We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“cozy place, perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ai Lumi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ai Lumi
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Trapani
Certificate of Excellence
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“cozy place, perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nice rooms in historical palace right in the center...
Maybe the bathroom was not well manteined... but the rooms are really clean and cozy.
TV and WiFi...fridge only in the double room, not in the single.
The staff and the owners are really nice, friendly, helpful and professional... thank you!
Nice breakfast! Totally homemade...try the orange marmalade :p!!!
For the guests discount in the good restaurant

Ha soggiornato in Settembre 2013

Room Tip: they have a single room very small on the top, no air cond and no fridge...if you want to save money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danibaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    115
    40
    18
    14
See reviews for
49
144
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms in historical palace right in the center...
Maybe the bathroom was not well manteined... but the rooms are really clean and cozy.
TV and WiFi...fridge only in the double room, not in the single.
The staff and the owners are really nice, friendly, helpful and professional... thank you!
Nice breakfast! Totally homemade...try the orange marmalade :p!!!
For the guests discount in the good restaurant

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielabafunno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Not the most modern of rooms, but with a lot of Italian charm.
Friendly owners with a listening ear and good explanations.

The restaurant Ai Lumi is okay, but make sure to book your table in advance.
By 21 hrs all the tables are gone.

Breakfast is good, only difficult to find a spot in the shade.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SergeTript
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This B&B in the very heart of the centre of Trapani in a very old noble palazzo. The arched entrance from Corso Vittorio Emanuele enters into a charming courtyard full of plants and character. The Vittorio Emanuele street is closed to traffic, but parking is avialable in Viale Regina Elena (the road in front of the Port). Parking in Trapani is not free...the blue boxes mean you have to pay a ticket of 0,80 cents per hour. Tip: At the end of Viale Regina Elena in front of the Coast Guard building, parking is free, if you are lucky finding a space. Also beware that in Viale Regina Elena,even if you have paid your ticket, in the early hours of the morning (5:30 - 07:00) you cannot park as they clean the streets. Take close attention to days and hours when parking is prohibited. If you make a mistake the local police tow your car away and you have to pay a fine and extra to get your car back.
Francesca and Riccardo are excellent hosts at Ai Lumi B&B. And the other members of staff are also very friendly and always available for help, tips and any assistance.
I believe that value for money wise this is one of the best B&B's in Trapani.
I've been coming here for business trips to Trapani for many years now, and I've always enjoyed my stays.
Wi Fi (contrary to other reviews) works fine, actually better than many 4 star hotels I've visited. I work in internet every evening when I'm here ... never had a problem.
As Ai Lumi B&B is in this amazing palazzo, there is the problem of stairs. The rooms are on 4 different levels and there is no lift (elevator). So if this is a problem ask for a room on the first floor. The staff will carry all your luggage to the room.
All Ai Lumi guests have a 10% discount at the Ai Lumi Tavernetta Restaurant, where you can enjoy a typical Trapanese meal, and also many dishes originating from the Italian Continent. The restaurant is a little expensive, compared to other equivalent places in Trapani (In the recent years dozens of very good restaurants have opened. Also just around the corner you will find the Calvino Pizzeria...probably one of the best pizzas in the world...) but it is really worth trying. Alfredo, who runs the restaurant, will make you feel very welcome and suggest the specialities of the day.
Breakfast is served from 07:00 - 11:00, great for business trips and also for holidayers. The quality and variety of breakfast is excellent. Manuel, who usually serves breakfast does an excellent Cappuccino , Espresso and American coffee.
I heartily suggest this B&B if you are visiting Trapani... I am sure you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: First floor to avoid stairs Upper floorrs have some great apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenSicily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAUSA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a reasonably priced B&B, for a suite with a fridge, but with many compromises. First of all, the WIFI only works if you sit outside on the stairs outside your room, and 2ndly, the stairs-- many, many stairs, unforgiving with luggage-- tho they have a crane basket to move luggage, it is not readily offered,
Then there is the included breakfast, --same , boring, 1 cheese, 2 breads and 2 cakes each day, with surly waiters who give you the look of death if you order a second coffee,

All THat said, the staff in the office were nice and got us a good taxi service to the airport, and for dinner, this restaurant has good food, especially the steaks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanCYardleyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a lovely hotel consisting of very spacious apartment-like rooms located around a wonderful courtyard. Our room was very big and included a kitchen, 2 sitting areas, the bedroom, bath and a balcony over the pedestrian area. Cold water bottles were provided complimentary in our fridge in the kitchen. We truly felt like this was a home away from home for the 2 days we stayed there. The location is perfect on a pedestrian street and next to a very good restaurant with the same name where the complimentary breakfast is served. Don't miss a dinner there; it is very much worth it. The staff was extremely friendly. We would definitely come and stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkrusej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiccazzurra, Proprietario at Ai Lumi, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for the nice words you spent on our B&B. They are very import for us. We hope to see you again in a very short time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is centrally located on the main pedestrian street. Francesca was helpful in too many ways to enumerate. Lovely breakfasts provided in charming restaurant next door which gave discounts on other meals. We had a suite with full kitchen, living room, bedroom, and bath for the price of a room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiccazzurra, Proprietario at Ai Lumi, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
What should I say? I am WONDERFULLY embarassed. It was a pleasure to have you here. You have been very kind and therefore it comes easier to be helpful....We hope to see you again at Ai Lumi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trapani hotels
0.2 mi away
Badia Nuova Residence
Badia Nuova Residence
#3 of 18 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence La Gancia
Residence La Gancia
#1 of 18 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trapani In
Hotel Trapani In
#2 of 18 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo dei Corsari
Palazzo dei Corsari
#15 of 18 in Trapani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Chiavi di San Francesco Residence
0.1 mi away
Il Cortile Fiorito srl
Il Cortile Fiorito srl
#9 of 18 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ai Lumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Lumi

Property: Ai Lumi
Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 71/75, 91100, Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Trapani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Budget Places and Priceline so you can book your Ai Lumi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Lumi Trapani, Sicily
Ai Lumi Hotel Trapani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing