We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Taste of Trapani” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B La Veranda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B La Veranda
Ranked #18 of 178 Trapani B&B and Inns
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Taste of Trapani”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Situated about 30mins walk between the port of Trapani and Erice, this B&B is a fantastic find. We arrived late at night, and the owner, Mino, kindly collected us from the bus stop. Our lovely high ceilinged room(actually more like an apartment) was spacious, very clean and came fully equipped with a kitchen, fridge and en suite bathroom.

Mino is a really kind person and a fantastic host. He is a great source of knowledge on where to eat and what to see and very helpful at checking public transport information (not always the easiest to negotiate in Sicily!)

Breakfast is a sweet treat of delicate pastries from the local pasticceria, fresh fruit, slices of salami and prosciutto and a superb selection of home-made jams, including lemon, orange & cinnamon and pineapple. In addition, Mino's mother makes a delicious tart called crostata, bursting with berries!

We only intended staying 3 nights here but loved it so much that decided to return for an extra two. The locality is interesting in itself - a warren of side streets with independent shops whose owners always seemed ready with a smile and keen to chat. It has a real sense of community, with lots of old people sitting outside chatting and children playing. Despite this, street noise isn't an issue late at night and we slept very well.

Unusually for a B&B, our room was cleaned and the bed made up every day - something we appreciated, as we did a lot of walking and usually returned back early evening. Also, little touches like complimentary bottles of water left in the fridge (and maps left out for perusal) were great extras.

There's a lot to see and do in the area of Trapani and the apartment is a great base from which to explore. Don't miss the churches in Trapani's old town, the azure waters of the Egadi islands and the mysterious medieval town of Erice (well worth the cable car trip alone, for its wonderful views over the bay.)

On our day of departure, Mino offered to drive us to the airport and en route, gave us a mini tour of the surrounding Saline - the salt marshes outside Trapani. When we tried to offer him payment, he graciously refused (even though the airport is about 10 miles away!)

Although Mino doesn't speak a lot of English, he still managed to convey warmth and generosity. For 50€ a night, it is exceptional value for money and a true taste of Sicilian hospitality. Molte grazie Mino!

Room Tip: We slept on the ground floor which is like an apartment, complete with kitchen, fridge and living ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisyfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    30
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
99
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
393 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 687 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This place is spectacular and a real find.

Located halfway between Trapani’s port and the Erice funicular (a 25 minute walk to each, but the B&B provides bikes and there are many buses), it is just one block from Trapani’s main boulevard.

The service is phenomenal. Mino, who runs the place, is a treasure of knowledge about sites and restaurants. He truly has a generous heart and went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. He was patiently waiting for us when we arrived and I witnessed him doing the same for other guests. He even gave us a lift to the port to make sure we didn’t miss a boat departure and gave another guest a lift to Erice when the funicular was closed due to wind. He does all this voluntarily and with pure generosity. Keep in mind that he speaks almost no English, so be prepared.

Breakfast was varied, plentiful and awesome. Breads, meats, cheeses, cakes, pastries, fruit, yogurt, coffee, etc. Everything was fresh and there was always something different: special pastries hot from the bakery, cherries, peaches, etc.

The room was huge (we got the one with the balcony and en-suite bathroom) and had plenty of storage room, AC, a desk, TV, magazines and maps. It is cleaned daily. The bed was very comfortable, despite the fact that the furniture is in an antique style. The balcony had a small clothesline, suitable for 2 or 3 articles at a time. Wi-fi is offered throughout and was sometimes spotty. The only thing that could make the room better would be a mini-fridge and a safe.
The bathroom was clean and functional, with a stand-up shower and good water pressure.

The surrounding residential neighbourhood has a real authentic flair to it, with the old men hanging out on their front porches talking, yet there were plenty of really good restaurants in the area. There is also plenty of free street parking available. The bikes and locks that are provided are a great little extra.

I’ve stayed in hipper, more luxurious places: but at 45€ per night/per room, this is one of the best values and best service I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: The main room with a balcony and en-suite bathroom was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stinz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My mother and I spent 3 nights at La Veranda.
We arrived around midnight and had organized a taxi pick up from the airport through La Veranda and everything went very smoothly.
The rooms are very spacious and clean.The owner does not speak much English, but he was very helpful and has all the information you need regarding ferries and buses.
On our last day there he even drove us to the port to catch the ferry to Favignana, which was really nice of him!
Breakfast was delicious-there was a huge spread with local products.
It is about a 20 minute walk to the old town and about 15 minutes to the cable car which takes you up to Erice.
We really enjoyed our stay and I would recommend this to anyone staying in Trapani!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caralina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We reserved this B&B on the basis of excellent reviews found on the internet. I reserved by email and we even got a discount. The B&B is situated at 20 minutes walking distance from the old center, on a quiet street where we had no problems to find parking for our rented car. Once we arrived Mino showed us around, chated with us about the main things that we could do during our stay and recommended a resto since we were hungry. We got a very nice, big room, with ensuite bathroom. Just perfect! Clean is the word of this B&B. Breakfast was included in the price and it was good, both sweet (the Italian way) & salty (the way we prefer it ;))). It was such a pleasure to drink every morning the real Italian coffee! :) Moreover, one morning we had fresh cake prepared by Mino's mother. This is the personal touch of this B&B that I really liked! Mino has a lot of brochures, maps, info sheets, which he happily provides to tourists. Even if his English is not at a very good level, we have appreciated his efforts to speak in EN. He is really doing his best. Many thanks again for a nice stay in your house & enjoy for those who might stay here in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kinderici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I recently stayed at La Veranda and could not fault any aspect of the b&b, Mino and his assistant Vincenzo were most helpful and accommodating as well as being very patient when we struggled with our language barriers, they have an excellent knowledge of places of interest and were able to suggest and supply information on these venues. The b&b was very clean, breakfast was varied and plentiful, it was well located and the added bonus being the access to bikes which certainly made exploring Trapani more fun. Trapani itself is an ideal base for the west, it has good public transport links and it's an interesting area in its own right. All in all accommodation I would wholly recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devonvisitor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Most guidebooks you'll read report that Trapani is a great hub for sightseeing. It's much more than this. Yes, it has great transport links to Erice, Segesta, Marsala but it's a beautiful city in itself. Take a few more days here and get to know it.

Whether you take those extra few days or not, you really should stay at La Veranda.

Francesco and his son are phenomemal hosts with a glut of useful information - places to visit, restaurants to eat in, transport questions. They even offer a free airport pickup (something which we didn't actually require), Francesco personally driving to the airport to meet guests.
They're always warm and inviting and made an effort everyday to chat to us; even despite our clear language barrier.

Breakfast is quite simply...Sicilian. There's an abundance of food. Fresh cakes, cunzato, fruits, biscuits, pastries, cereals, juices and coffees. What you can't eat, you're welcome to take with you to eat later in the day.

The rooms are also typically Sicilian - relatively basic but with everything you need. Ours included a pull-out kitchen! They're spotless and cleaned daily - something which isn't always typical of other B&Bs in Sicily.

Francesco and his son clearly love running this little B&B that's located 10 minutes from the old town. And it really shows.

Trapani and La Veranda B&B are places that deserve more recognition than they probably get. You should visit both.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This B&B was clean and comfortable. Francesco and his son were friendly and helpful as hosts. The highlight was the delicious and extensive breakfast every morning, as noted by many other reviewers. We stayed in the room below the kitchen, and some mornings were woken at about 7 am by the sounds of breakfast being prepared above us, although for us it wasn’t a big problem as we are early risers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trapani hotels
1.3 mi away
Residence La Gancia
Residence La Gancia
#1 of 19 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.3 mi away
Badia Nuova Residence
Badia Nuova Residence
#3 of 19 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.2 mi away
Al Residence San Domenico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Palazzo dei Corsari
Palazzo dei Corsari
#17 of 19 in Trapani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.1 mi away
B&B Centrale
B&B Centrale
#12 of 178 in Trapani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.3 mi away
CasaTrapani B&B ed Appartamenti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Veranda

Property: B&B La Veranda
Address: Via del Mandorlo 13, 91100, Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Trapani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your B&B La Veranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B La Veranda Trapani, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing