We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food is wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rosman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Lion Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosman
Reviewed June 20, 2014

My family and I came for dinner and were very, very happy. Their French onion soup is the best we've ever had. The steaks were excellent, the chicken was very good, too, the grilled vegetables were lovely and fresh, and the salads were colorful and full of good things you only usually see at home. We will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinajennybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

I was over from England visiting my daughter. Some friends had recommended The Old Red Lion Inn so a party of us booked for Saturday 24 the May. Out of the five steaks we ordered four had to go back as they were overdone and tasteless. The meals were not taken away, just new steaks were cooked for two and the plates from two other customers were taken taken away and returned complete. A few minutes later a slug crawled out from my daughters salad, everyone was immediately put off their food. The proprietor did not come and apologise, the waitress was left to deal with it. There was a small compensation but no apologies. Just one meal was deducted from the bill. Our friends were very embarassed and said they will never go there again! It was a shame as the Inn is in a lovely setting, but this did not compensate for the slug.

Room Tip: We only went for a meal.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank pauline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I've known the owner for a long time now and was so excited when he decided to purchase the Inn, as this was his childhood home!

My family and I stay there every time we go home to visit, and I wouldn't have it any other way.

The Red Lion is family/kid friendly, dog friendly, and one of the most awesome places in WNC! The music is always incredible and supports local artists. The food is delicious (including a new menu) and is also supportive of local businesses.

Can't wait to get back home again!

Room Tip: Leave the windows open and sleep to the sound of the stream outside! Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We know the owner and when we found out he had purchased this property we promised to come to dinner. We were not disappointed. We ate on the deck where you can hear the brook below. Mark Yaxley, a local guitarist, provided very nice music throughout the evening.
They do not have menus. The waitress recited the fare-it's mostly chicken, with one duck and one fish (swordfish) and one beef (filet) when we went. I ordered the duck. It was a bit tough but very tasty-it wasn't tough enough to be bad, but just a tad. The swordfish and beef were quite tasty. The salads were fresh and arranged nicely. I had the onion soup which was quite tasty. The dessert menu was limited, mostly crème type pies and ice-cream or sherbet. Overall a very nice meal. We would come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here in May for our 20th anniversary. When we checked in the room they gave us was damp and musty smelling and had mold on the curtains. We asked for a different room and after a 45 minute wait (not sure why since there are only 4 or 5 rooms) they gave us a different room. We changed quickly and went to dinner. Dinner at the inn was actually pretty good with a nice jazz guitarists. We returned to our room and as we got ready for bed we noticed the garbage had never been emptied and contained disgusting toiletries from the previous guest. There were also no lightbulbs in the bathroom and mold was on the bathroom curtains--we had to use a flashlight. As we laid down for bed we looked at the ceiling and there was a damp spot with mold. To make things worse it poured down rain that night and the roof leaked into our room all night. By morning pieces of the ceiling were falling to the floor revealing more mold in the ceiling and water and white mushy ceiling on the floor. (the mattress was also lumpy and old and the bed was slanted)

The next morning at breakfast we told the owner of these problems and he said he would get us another room. We went on a day hike for the afternoon believing we would have a better room. When we returned the "better" room was the first room we were shown with musty carpet and moldy curtains. We told him this was acceptable and wanted a refund. He said he couldn't operate the credit card machine and could only refund us for one nights stay with a check. We had to pack up and find a hotel in Brevard.

As luck would have it we ran into the waitress and hostess (separately) while eating in Brevard. They both said the owner knew the rooms were bad and believed he could "put a fancy bed spread on them and they would be fine".

The bottom line is this inn should not be open. The roof is leaking and the rooms are damp, musty and full of mold. Simply put, this inn is unsanitary. The owner needs to do some major repairs and also learn how to run a b&b. I should have known better when I saw the first room. STAY AWAY

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BeckyBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our dinner on the deck, overlooking the babbling stream, was outstanding. The food was outstanding, eventhough, the restaurant just opened several weeks prior to our visit. The hospitality was impecable and attention to details of our meal was outstanding. We were greeted with warmth and welcome. The owner was present and allowed us to choose location of our table. We were disappointed that they had received the state ABC license and could not sale alcoholic beverages. When we asked for wine, we were told there was none for sale. But, they offered us complimentary house wine that was most tasty and very affordable!

Thank you, Red Lion Inn, for a warm and cozy evening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gkm0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Lion Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn and Restaurant

Address: 4259 Pickens Hwy, Rosman, NC 28772-9776
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Rosman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosman
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing