We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“mr”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Villa Danae Crete

Welcome to Villa Danae Crete
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Villa Danae Crete
Have a dip, cool down Dine indoors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Welcome to Villa Danae Crete
Have a dip, cool down
Dine indoors
Anyone for souvlaki ?
Relax indoors
or outdoors
There's so much choice!
Which bedroom would you like? There are 5
One for the kids - or put them together if you want to get closer
Fully fitted kitchen
Don't like steps? We have ramps
A little 'us' time
Ground floor ensuite bathroom
Sun cream please
I can see the sea!
Have a cold drink or a coffee and watch the world go by - Cafe Olympio is right on the beach
Baklava or cream cakes from the patisserie - mmmmmm!
Visit the harbour for the day's catch
Watch the stars
Muuuum! Dad says we can go to Villa Danae Crete!
Did we mention the heated pool and sea view?
It's just a phone call away - Call Kay or Steve 0845 652 1582 or 07833 931154
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
tobyinbri...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“mr”
Reviewed April 12, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Fantastic villa, well equipped and comfortable for our group of 5 adults and 6 young children. The pool is wonderful and being heated was great for our trip in April. The area is interesting, we walked Zakros gorge and visited lots of lovely beaches- xerokambos and agia fotia. management at Lagada bay were very professional and welcome. highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2018
Thank you Toby. So pleased you had a great time and enjoyed the heated pool
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona J
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for Family get togethers”
Reviewed November 23, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We have stayed in this area on numerous occasions over the last 6 years largely because it is unspoilt, there is plenty to see and do, the weather is always great etc.
As our children have got older and now with partners, we wanted somewhere that could accommodate us all comfortably but still afford us the space to retreat if needed.
Villa Dane does exactly this - the facilities are fantastic, and the views stunning. We will certainly come back again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2017
WOW! Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted you all had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunzia S
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful stay”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was our first time in Crete (or any of the Greek islands). Two families (11 in total) age ranging from 12 years to 43 years. We arrived at the villa at around 2am, a representative met us there and kindly showed us everything we needed to know. We also arranged for a welcome pack to be at the villa which was brilliant as the arrival time was awkward.

The villa itself is just beautiful. 4 double bedrooms upstairs, three of which had ensuites and balconies. Ground floor also had a double bedroom with ensuite. The ground floor is open plan, with living area, kitchen, dining area. Very spacious all round. The outside area is just as beautiful as the inside. The pool was seen to every day. BBQ area is lovely with outside seating and also ample seating around.
The villa has everything you could possibly need, games, play station, books, dvds swimming games too and beach towels. I loved the peacefulness and location.

The weather was lovely and hot. It did get ridiculously windy which is obviously out of our control. The villa is located on the outskirts of makrygialos which is a lovely small town. The town itself has everything you need. It is small and do recommend you visit irapetra, sitia and Chrissy island for days out.

The only thing we wanted to mention is that areti didn't always respond my our texts when we asked for help. The ant problem in the kitchen even though was tackled, it was never really resolved so we battled with this through the two weeks.

Apart from that we loved every second of this beautiful villa. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this villa to anyone. It's layout beautifully designed.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2017
Thank you for your great review. We are delighted you had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMacc...
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“amazing villa in an unspoilt part of crete”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What an amazing 2 weeks we have just had at this villa. The pictures looked good but we were shocked at its true beauty as we approched the villa all lit up in the darkness as we arrived late at night. We were greeted by Areti who was lovely and had arranged for bread,milk,coffee,sugar ,beer,wine snacks etc so we didnt have to worry about getting food en route late at night with young children. we were a group ranging in age from 1 year old to 75 years old and we all absolutely loved the villa, it is huge and has eveything you would need including dvd's, gamesconsoles and books to keep everyone happy in the evening although most of us sat outside in one of the many seating areas enjoying the beautiful star lit sky and watching boats pass in the bay. It is in a very peacefull location so you are not bothered by traffic noise or noise from pubs, shops or other holiday makers but yet its only 3 or 4 mins in the car to the lovely town of makri gialos where you will find lots of shops and tavernas, a chemist, a butcher and an amazing bakery that we visited everyday for fresh bread and cream cakes . the local people are extremely nice and they are very helpfull, they also love children and would quite often give our boys free lollie pops and sweets etc when we were buying things in their shops.
we enjoyed sun bathing by the lovely pool but also did around 2000 miles exploring crete by car. we went up to sitia twice to do some shopping and site seing which is around 45 mins each way. Vai beach is worth a visit, its europes largest palm tree beach and the restraunt and water sports on site are brilliant, its about 35min from sitia and the old road has stunning views. Another place worth visiting is xerocampus, its just over an hours drive from the villa over a winding road, once you get the the top of the mountain looking at the beaches and winding road below you it is breathtakingly beautiful, once you follow the very windy road down you will have a choice of around 7 beaches.

the local beach in makry gilios is lovely, if you go o the bit right beside the harbour you will find a beautiful sheltered area with very shallow water suitable for children of all ages, our 1 year old could walk out quite far in it as their was no waves or stones . we snorkelled out and only had to go to the entrance of the harbour to find shoals of beautiful tropical fish and also a big octopus. keep going passed the entrance to the harbour and you will get to a big basin around the rocks where it gets to about 5 or 6 metres.

there is plenty little shops in makry gilios but if you want a little more choice you can drive to the next town along which is a 10 minute drive and is called koutsouras. if you want aldi or carrefour you can find them at lerepetra which is a 35 minute drive .
there is a brilliant dive centre on the beach at the calimera hotel just after ferma. i did 3 amazing dives their and the prices were great .

hire car is assential as the villa is a 2 hour drive from the airport but its a very easy road to follow. we made a trip twice back to that region to get to the aquriums , dinasouria and also the zoo.

there is a huge amount of walks in the local area including gorges. we took a 4 hour walk up the mountain beside the villa early one morning and watched the sunrise which was beautiful . the track up the the villa is awfull but you get used to it and it doesnt put you off staying at the villa

the villa was very modern and is the only villa i have stayed in where i felt at home, after a week their i felt like it was my own house. the pool is a great size and cleaned every 2 days . Steve also provides a baby pack which includes sterilizer, baby cup, cutlery and baby monitors which is great. our 1 year old never sleeps well away from home in travel cots but we were very surprised to find a proper cot in our room with lovely bedding and a nice comfy matress, he slept well every night and the Air conditioning can be changed to suit in every room. bathrooms were a great size as were the bedrooms, also 4 of the rooms have balconies and there is also the huge roof terrace .

the villa truly is 5 starts and the local area is safe and very unspoilt . all of the restraunts and shops speak good english too.

we needed a villa to suit to needs of our whole group rangin from 1 year to 75 years and villa Danae did this easily .
within 30 mins drive their is everything from mountain walks, watersports , diving, go karting, restraunts, mini golf and lots of greek history excavation sites

no bad points but only two small things i think steve could consider for the future to make the stay even better.
1. a baby gate for the bottom of the stairs
2. a pool table outside would be a lovely finishing touch

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views and the size of the villa
Liked least: it can get quite windy up on the hill were it is built
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2016
Hi James
So pleased to hear you had a great time

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking the trouble to go into such detail

The road is due to be repaired again in the spring and I will certainly take a look at the stair gate and pool table suggestions

Thanks again

Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkeen
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Villa in unspoilt part of Crete”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

After taking villa holidays for ourselves and extended family over the last 8 years Villa Danae is one of the best.
Everything from initial contact with the owner was great, the booking, travel instructions, recommendations when we were there and so on. The villa was as described and reviewed, spacious, well equipped with stunning views of both mountains and sea. The tranquility only broken by our grandkids having fun in the pool.
A car is essential but it is only a short drive to sandy swimming bays and the little town where the locals could not have been more welcoming or hospitable.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to hear that you had a great holiday at our villa. We look forward to welcoming you back one day. In the meantime, please spread the word with friends and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G
Brits in la Palma
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Idyllic Villa for relaxing holiday”
Reviewed May 28, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just returned from an amazing holiday with friends and wanted to share our experience.
We arrived in Heraklion airport and was our first visit to Crete. A scenic drive to the Villa (a car is essential) stopping off at a Taverna suggested by the owner.
The directions were easy to follow and as we turned off the main road we could see the impressive Villa.
Inside it was everything we hoped for, spacious, inviting, welcome food pack, much appreciated bottle of wine, well stocked cupboards etc.
There were plenty of sunloungers, comfy seats and warm pool. We particularly loved the barbecue area and spent many a happy hour there.
The owners had recommended several places to visit and eat which was very helpful. We loved the Tavernas in the mountains and walking through the centuries old villages. Did I mention the Tavernas on the beach?
Everyone was so friendly, never had a disappoining meal, and the prices were exceptionally reasonable.
Do not miss Spinalonga. I had read a book by Victoria Heslop titled The Island and it was a delight to catch the ferry and visit it.
Our 10 days holiday was far too short and we are already planning our next visit.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: As advertised
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2016
Thank you for your very kind words. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to visit the mountain tavernas and Spinalonga. We look forward to welcoming you back one day
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
websters...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fab holiday villa”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A huge and very comfortable villa with amazing pool and outside space. Villa was very well presented. Plenty of space for two families or an extended family group. We loved the quiet location only a short drive from low key pleasant resort. Crete in April is beautiful and we got a warm welcome.

Date of stay: April 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words. Kay and I are so pleased you had a great time. Do come back one day
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing