We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel in a dreamy location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Marta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Marta to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Marta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa de Santa Cristina s/n, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 126 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel in a dreamy location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We loved the wonderful location that this hotel enjoys. It is set in spacious grounds with access to the most beautiful beach. We had a sea front view room with balcony. It was spacious and well furnished in a traditional style. It offered comfortable bedding and very good amenities as one would expect .
The dinner at the restaurant was delicious and staff professional and efficient.
The fitness room was excellent with good quality new equipment. This is a quality traditional hotel in a privileged setting. Staff was polite and efficient but without the usual warmth and friendliness we have experienced in other hotels.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a sea room view. Well worth the extra as the experience is in enjoying the beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    53
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
37
81
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grayshott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Old School charm, that's what this place is about. It was beautifully done up although had a slightly 80's feel to some of it. That's not a bad thing as it felt likes the way it should have been. The service was good. There are other reviews giving the service a bashing. I thought it was all good, the English speaking was a minor issue if you got past that- they were all really nice and tried hard to please. I think service in a place like this is replicated if you treat the staff with a little respect.
What are my negatives. The cost of the food was considerable and there was no provision or reduction for kids. 55 euro's for a buffet breakfast (which was average) for 2 adults and 2 children, 1 being 1 years old the other 5 was very high. The room service food was not at all good for the price, very different from the main restaurant where the food was very good and could just about justify the prices. I say this owning a restaurant so something I know about.
This did dent the stay somewhat, not to the extent where we came away from it with negative thoughts. The overall stay was lovely, we had an excellent time and would definately come back.

Room Tip: We had the family room, a little more expensive but exceptional views and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Islas Baleares, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Most of the cyclists first choice as it has the best view of the seven hotels we stopped at. The beach below the hotel is a perfect slice of paradise. The restaurant offers fine dinning at a reasonable cost. The rooms are functional rather than luxuries. The staff are all just a little stale but efficient enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Santa Marta is a very comfortable, quiet hotel in an idyllic location on the doorstep of Lloret De Mar. The location is excellent with fantastic views out over the Med and a lovely beach.
The facilities retain a degree of old fashioned charm but are immaculately clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonnyUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
global
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at amazing Hotel Santa Marta with our two dogs and we loved it!! Thank you for a great experience:-)) Fantastic location right on the beach...we will miss the superb view of the bay. Hotel has a great gym decent restaurant and friendly staff. Rooms are very comfortable and hotel property is kept in immaculate order...would love to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tribble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

A great little hotel hidden away on the outskirts of Lloret / Blarnes. The hotel is perfect if you want to escape the crowds and simple relax and chill out in great surroundings.
I found the staff to be excellent - always attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
A few pointers:
- Go with sean view rooms - its worth the extra cost. The views are stunning and its great to sit out on the balcony
- The evening meal is a treat but a little pricey. Remember you are in a five star hotel so it is 5 star prices. However I would recommend at least one night dinning here. The food is of a high standard and the service excellent
- The pool / beach area is great. Towels are provided and there was never any issue with beds or space.
- It is a family location - so expect children / babies
- Visit Blarnes (local side). Its about an hours walk over the hill. We did it in flip flops and enjoyed it but we like walking!
- WiFi is free and great signal even by the pool area
- Sort your transfer out carefully. We got the shuttle from barcelona and it was a little traumatic. They dropped us in Lloret which is a cab ride away. Buses cant get down to the hotel as its on the side of a hill on a winding road
We will definetly visit again and thoroughly enjoyed our time here

Room Tip: Go with Sea view - its worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark468_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I celebrated his 30th bday by spending 3 nights at the Hotel Santa Marta.

We could not have asked for 2 more perfectly beautiful beach/ pool days. The beach, Santa Cristina, is amazing. The water is warm, clear, and safe, as it is a nice protected little cove. There are a couple of awesome little restaurants on either direction down the beach. I recommend a bowl of gazpacho and a glass of white wine as a nice light lunch on the beach. You can also rent lounge chairs and umbrellas if necessary.

The pool was also phenomenal with a beautiful view out over the ocean and ample lounge chairs and umbrellas. The hotel serves drinks, snacks and light lunch options down at the bar.

The fitness room was also great. Had everything we needed to get a good workout on vacation.

My only complaint was that for the price, the annex rooms weren't very nice. The beds were uncomfortable and things were kind of funky... but not bad. It is clear that you pay for the amenities and the setting more than for the room. Also, because we did not have a car, we ended up eating almost all of our meals at the hotel. The food at the hotel is good, but a bit pricey and limited. On our last night we took a cab in to Blanes and ate a crazy dinner at the fish market. It was a nice outing.

I think it's wonderful that Hotel Santa Marta is a few kilometers away from all the craziness of town. It's a perfect little getaway and is so awesome and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mgk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lloret de Mar
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
#10 of 126 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
16.3 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sant Pere del Bosc Hotel & Spa
Sant Pere del Bosc Hotel & Spa
#4 of 126 in Lloret de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rigat Park & Spa Hotel
Rigat Park & Spa Hotel
#27 of 126 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Guitart Monterrey
Hotel Guitart Monterrey
#15 of 126 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 649 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
#11 of 126 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Marta

Property: Hotel Santa Marta
Address: Playa de Santa Cristina s/n, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#4 Spa Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Santa Marta 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE CHARM OF PRIVILEGED ENCLAVE THIS The hotel is in a unique natural setting, surrounded by 7 hectares of forest and direct access to a beach of unique beauty as is the beach of Santa Cristina. The populations of Blanes and Lloret de Mar hotel is located equidistant from 3 km and Barcelona, is just 70 km and an hour's drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santa Marta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marta Hotel
Hotel Santa Marta Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing