We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok.”
Review of Montanamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montanamar Hotel
Ranked #57 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a 4 day break on 7th September. The receptionist was very helpful. The safe was a steep 19 euros for 4 days. Very expensive. On arrival we had A euro a day tax to pay aswel. We were given room keys to room 304, we went up and someone's things were in room. My husband went straight back down and the receptionist said sorry she was on her way up to tell us. Good job we are honest people.
The room was clean and tidy. There was aircon in room but wasn't cold think that was extra to pay for. The railings in balcony was very low. Bathroom needed an update.
Breakfast was crap. Toast, cereal, bread cobs, crosssionts, meat, cheese and a hot plate with streaky bacon one day and on another day hot dog sausages chopped in pieces. Not very good. Didn't have the night meal.
Pool area I never seen them clean it, in need of a good makeover. Went to the toilets and there was a leaking sink and was in an inch of water. Not good.
They did offer free wifi. That was good.
On day of deaparture we asked them to call a taxi and was charged a euro. It's always been free in other hotels.
It was a 10 min walk to beach. If you walked along sea front it was a 30 minute walk to main bars. Bit to far. It was quite at night until the last night as we went back at 11 as had to be up early for flight and did hear a lot of noise.
Overall it is a cheap budget hotel so you can't expect it to be brill. I wouldn't return but that's me. We had a good four day break. It was too much out the way, and pool area horrid.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The3M's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc C, Propietario at Montanamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015
Google Translation

Sentimos no haver estado a la altura de sus espectativas, tomamos nota de todo lo que nos comenta y actuaremos en consecuencia para poder mejorar nuestro hotel .Muchas gracias por ayudarnos a ver las cosas que no funcionan y así poder mejorarlas.

La dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Montanamar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 88 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

just got back from a week at the montanamar and had a great time.
arrived about 11pm and was greeted by a lovely gent,very friendly.
the room was a bit basic but really clean and so was the bathroom.television and air conditioning in room,nice balcony over looking gardens.cleaner came every day and did the room.
cant really comment on the food because we only had breakfast,which was typical continental,ham cheese,croisssants etc.
the whole hotel was really clean and all the staff especially friendly and helpful.
the hotel is located a little way out of town,which suited us,but only a 7 minute walk to beach and 10 minutes to the bars although you pass some nice bar cafes on your right hand side.
now to my only complaint,the pool area was great always nice and clean and very private but no mattresses for the sun beds.the hotel cant reall y expect people to lie on the beds all day without mattresses.a great budget hotel made a great base and we would certainly stay again

Room Tip: ask for a room at the the rear and not the on the ground floor
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank normalnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc C, Propietario at Montanamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015
Google Translation

Todo el staff del hotel Montañamar le agradece su comentarios, nos alegramos mucho que le gustaran todos los aspectos del hotel que comenta, seria un honor para todos nosotros vovler a verlo alojado en nuestro hotel

La direccion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

it is true that it doesnt deserve 3 stars as everything was extremely clean but old. rooms are rennovated and airconditioned. everyday lady comes to your room and clean it. food was good but not great. if you eat everything you will find something for you. the best was the staff, very nice people, caring about you. what was not cool is that the hotel isnt in the centre but if you want to rest it was fine.

Room Tip: you should ask for a room with balcony and nice view. beacuse they have rooms in basement. our room...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mitkyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc C, Propietario at Montanamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su opinión, agradecemos que comente que la relación calidad precio ha sido de su agrado y que haya encontrado a nuestro personal servicial, trabajamos cada dia para que esto ocurra. Gracias otra vez

La dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just returned from a short break in high season, we had read some bad reviews and booked at short notice so not sure what to expect however it wasn't as bad as we thought with good and bad points. The staff are very friendly and the bar area is very good value and well stocked with plenty of choice of drinks - hubby couldn't get enough of the toasted sandwiches and the cortado coffee did a good job of waking us up in the mornings! We stayed in room 408 which is under the swimming pool and subsequently the corridor did smell a bit damp however the rooms were cleaned every day and as we only reallly slept there it wasn't too much of an issue. The room itself although clean was a little tired eg holes in curtains and old box style tv with only one English Channel! The beds were comfy however sleep quality was interrupted by lots of noise from neighbours both sides (thin walls / slamming doors) and staff dragging sun loungers across the pool area above the room in the morning. All the staff were very very friendly and helpful and seemed to work all hours nothing seemed too much trouble which was nice! We have stayed in Lloret twice before and both times had been quite central so we had concerns about this being out of town however it was only 10 - 12 mins to the beach front and another 10 mins on the flat to get into the heart of the clubs and bars or approx 10 euros by cab. We used the pool area on our first day which made a nice change from the crowded beach it was a lot quieter and no rush for the sun beds! We booked on a room only basis but did pay for breakfast on our last day it was ok if you were happy with continental, plenty of choice for meat and bread however no full English! Over all this is a lovely small family run hotel and although it could do with the odd bit of tlc here and there it is very good value for money and the staff more than make up for it, we would stay again however would possibly look for another room due to noise one final tip is to take insect repellant we have stayed on the Costa Brava several times and never had an issue but possibly due to gardens and being slightly further away from the beach we all got bitten several times! A great holiday and I hope this review doesn't give a bad impression just trying to be helpful!

Room Tip: I wold suggest not the rooms below the pool as mentioned above re noise Try the bar - great service...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cashaxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc C, Gerente at Montanamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión, nos complace oir que el personal ha sido cortés y le ha ayudado siempre que usted lo necesitava, intentamos que el bar tenga la mayor variedad de bebidas para satisfacer la demanda de todos nuestros clientes de todo el mundo, le queremos informar que este año hemos canviado las cortinas del 4 y 5 piso y hemos puesto televisiones de pantalla plana con canales internacionales.Nos congratula mucho que la relación calidad-precio haya sido de su agrado.

La dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed here last week with 4 other young friends, we were placed on the basement floor with allot of other young teenagers which we thought was to keep noise to other guests quiet, the rooms were okay for what we paid although there was no sign of air con which is mentioned in other rooms and the balcony was much smaller than others on higher floors. The rooms weren't really modern but the hotel was kept very clean with a maid coming round daily. The pool area was lovely and big enough for everyone whilst always being kept clean! The food was good but was basic things such as chips, pasta, salad , paella and for breakfast cereal and croissants and so we only ate there one night but other places in the town are cheap enough!. The staff were great, they were very friendly and helpful upon arrival and throughout ,and when we returned from nights out in the early morning night staff easily unlocked the door for us. The food within the bar was also good and so we usually had lunch there as it wasn't too dear either! The location is great its only a five ten min walk to the sea and then the center of Lloret, nightlife was great although mainly German teenagers. Overall good hotel and was worth the amount we paid!!

Room Tip: If you're wanting a balcony to be able to sit on ask to not be on the basement floor (-3)
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc C, Propietario at Montanamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado cliente agradecemos mucho su opinion y nos congratula que el hotel haya satisfecho sus perspectivas, intentamos que todoas las instalaciones de nuestro establecimiento esten acorde a su categoria y agradecemos mucho que la piscina,bar,personal y comida haya sido de su agrado. Esperamos verle pronto.

La dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

we booked this as a budget family break to Spain!! for the price we paid cracking!!
Two adults and a teenage daughter, location is amazing it was out of the main town a 10 min walk to the beach and shops, so much quiter than the hotels in town. We had room 405 which was one room 3 beds no air con but as this was 3 floors up we felt safe to leave the door open at night for a breeze, the staff are amazing you can feel its a family hotel from when you arrive, they made us breakfast bags for our journey home :) food was ok something different every day we didn't always eat in as we like to go out, if your not keen on the food don't panic at the bottom of the hill turn left salerso cocktail bar do amazing cocktails and you can get a burger and chips for 3.50 or bottom of the hill turn right keep going to almost the end and the orient express is a fab English bar, mac donalds is just down the road from the orient express along with subway!!
we only struggled on our first day to get a sunbed at that we first out :) pool area was clean.
The whole hotel was clean, the cleaner came every day to clean our room fresh towels.
Would go again :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc C, Propietario at Montanamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2015
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por compartir con todos nosotros su opinión, nos alegra mucho que la tranquila ubicación de nuestro hotel le haya gustado así como el personal y los otros aspectos que nos comenta. En nuestro hotel llevamos mas de 30 años trabajando para ofrecer la mejor relación calidad-precio.

La direccion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just back from 7 days stay at afore mentioned hotel.like many on this site i checked the reviews and was some what dismayed!!! and had my reservations.

On arival to the hotel at 11 pm at night with my 8yr old son imagine how delighted i was to find a meal awaiting us and very friendly staff.

our room was spotless compelety refurnbished air conditioning free and free flat screen tv with english channels kids and adults.and had a view over the hotel gardens quite and breath takingly beautiful.

food was normal spanish fair continential break fast and salad one meat and one fish option at night but in abundance and dessert was adequate some type of fruit ice cream or jelly/sponge.

also a dinner come bar area for drinks and snacks good prices.

internet access tho free wi fi spot also.

pool is also adequate not that big,but kept clean......sun loungers in ambundance.

the location for me as i was on my own with a child was great very quite and relaxed,5 mins from super market and 10 mins from beach.....15 mins from main bus station where we jumped on a bus every day and explored.... prices were good for return tickets and ran every 30 mins or so to blanes,tossa de mar,you could get a free bus to marine land and water world and go karts.

there is also a bus that takes to you up to bareclona and girona. and barcelona air port which is a new service.

i found my holiday fantastic and hats off to all staff who work at the montanmar hotel in lorette as we were made to fell very welcome and wanted for nothing.should be up graded to 4 star.

Room Tip: Back of building view across garden beautiful,full of sunshine. other wise you may get a room on...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weedee1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc C, Propietario at Montanamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado cliente tal y como nos comenta cuando un cliente que tiene régimen de media pensión llega tarde a nuestro hotel siempre intentamos dejar un plato frío ( ensalada,fruta y embutido) para quer el cliente no pierda su cena ese dia. Muchas gracias por valorar tantos aspectos positivamente de nuestro establecimiento, es un orgullo que haya estado tan agusto en nuestro hotel y por supuesto el placer siempre es nuestro.

La dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel MoreMar
Hotel MoreMar
#63 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Norai
Hotel Norai
#42 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Athene
Hotel Athene
#71 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mundial Club Hotel
Mundial Club Hotel
#59 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Armonia
Hotel Armonia
#91 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonsol Lloret
Bonsol Lloret
#48 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montanamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montanamar Hotel

Address: 150 Carretera de Tossa S/N | Apartado de correos 131, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Price Range: $39 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Montanamar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Montanamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montanamar Hotel Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing