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing