We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Al Solito Posto

Al Solito Posto
Ranked #16 of 399 Restaurants in Trapani
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We spoke to local and foreign visitors in the resturant. Some said it is one of the best restaurants in Trapani. It didn't disappoint me at all. Beautiful food. Look nice, Taste even better than it looks. I had a good time absolutely. We went there on a Friday lunch though. We had good service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank europaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    266
    87
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steer clear of this one!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

A restaurant that is surviving on its name, and definitely not by its food or hospitality. We had to wait 20 minutes before even getting some water, when we tried to flag down the waiter he gave us the 'yes, yes' dismissive hand gesture before helping other guests. The first course of pasta was good, when it finally arrived, but the second course, a fillet of beef in pepper sauce for 12 €, was one of the worst we've ever seen. We ordered it medium, and what we got was an overcooked piece of grey wood in an even more unappetizing sauce. The salad we ordered as a side was a joke, dead tomatoes etc. When we asked for the bill without even having eaten more than a bite of our food, the same arrogant waiter just said 'OK?' with a nod to our food, came back after 5 minutes of ignoring us, and then presented us with the bill. No questions asked of why we didn't touch the food. We paid the rather steep 55€ bill, and for the first time in years we didn't leave a penny in tip. Horrible restaurant, do not believe Lonely Planet!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank norwegian_travelless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, service could be better”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Very good food at this popular place in the newer part of town, and a good wine list (not so common in Trapani, despite the excellent food almost everywhere). Service a bit unfriendly.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank suiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Authentic Trapani experience”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

While the notice on the menu is "the menu may suffer variations" the quality of food does not suffer from modifications based on what is fresh and in season. Simply prepared and absolutely delicious.
As another reviewer noted, the wait staff are a bit brusque, but consistently so, both to the devoted locals and the occasional tourist. The restaurant was recommended by a local "foodie" friend and it absolutely did not disappoint.
Sit in the back if possible and watch the local color. We would not have been surprised to see Marlon Brando walk in.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BelleCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good food . scary waitress”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The food was excellent - timbale of sardines unbelievably good. Only problem was the service especially the waitress who looked like she was going to beat us up. We got out alive and still remember how good the food was. Be brave and try it out!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacducs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Solito Posto also viewed

Trapani, Province of Trapani
Trapani, Province of Trapani
 
Trapani, Province of Trapani
Trapani, Province of Trapani
 

Been to Al Solito Posto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing