We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing time had at lagada bay”
other travelers have booked this property
View of the Sunset from the Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the Sunset from the Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
View of the Sunset from the Balcony
Alfresco dining on the balcony, whilst looking at the views!
Stunning views from the balcony!
Seating on the roof by candle light
One of the two pools
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
sophie p
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing time had at lagada bay”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location is just outside the town, which suited us. There are lovely beaches nearby, just a short drive away but the pools are also a very good size and not too busy. The apartment was a perfect size for me and my daughter. Everyone at the resort was friendly and went out of their way to help. We've had a very relaxing week and would recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2017
We are glad you had a lovely holiday and would welcome you back again.

Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne J
1 review
“Summer 2017. Lagada Bay.”
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Myself and my family spent two weeks in August 2017 at Lisa's penthouse apartment at Lagada Bay. Out stay was fabulous, the apartment - as mentioned by other reviewers - was so well equipped with excellent self catering facilities, we didn't want for anything.
The balcony furniture, particularly the comfy settee where we watched the beautiful sunset daily, was my favourite spot. The only slightly negative was the size of the apartment, the sofa bed when ready for use, took up the living area and kitchen.
The pools, cafe/bar and surrounding area were kept extremely clean and well maintained.
Staff were all so helpful and accommodating, happy to help and recommend places to visit, they were great with my kids and nothing was a problem.
Lovely quiet resort with gorgeous beaches and a great choice of restaurants/tavernas.
A very laid back and relaxed holiday, we all loved it and would return in a heartbeat! Thanks very much to lisa and the lagada bay team

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2017
Hi Suzanne,

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and had a lovely holiday.

Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinandl...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing setting away from the crowd that needs to be seen”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lagada bayview is a beautiful setting in a part of Crete that remains true to it,s roots, the people are friendly the resort is kept spotless with a chilled out atmosphere. The area of Makry Gialos just makes the everyday tension fade away, restaurants are plentiful with lots of choices and for those who go exploring there are little gems hidden away in some of the bays. For a great day out Agios Nickolas is hard to beat and the coastal route from the resort through to Kato Vakros is truly spectacular.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2017
Many thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1JANDMP
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious apartment in a beautiful spot.”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Even before we had set foot on the plane, we were fully informed on what to expect at the penthouse and the resort, thanks to Lisa and her helpful, obliging manner. Thank you for that.

We had a two week stay in May, when occupancy was so low we had a pool each! From the first moment of arriving we were made to feel welcome by Areti and her staff, whose customer service couldn't be faulted. All throughout our stay they were friendly, attentive and kept the apartment and the resort looking beautiful. They were also pleased and helpful with our attempts to 'communicate' in Greek and thank you for that guys.

The air-conditioned apartment is cozy and beautifully furnished and equipped with everything needed for comfortable living. As well as the generous furniture this included an extensive welcome pack, all white goods and a thoughtful picnic set complete, who knew?

Standing on the front balcony will give a superb view of Lagada Bay to the horizon but to be stunned, make your way up to the roof terrace for a panoramic view from the sea to the moody mountains. Let's not forget to watch the daily commutes of the flock of sheep to and from the pasture via the beach, good fun!

There are many places to go and things to do in the area and on the island and these are covered in the Information Pack. One place that deserves special mention is the Orino, or Butterfly Gorge, starting from Koutsouras National Park (parking, small cafe and toilets). It's no easy stroll but it's worth it, bring sturdy shoes, a drink and a sense of adventure.

If you want to get away from the crowds and find a less commercialized Crete but not forsake luxurious facilities, then this is the place to be.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review - we really hope you will consider visiting us again.

Lisa and Scott
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
We are glad you had a lovely holiday!

Lisa and Scott
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pybus
Southampton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Location away from the over populated tourist areas”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed in Lisa & Scott Williams apartment. The place was spotlessly clean, well equipped, and comfortable. It has a fabulous roof top terrace where we watched the sun set over the beach everyday. It has two balconies, one with table and chairs for dinning, the other off the bedroom with coffee table and chairs. The pool area was always kept clean and tidy. The place is well managed by Areti who is always on hand for help and advice. It's a short trip in Makry Gialos where there's some lovely beach side bars and restaurants. The beach there is very shallow making it safe for children. In the other direction there is a Blue Flag beach at Goudouras, which has crystal clear water for snorkelling. It's only an hours drive to Vai which has the largest natural Palm forest in Europe. The Pervolakian Gorge is breath taking. There's so much to see, it's a beautiful island. Just wish we had more time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
We are glad you enjoyed your holiday, please come back and see the other things you didn't have time to this time round!

Lisa and Scott
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimbright...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“We Can't Wait to Go Back!”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent two weeks staying at this apartment, and I can comfortably say that it is the best overseas self-catering accommodation we’ve ever stayed in. Even before we set off we had had all the information we needed, including really good directions to get us from the main airport at Heraklion down to the airport – this turned a potentially stressful journey into a much more enjoyable experience. The whole apartment is clean, well decorated and fitted out with everything you would need. It’s clear that the furnishings are new and well looked-after as all the seats/chairs/sofas are really comfortable and relaxing, as are the loungers and day-bed on the roof terrace. The view out over the bay is stunning, and I’m not afraid to say I spent a considerable amount of my holiday relaxing on the front balcony, watching the light change on the mountains and boats come in and out of Makrigialos harbour – absolutely wonderful.

It may sound strange, but some of the things that impressed me most (and will make us definitely re-book) are the ‘little’ things that can often make a really big difference. There’s plenty of parking out the front of the apartments, but it’s well away and pretty much entirely out of view; the tap water is both drinkable and pleasant, which meant that we only had to buy a few bottles of water throughout the whole fortnight; the plumbing allows for toilet paper to go down the toilet – not the case across the majority of the Greek islands; the kitchen appliances, pans and, above all, knives are all of really good quality – again, anyone with experience of self-catering both in the UK and abroad will know how exceptional that is and what a difference it can make. The management at the apartments, led by Areti, was unfailingly polite, friendly and helpful. On one day we had a problem with the air conditioning unit in the front room/kitchen. Within 15 minutes of me reporting it, someone from maintenance had come up to examine it. It turned out that an engineer from the supply company was needed. One was called immediately, and within 2 hours someone had arrived, fixed it, cleaned up and left. I’ve rarely (if ever) had service as quick and competent in the UK or abroad.

The surrounding area is absolutely lovely. This was our first time in South East Crete and we weren’t sure what to expect, but we quickly fell in love with area, the relaxed pace and the food. There are fantastic beaches very close by, and Makrigialos is a really appealing little town/village with everything we needed for the whole two-week stay. During the two weeks we took a few days to travel to Hania in western Crete. It’s a beautiful city, and we really enjoyed the opportunity to do a bit of exploring of the rest of the island, but one thing we really took away was how fabulous the fresh produce, and therefore the food – is in eastern Crete. I’d recommend trying as much of the local food as possible, and we had some fantastic meals out at, in particular, the Dragon’s Cave on the road to Kalo Nero and the Golden Beach in Makrigialos. I’d also like to acknowledge some really fine crepes and cocktails at the Coukos Beach bar in Makrigialos and an high-quality pizza delivered right to our apartment from the Obeliz pizzeria one lazy night.

Overall, we couldn’t have had a better holiday. The apartment was fantastic; the information we were given covered absolutely everything we needed to know; everyone we spoke to was friendly and helpful; and the quality of fresh produce and food in the area really blew us away. We shall definitely be going back, and I’m pretty sad that we’re not still there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
We are really pleased you had a good holiday and that the staff were able to fix the airconditioning so quickly, sometimes things break and it is important that you are not put out by this!

We hope to see you back again.

Lisa and Scott
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing