We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent appartment”
Review of Gafada 2

Gafada 2
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gafada 2
Ranked #40 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Trapani
Lithuania
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very decent appartment”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Gafada 2 consists of 2 renovated buildings located opposite each other on the narrow street in the old town. Our appartment was spotlesly clean, had tiled floors, quite spacious, small kitchen with necessary utensils, bedroom with comfortable double bed, bathroom with washmachine, essential toiletries, good towels. Quite small TV with lots of Italian and international channels. Good quality free wi-fi. Parking on the street, not sure about payment. Friendly owner, speaks little English, his
wife speaks more.
Only drawback is that door to small balcony faces same balcony 3 metres away across the street. And they should change the bulbs- white walls, floor tiles, illumination bit like in surgery room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SauliusAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed for three nights in the apartment, and were pleased with it in general. Clean, comfortable, but has no amenities for tea. I understand that Italians drink coffee, but a kettle would be nice.
And the towels were way too thin after being used for a long time.
Overall impression - a nice and modern apartment in an authentic Sicilian atmosphere.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Natalia_Kobzareva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have stayed here for 3 nights in a single room. I was glad it had all the facilities and had a wonderful position to enter the city or go by bus to ...
It is clean and the personnel is very helpful. Knowing that i ended up in Trapani after travelling around the island i booked here as well for another great stay at Gafada!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 907PaulB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The apartment on the second floor was clean and comfortable and the owners very friendly and helpful. It is located in the middle of the old town, just a short walk from bars and restaurants. There is a small supermarket (turn left out of alley) just a couple of minute's walk that is open into the evening (beware of afternoon closures of most shops) as well as a larger SPAR shop about 10 Minutes away. Best aspects of the apartment - comfortable, quiet, nice shower and right in the middle of the old town. Worst aspects - the stairs up to the apartments are very narrow and steep. I can imagine this would be a very poor choice of accommodation if you had any ambulatory issues!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived in Trapani late on a holiday Monday and were taken to Gafada even though we had booked to stay in Gafada 2. We were told there was a problem with the plumbing. It transpired that we had been double booked. I hate being taken for a mug. Anyhow we stayed one night in Gafada and next afternoon transferred over to Gafada2 what a pain. Well at least we could settle in. On entry to the apartment I saw the previous occupants luggage still there that's when I realised That they hadn't exactly been honest with us.
The apartment is small basic but scrupulously clean. It is well located and quite quiet being off the main road. I was disappointed by the lack of equipment: no drinking glasses, no wine glasses, no tin opener no chefs knife etc. these issues were resolved by the exceptionately friendly owners.
I would recommend this apartment but bear in mind it is basic perhaps by the end of the season the equipment issues will have been resolved. I suppose you get what you pay for a small apartment with no comfortable seating but clean an well positioned.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment with basic equipment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Room: The apartment was great. Clean and modern and felt new! Everything was very clean and modern including bathroom and kitchen.

Cleanliness: I would rate cleanliness Excellent

Location: Not far from the port, but very difficult to find. It was in a maze of narrow streets, but once I found it it was ok. I had to ask a few people where the street was. The street looks sketchy, but the whole apartment building is clean and very modern.

Review: This apartment was great. It did not have a washer/dryer as advertised in the profile. It was modern and safe. The neighbor across the street was playing games so loud one night it was like hearing a battle going on in a movie theater, but once I closed the bedroom door, that blocked the sound out. The gal who checked me in was very kind and helpful and it helped to be able to email her with any question like when the stove didn't work, and she came over to check it right away.

The bathroom was clean and modern and up to date.

Value for Money: I would rate it Excellent on value for money. Very happy with this place even for a short stay.

Overall Experience: I would rate it Excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_beacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed only one night and had a spacious room, with air condition, TV and clean bathroom.
Our room was on the ground floor which could be noisy because it is close to bars and restaurants. If you stay there ask for rooms in the upper floors or to the back side of the building. Anyway, we had a great stay and can recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosimania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trapani hotels
0.1 mi away
Al Residence San Domenico
0.2 mi away
Residence La Gancia
Residence La Gancia
#1 of 18 in Trapani
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gafada
Gafada
#36 of 117 in Trapani
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Terrazze Villanova Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Marina Bay Aparthotel
Marina Bay Aparthotel
#3 of 117 in Trapani
245 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Caliu
Bed and Breakfast Caliu
#1 of 6 in Marausa
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gafada 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gafada 2

Property: Gafada 2
Address: Via Orfanotrofio 7/8, 91100, Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Trapani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gafada 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gafada 2 Trapani, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing