We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply stunning”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Villa Danae Crete

Welcome to Villa Danae Crete
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Villa Danae Crete
Have a dip, cool down Dine indoors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Welcome to Villa Danae Crete
Have a dip, cool down
Dine indoors
Anyone for souvlaki ?
Relax indoors
or outdoors
There's so much choice!
Which bedroom would you like? There are 5
One for the kids - or put them together if you want to get closer
Fully fitted kitchen
Don't like steps? We have ramps
A little 'us' time
Ground floor ensuite bathroom
Sun cream please
I can see the sea!
Have a cold drink or a coffee and watch the world go by - Cafe Olympio is right on the beach
Baklava or cream cakes from the patisserie - mmmmmm!
Visit the harbour for the day's catch
Watch the stars
Muuuum! Dad says we can go to Villa Danae Crete!
Did we mention the heated pool and sea view?
It's just a phone call away - Call Kay or Steve 0845 652 1582 or 07833 931154
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
dye299
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply stunning”
Reviewed October 24, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having been to the south of crete on a couple of occasions this was by far the best location, villa, and service I have ever experienced on the island. From the very start the owners Kay and Steve bent over backwards to ensure everything was perfect for our holiday.

The villa itself is stunning, with amazing views, immaculate rooms and a brilliant heated pool.

Would recommend this to absolutely anyone. Although watch out for the olive groves or you'll end up knee deep in mud!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2014
So glad you liked it. Thanks for the review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C
1 review
“Villa Danae a quality villa, making a perfect, relaxing holiday”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Villa Danae is a beautiful, large villa. Its location is remote and extremely peaceful just what you need to relax.
The Villa is extremely spacious, we were a group of ten with plenty of space.
The pool was great especially with the kids and plenty of sun beds for the adults to soak up the lovely Crete weather.
The locals were lovely especially the family from the Restaurant Apospertis ,Greek food is there passion and i would recommend them.
We had an amazing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2014
So pleased you had a great holiday, enjoying not just the villa but the Cretan hospitality
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2014
So glad you liked it. Hope to see you again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Tell your friends about us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. So pleased you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 11, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We're so pleased you had a lovely holiday with your family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
caroline...
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Overall a fantastic trip. Home from home in terms of the villa, we really couldnt ask for more! Totally private, sights, sounds and smells just as it should be! Every tiny detail had been thought of, thank you Steve.

The village is lovely, very traditional and pretty unspoilt, friendly locals, pretty beaches, shops, bakeries etc. Cheaper in the next village for groceries though. Just follow the road towards Lerapetra. The Lidl in Lerapetra is good for basics but don't expect Asda!

Weather was just nice, around 25 most days, had a few cloudy days and had to resort to inside. It does get VERY windy, there were quite a few days when we woke up to furniture in the pool!

Plenty of DVDs for kids to watch and books for us to read. Wifi is a bonus if the weather is poor.

Keep the cover on the pool when not in use to keep it nice and warm!

Downsides to the trip, and I want to highlight this is no fault of Steves at all and not a nagative on the Villa experience itself, was the absolutely terrible single track dirt 'road' leading up to the villa itself. We had read that it was rough but in my opinion (I was the driver) it was dangerously rough and I was surprised with just how bad. Made me quite nervous the first few times in the day time with 3 children and my wife in the car, so at night it was even worse, not for the faint hearted! Some of the other villas around it (there were 5 in total I think) were incomplete, so I assume that it was because the resort itself was not finished, but there didnt seem to be any work going on around any of it, including the unfinished block of apartments.

Pool servicing was quite random, they would often appear at midday just was we were having lunch or the kids were playing but I think Steve has brought this to the attention of the resort manager Anja who was brilliant - although we didnt have ANY issues at all.

Driving in Crete - be prepared, when people drive up your back end and flash, they want you to pull towards the side and let them pass. It wasnt uncommon for people to drive ridiculously dangerously, especially on the 'motorway'.

Heraklion Airport - one tip, take a packed lunch and eat before you go through security!

All in all, I would recommend. Just hire a 4x4!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2013
So pleased you had a great holiday. Thanks for your feedback. Pool maintenance routine has been addressed. Petra Bay and Dragon's Cave are good, and there are loads of others. Just ask Anja for recommendations. Hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing