We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly easygoing hotel in the centre of Trapani”
Review of Albergo Maccotta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albergo Maccotta
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Trapani
Reviewed September 17, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anette J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 199 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

I booked this hotel at the last minute after phoning several other booked-out hotels, as it appeared in the Italian Michelin hotel guide.

If you have to stay at Trapani, (and I say 'have to', as despite the historic centre, Trapani is a touristic city which lacks the culture of other Sicilian towns), I think you can do better for a similar price.

Once we found it, the location of the hotel was excellent, as it is in the heart of the historic centre. The hotel has alot of potential but unfortunately, the younger staff seemed 'disinterested'. The room was very basic and generally clean, although based on the description on booking.com, we were expecting much more.

I do speak Italian, but found the younger staff unhelpful, unless we persisted. The toilet seat in our room was broken and it took some convincing on my behalf to get them to have a look at the seat. They then promised that it would be fixed that day, but nothing was ever done about it. The information in the hotel regarding the funivia to Enrico was outdated, and so we turned up at the funivia station (based on the timetable in the hotel), only to find that we had a 3 hour wait.

In short, this hotel is fine and with more engaged staff and repairs, has the potential to be a lovely hotel. I do however, think there are better places to stay in Sicily. If you do happen to find yourself at Trapani, I would recommend feeding of the tourism in this place and staying in a B&B or nicer hotel, as you will get more for your money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Nice little hotel in the city center. It would be very good but the staff is not nice at all and to have breakfast you have to pay, even if on the reservation it seemed included.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Silvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was a guest at this hotel for 2 weeks and had a very nice stay. The staff was very friendly and although we didn't speak the same language we seemed to communicate quite well. During my stay they implemented an new breakfast service and had a bar type operation open afternoon/early evening. The breakfast was not huge or fancy but adequate for my needs. The only complaint I had was my room was on the corner of a busy courtyard and was extremely loud at night. But hey that can happen anywhere, certainly not the hotel's fault!

The location was great as I was able to stroll around the central area of the city, walk to the Thursday market and catch public transportation and boats to get to the islands or wherever else I wanted to go. Again, if you only speak English you could be at a disadvantage but get your translator out and you will be just fine!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank AK774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our room was an adequately sized on a corner. As a consequence it was very noisy from the Piazza (pizza shop opposite), especially around 0430 when the street sweeper went past!
Beds were comfortable and room clean.TV, air con, Wi Fi (hard to get at times) included. No breakfast.
Bathroom was a very odd triangular shape with a very small shower recess..a larger sized person would have trouble getting into it.
The toilet seat hinges were broken..a little dangerous...and I suspect it had been like that for some time. We reported it to the front desk who said it would be fixed the next morning (wasn't, just as we thought!)
Front desk staff spoke very little English ..if any..which I suppose is not surprising seeing the bulk of tourists are from the mainland. My daughter speaks fluent Italian, and they were very offhand to her, and provided very little helpful information about anything, especially how to get to the hilltop town Erice..a main tourist attraction. Well worth the hassle of a visit.
The hotel is situated in the old area, about a 15 min walk from the train station (dont look at train timetables, they are wrong..ask the staff) Buses leave from around there also. The Port and a "beach" area shortish walk away.
Old Trapani is very pretty when lit up at night, but generally we were unimpressed with the town and probably would not stay at this accom or in Trapani again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, not room 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussierover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Hotel staff extremely unhelpful, bordering on rude to non Italian speaking people. No help available
at front desk regarding sight seeing options or with restaurants nearby. Wi Fi reception in rooms is bordering on nonexistent. Bathroom is tiny, with a water purification system that regularly makes wierd noises. The bed is great for a sound night sleep. Good location in heart of old town.

Room Tip: I don't think this is possible, the place is like a rabbit warren!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthanddavidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I spent in this B&B 1 night.

The room was quite big and had a very big bathroom. It was clean and properly furnished. It was located on the second floor. I had a quite sleep there.

At the ground floor there is a PC with internet available. The service was helpful and present during the whole night. The price was good: 35 Euros/night.

I did not have a breakfast there since I left this B&B very early in the morning. It is located 15 min. walk from the train/bus station in the historical centre of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trapani hotels
0.2 mi away
Ai Lumi
Ai Lumi
#8 of 18 in Trapani
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Residence San Domenico
0.2 mi away
Hotel Trapani In
Hotel Trapani In
#4 of 18 in Trapani
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Chiavi di San Francesco Residence
0.1 mi away
Residence La Gancia
Residence La Gancia
#1 of 18 in Trapani
699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#2 of 18 in Trapani
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Maccotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Maccotta

Address: Via Argentieri 4, 91100, Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Trapani
Price Range: $56 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Maccotta 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Albergo Maccotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Maccotta Trapani, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing