We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Love it!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
First floor living area with balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
First floor living area with balcony
First floor main bedroom with en-suite and balcony overlooking pool
Ground floor twin bedded room
Fully equipped kitchen
Kitchen dining for 6
Front balcony overlooking pool
on the beach
outdoor dining on the back patio
our house is set in well maintained and colourful grounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Schmoobag
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
Reviewed October 3, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Second visit to Grapevines and just as wonderful as last time. Wendy and Phil are so helpful in the booking process and also arranged our car hire for us which works brilliantly. Cannot fault this place in the slightest, had our 9 month old little girl with us this time, all the comforts of home, literally feet from the door of the house to the pool so we were able to sit outside with our baby monitor whilst our little girl was napping.

Visited the beach this time around, beautiful and sandy, lovely shallow gradient into the sea which again is sandy underfoot so perfect for us to let our little girl experience the beach for the first time.

We will definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2018
Thank you for another great review. It was lovely to have you back again, and this time with your little one. We love the beach at Makrygialos because of its gentle sandy slope into the sea, especially for little ones ( and not so little). Glad you were able to make special memories here.
We look forward to welcoming you back again
Thanks again
Wendy and Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jools6715
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely House stay with Pool”
Reviewed September 6, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The location was amazing - Green Beach was perfect within walking distance, drive a bit further and you come to some lovely little bays. Local Taverners and small supermarkets within walking distance.

Hire a car to go on further adventures and you wont be dissapointed.

The House and pool area was modern and extremely well kept. A twin bedroom, bathroom and kitchen with outdoor dining on the bottom floor, a double bedroom with ensuite and lounge and outdoor balcony on the second floor and a roof terrace above.

Ideal for a family of 6 or a group of 4 adults.

The pool is lovely with lots of sunbeds to choose from.

A Lovely base for exploring Crete or just stay by the pool and enjoy the local area.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2018
Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased that everything - the house, the pool, the area - worked out so well for you. Really glad you liked Green beach - it’s one of our favourites.
We look forward to welcoming back in the future
Thanks again
Wendy and Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_vickibla...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous holiday”
Reviewed August 26, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Second visit to Grapevines and still as good as last time. Communication with owner was good. The villa is clean and modern, with all amenities available . Close to great tavernas and good beaches. The villa was clean and well presented. Another fantastic holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2018
Really pleased you enjoyed your second trip to our house as much as your first. Like you, we think the house is perfectly positioned for the great beaches and some wonderful tavernas. Look forward to welcoming you back again
Wendy and Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hjfarmery
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Modern, comfortable and fantastically located with excellent pool.”
Reviewed August 4, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This great townhouse is set within a beautiful small complex and just a 15 to 20 minute walk into Makrygialos (depending on which bar or beach you want to go to!). The kitchen is really well equipped, bedrooms and beds comfy and the views from both balconies are gorgeous.
If you have teenagers though the WiFi can be a little slow but everywhere in the village has WiFi to compensate!
The village of Makrygialos is a real find. And I loved it more and more each day. The tavernas are superb and really reasonably priced. We arrived late and fortunately Haris taverna which is just next door was open. The food and Aperol Spritz was fantastic and they were so welcoming and friendly.
In the village Olympio bar served the best Cretan breakfast you could wish for. The beach is so safe and sheltered near the harbour. Sun beds are free if you buy a drink from the taverna...just great.
We had a wonderfully relaxing holiday in great accommodation situated in a lovely traditional Cretan village.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2018
Thanks for your great review and so pleased that you found Grapevines so welcoming. We love Makrygialos for the very same reasons. We really appreciate your wonderful comments about our house and glad that it enabled you to have a truly relaxing holiday.
Wendy and Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cath047
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa in excellent location”
Reviewed April 11, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The house was spotlessly clean when we arrived. It is modern and well-equipped; we had everything we needed for our 10 day stay. The layout of the balconies and terrace mean that you always have the option of sitting in the sun or choosing shade. Fantastic views in all directions. The caretaker Rosemary was very helpful without being obtrusive; she was able to give useful tips about restaurants and places to visit. We really loved the location on the edge of a small town; shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. In fact there is an excellent restaurant next door to the complex. There is a good fruit and veg shop, a patisserie and bread shop and several small shops for general supplies. A sandy beach is a five minute walk away. It would be possible to stay In this location without a car; however, it is also a great base for exploring the less-developed eastern side of the island. There are at least three gorge walks within a very short driving distance and a spectacular walk up Pefki Gorge, which can be done from the house. We also visited the beautiful Vai Beach and the ancient Minoan ruins at Zakros. The roads were not busy (first week in April), so it was a pleasure driving through the amazing mountainous countryside. There was nothing that we did not like and I hope that we will soon be able to visit again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CazEllie
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a wonderful time here. Very quiet, extremely clean and well maintained. A very tranquil oasis! Every morning it was usually just us for our morning swim in the great sized pool. The villa was very spacious and the layout with a bedroom on each floor was great for us - two couples. We loved having the kitchen on the ground floor, too. Rosemary and Nikos who look after the property were very welcoming and helpful. The location is fantastic. Wonderful restaurants and a supermarket very close and the harbour and a lovely beach ('Green' beach - keep it a secret!) were within walking distance, though the good beach at Makry-Gialos is closer. Wendy was so helpful with booking car hire for us any answered all our questions quickly. Will definitely visit again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2017
Thank you for a great review. So glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed all that our house and Makrygialos has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Blessings
Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_vickibla...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed September 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at Grapevines . A lovely vibe in the town, friendly locals. Rosemary and Nico who managed the villa were very helpful. The accommodation clean, modern and had facilities to ensure a good holiday. The service we got,with regards to the car, was good and nothing was too much trouble.
The pool and outside area was immaculate. All expectations were exceeded.
We would thoroughly recommend this property for great holiday. Already going to try and book for next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2017
So glad you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back.
Blessings
Wendy and Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing