We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
private roof terrace for sunbathing/dining with spectacular views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
private roof terrace for sunbathing/dining with spectacular views
stunning views out to sea from the balcony and roof terrace Beautiful sunset views from your balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
private roof terrace for sunbathing/dining with spectacular views
stunning views out to sea from the balcony and roof terrace
Beautiful sunset views from your balcony
One of the two beautiful pools at Bayview Resort
balcony view
fancy a drink here?!
al fresco dining on the apartment balcony with wonderful views
Walk out of the lounge/kitchen area onto the balcony to see the pool or gaze out to sea
lounge area with sofa bed
Your kitchen - modern and well equipped.
Master bedroom - with air con and plenty of storage.
Second bedroom - showing bunk bed formation
Second bedroom - showing double bed and single bunk formation
luxurious walk-in shower room
beautiful coves around the corner from the resort
beachside dining, 400m from resort
sunset views from your balcony
beachfront promenade in makrygialos - fantastic restaurants and bars - under the stars
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
bertyp201...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed September 26, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This was our second stay at Simon's apartment in Lagada. Both trips, one in October 2017 and the latest in May 2018, were fabulous. The resort is really well equipped, with 2 good sized pools with plenty of sun loungers and sun shades, if needed. The cafe is a really nice spot to grab a light meal or drink - we couldn't get enough of the milkshakes! The staff are really friendly and helpful and Simon was kind enough to arrange for them to get some milk, bread etc, for our first morning. The apartment itself is very nice, clean and well appointed and had everything we needed to cook if we wanted to. There was plenty of space for our family of four, with the option of a sofa bed and extra single if needed. Being a penthouse apartment, it has a fabulous roof terrace, which was great for relaxing on and has lovely views of the ocean and mountains - really stunning at sunset. Makrygialos had plenty of nice places to eat serving beautifully cooked traditional food, but you can also get a pretty good pizza or pasta in a lot of places as well. As for the cake shop/ cafe... sensational! We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and will hopefully be back to stay at Simon's apartment again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2018
Hi Nolly,

Thanks for your review. So pleased you had a fabulous time . I’m planning a visit soon to catch the October sunshine, can’t wait. I hope you come back to visit us soon.
Kind regards,

Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2018
Hi Amanda,
Thanks for your review. Sounds as though you had a great time. I would agree the Lagada Resort sits in an unspoilt area of Crete, so many people return year on year. I can’t wait to get back out there myself again.
Thankyou for your booking and I hope you will return again soon.
Kind regards,

Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lizturnbu...
Kirkbymoorside, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent apartment and resort, fantastic area”
Reviewed August 7, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from 12 days here, with 3 small kids. We were sad to leave! The apartment itself is excellent. It was modern, clean and very well equiped. The roof terrance and balconies have amazing sea views and were perfect for the evenings once the kids were in bed. The whole resort was kept spotlessley clean, and the pool areas are particularly great. The biggest pool is split into 2 main pools plus 2 kids areas with benches and ledges that the kids spent hours jumping off into the water. The second entirely separate pool is smaller and deeper, and closer to the cafe and toilets. We used both. Despite it being high season, the resort and pool areas never got too busy and never felt crowded.

We loved the general area of Marky Gialos. It is a fairly small town but has plenty of restuarants, and most are directly on the beach, meaning that after we had eaten the kids could play while we had a drink. Quite a few have bits of kids play equipment. The beach there is lovely with nice soft sand and very calm water. It was very windy during our stay, but the sea at the harbour beach was protected by the harbour and remained very flat. We had hoped to use the beach which is close to the resort (approx 400m walk) but it was not very good for kids. It gets deep quickly and has a strongish current, although the strong winds whilst we were there will not have helped. We had a car and visited many other lovely beaches and coves not far from the resort.

We also visited Sitea, which is well worth a trip. And we visted restarants in the surrounding villages, which made a nice change from Makry Gialos. I would strongly recommend a car, especially if you have kids. It is possible to walk to the nearest restuarants but it is a bit far for small kids, expecially when it is hot in the day, and you need to walk on the road which has no lights or footpath so not good for kids at night. Makry Gialos is only a 5 minute drive away.

We really recomend Cretan Trails for a trip - we did a day kayak trip with the kids along the coast. It was a fantastic day out and the kids absoluely loved it. Tony was an excellent guide and was really great with the kids.

There is a cafe at the resort which does plenty of drinks and snacks. It would be nice if it did something a bit more substantial, such as pizzas, so that it would be possible to eat there in the evening if you didn't want to make the effort to go out to eat. I would say that was the only downside to the resort for us - you need to go out in the car if you want to eat in the evening and don't want to cook.

All in all it was an excellent holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2018
Hi Liz,

Thanks for your review, sounds like you all had a great time. Cant wait to go myself next month. Glad the apartment catered for all your needs.
I hope you will return again soon.
Kind regards,

Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquarius1...
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect !”
Reviewed September 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We spent 8 nights in Simon's apartment and just wish it had been longer. The location is a short drive from the main town and had it been cooler then it is walkable. The deserted beach is a few minutes walk from the apartment and can be seen from the front balcony and roof terrace. Everything was immaculately clean and we were surprised that the towels and bed linen was changed half way through the stay. The pool was never crowded and there was always somewhere in the shade or sun depending on your choice. Unfortunately it was far too hot to use the roof terrace except in the evening. If going to Lerapetra it is worthwhile stocking up at Lidls as the local shops can be expensive. We found restaurant prices very reasonable and can recommend Agyrovoli on the harbour. We need to go back as there are so many to choose from! Thoroughly recommend this property if you like privacy and peace and quiet combined with easy access to restaurants and shops.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2017
Hi Sandra,
Thanks for your great review. So pleased you found everything to your liking. It's great for the peace & quiet and a different world from back home. I hope you will visit again sometime soon, thanks again.

Kind regards,

Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adventuro...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect apartment - unspoilt and pretty area”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

One of the best holidays I have ever had. The apartment was just perfect for me and my daughter, it was clean, everything worked well and it is in the prettiest spot on a wonderful stretch of unspoilt cretian coastline. The resort manager was very kind and helpful and efficient too. Everything about the holiday was easy from straightforward car hire to brilliant private coves for snorkelling let alone fantastic local eateries and pretty mountain villages. who knew that pomengranite Raki was the best thing known to man?!

No hassle, no fuss just lots of sun and fun.

really really enjoyed and will most certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinandl...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The apartment and resort exceeded all expectations”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you want a totally relaxing holiday then this area is the place for you, there are lots of good restaurants and friendly bars. The on site staff were really helpful and always willing to assist and resolve any issues that arose.
The apartment was really nice with good size bedrooms, bathroom, with the added bonus of a private rooftop terrace area

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALAN M
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet, Relaxing resort with great pools and an amazing view.”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

29P is a well equipped apartment with everything provided for a relaxing family holiday. The roof terrace is fantastic and we really enjoyed sitting up there on a night to look at the stars. It can be a bit too hot to use during the day in high summer. Only criticism is that the air con does not work so well in the bedrooms and it was very hot during the night.

On site, there are three pools which are all sizeable enough to have a decent swim or to relax in as you wish. The managers, Anja and Chris are always available to assist and provide local knowledge on the best restaurants and places to visit as well as places in general in Eastern Crete and they run a breakfast service from the local bakery. There is some disturbance from building work on the site from early in the morning, but if you are up and about it isn't too much of an issue.

Makrygialos is a lovely little town with good restaurants and bars. We particularly liked Gustos and the Olympic Café where we watched the World Cup Final. The beach is nice with a very gentle slope into the sea. Super Markets in the town are very small and for a more sizeable shop you need to drive 30 minutes to Irrapetra.

We also enjoyed days out in Agios Nikolaos, Spinalonga, Vai and Water City near Irakleio

All in all, this is a quiet, unspoilt corner of Crete. If you want peace, relaxation and tranquillity this is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing