We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunwing Makrigialos Beach
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Makry-Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
168 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Our favorite place”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We have been travelling to Makry-Gialos every year since 1986, and this is the place where we can find peace of mind. A beautiful long long beach, the sunsets behind the mountains every evening......
We have always been staying at Sunwing Resort, and in 2011 Ocean Beach Club was ready. This is really a fantastic face-lifting for the Sunwing Resort. Everything is so good to rest our eyes upon, the ocean, the swimming pools, the interior, the village, the beaches, the tavernas, and the sunsets.
But though you stay at Sunwing Resort, - do not forget to walk down to the village of Makry-Gialos for lunch and dinner at all the charming tavernes. This is the real greek atmosphere.

Room Tip: Seaview is a Must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank monast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    68
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
117
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have returned to this place 4 times. It is a bit expensive.
The service from the local staff is great, they are kind and helpful, and we love them.
All family vacations, rooms are great especially Zeus, and Afrodite. All-inclusive is a good deal for those with small children and who wish to stay on the premises and have things arranged. Breakfast is ok, lunch and dinner make sure you have options.
There is no meal roomservice here, even for breakfast. Feel the hotel lack this.
OBC (OceanBeachClub) (or old Minos) great place for adults, not for small children. Very chic and modern, small rooms.
The main diningroom is in need of a complete renovation complete with more effective airconditioning.
They have many pools from infantpool with suncover, to kid, to teenager, and adult.
The beach is great, the chairprice is too expensive, but it ensures you can get one !!
The food is neither scandinavian nor greek, something inbetween. The menus are varied, but still very institutional, they need that little extra touch. We have found many cheap small local (Non Tourist....!!!) resturants within a short 10 min car ride. Most of the restaurants beside the hotel and on the beachfront in "downtown Makrigialos" are very expensive(small servings and highprice) and not worth it.
Even the grocery shops by the hotel is twice the price of other hidden local
grocerystores.(5 min car ride away)
We highly recommend to rent a car at the Heraklion airport. Easy and beautiful 1.5 hr drive to the resort. There are many fantastic beaches in SouthEast-NE Crete, incredible vistaes, all within 10-50 min by car from the resort.

Room Tip: Zeus-Royal Family, 2ndfloor, OR Afrodite topfloor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank 2Seasoned-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varde
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The O.B.C concept works because of the engaged persons working. First of all it is a skandinavian concept with high standard by the swedish management, where there is training of the greek staff. The food is 5star, not nomally seen on all inclusive, you can also choose lactose free and gluten free + more. The hotel is high standard, the pools are great specially for Children = 1 children pool for the smallest, 1 youth pool 1.1meter, and infinity pools. Great children beach with fine sand, great entertainment.
So for all children families that searches the best for all this could be the best place you can travell to.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneza F, Διευθυντής at Sunwing Makrigialos Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2015
We want to thank you very much and we hope to see you again with us next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel is excellent when you travel with children. You can rent a "happy baby" apartment which has everything you need when you travel with especially small children. The restaurants at the resort are okay, not the gourmet style but you can get good greek food. Several pools and even one for very small children. Many activities for children of all ages. Great family hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danishtraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We went to sunwing Makrigialos for one week en late August 2010. We have tried the Sunwing concept before and therefore we knew what to expect. The concept is absolutely great for children under the age of 12 (our daughter is 4). Therefore we have a great week at the resort.

We bought the inclusive concept but the lunch and dinner were not very good. We only bought because we thought that there were only limited acces to other restaurents in the area. In fact there are a lot of places to eat in the area so if you dont want buffet food for a week then do not buy the inclusive concept.

Book a room with seaview.
Pool area is good but very crowded with a lot of children which is perfect if you travel with other children.

The beach is very very good. No stones and very clear and bright water sometimes with big waves.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kongpoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2008

We stayed at the Sunwing Resort Makrigialos for one week and we'de love to go back anytime.

The pool area is superb for kids - and their parents. Our two daughters where five and three - and still we could let them run around the pool and realx in our sunbeds enjoying a good book. Now thats holiday for both the kids and mum and dad.

We chose the all inclusive buffet and it was a blessing. First of all we didn't have to worry about spending to much an food and drink - second; we didn't have to worry about where to eat.

And the food was superb. Really!
A large buffet both for lunch and dinner. Lots of fruit and never the same food. We didn't have anything to which we grinned and thought:Tthis didn't taste that good.
The kids to loved their kiddy buffet. Althought the biggets one also enjoyed tasting from the grown up buffet.

The room we had was unfortunately not newly redecorated and was lacking a bit - it had a weird smell so we had to air i out a lot.
But we had a Happy Baby suite with our own little garden where the kids could play.

There are two beaches - one on each side of the hotel. We loved the pool so much we only once went to the beach - but it was really clean and nice.

  • Liked — The pool area and the food
  • Disliked — Two hour drive with bud from the airport - do take car sickness tabletts
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elipse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneza F, Διευθυντής at Sunwing Makrigialos Beach, responded to this review, October 27, 2015
Thank you for your love and we want to see you again with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makry-Gialos
10.1 mi away
Ostria Resort & Spa
Ostria Resort & Spa
#1 of 25 in Ierapetra
1,535 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Achlia
Hotel Achlia
#19 of 25 in Ierapetra
25 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sentido Mikri Poli Crete
Sentido Mikri Poli Crete
#1 of 3 in Makry-Gialos
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Afroditi Apartments
Afroditi Apartments
#13 of 33 in Makry-Gialos
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villea Village Resort
Villea Village Resort
#1 of 33 in Makry-Gialos
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palmira Apartments
Palmira Apartments
#11 of 33 in Makry-Gialos
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwing Makrigialos Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Makrigialos Beach

Property: Sunwing Makrigialos Beach
Address: Makry-Gialos, Crete 720 55, Greece (Formerly Sunwing Resort)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Makry-Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Makry-Gialos
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunwing Makrigialos Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunwing Makrigialos Beach is beautifully located on the south coast of Crete just outside the small village of Makrigialos. The hotel offers plentiful activities for both children and adults, as well as facilities such as a gym, tennis court, mini golf course, kids' club and several pools. But Sunwing Makrigialos Beach is also the perfect spot for a quiet and relaxing holiday with enjoyable walks along the beach or pampering treatments in the spa, perhaps followed by a delicious meal in one of the hotel's restaurants or your favourite drink at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunwing Makrigialos Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwing Hotel Makry-Gialos
Sunwing Makrigialos Beach Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing