We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aspros potamos”
Review of Aspros Potamos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aspros Potamos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed in unit 2 with 2 female friends in May 2013. This was my 2nd stay. May is a wonderful time to come to Crete for the lovely Oleander and other flowers. Aspros Potamos is a great place to stay at very good value. Michaela was very friendly and helpful - Thank you to you Michaela.The area is a mixture of very pretty places and real Crete not dependant on tourism. The local gorge walks are amazing. The food in all the restaurants was amazing. Great for vegetarians. I would really recommend the Dragons cave restaurant. The highlight of the week was the Greek music and dancing on Sunday at The Piperia Taverna in Pefki. Such a wonderful place. I cant say enough about the location - at the head of the valley; under the beautiful pepper tree and sublime food. So friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Apartment 2 is good for friends as there are 3 separate beds.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PacificDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Aspros Potamos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 98 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

What a great place! Aspos Potamos is a beautiful , atmospheric, quiet and comfortable place to stay and very reasonably priced. Michaela and Myrto were so helpful ,friendly and welcoming. We had a great night at Pefki with food, wine and dancing just excellent and a lift home too! Beautiful gorge walks and beaches too. Myrto is extremely talented and has a wonderful shop selling the jewelley that she has made and that of other other artists too. Just a great stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed for 8 days at Aspros Potamos and we loved it!
Really where we were looking for, something different, in nature, with a lot of silence and calmness. Birds singing all day long, the sound of the river and reading a book. On the other hand there a plenty things to do, walking to the beach, restaurants and shops in 15 minutes or walking the Pefki gorge.
There are like 5 or 6 cats around and they're all very cute and social, we fell in love with them. In the evening just silence and oillamps, we loved the traditional simplicity.
Myrto and Michaela are very welcoming and make you feel at home. I loved the saying of Myrto; 'when it's not possible, we make it possible' :).

What you need to know is that the beds are also traditional, quite hard and small. Our double bed was only 1.10 m wide, too small for two people, so if you want to sleep well, it's better to book a room/house with more beds.
And with some improvements the place could get better then it already is, like new pillows (!) (maybe even new matrasses) and some complements in the kitchen. And a hammock and some sunbeds would make a real relaxing place out of it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked 3 nights at Asprospotamus. We requested House #1 as it is on one level. When we arrived there was no one in reception just a note that we had house #5. Finally Helena arrived and we had a short discussion outside Reception where she told us about the walk up the gorge and asked if we wanted breakfast. We arrange to have breakfast the 2nd morning.
On entering the 'house' we found it to have a mezzanine bedroom and bathroom reached by a steep, unsupported staircase. Due to a medical condition I have difficulty with steep stairs which is why we specifically requested House #1.
Helena had disappeared at his stage and for the next 3 days there was no one in reception - even when we left....
Other disappointments:
No wi fi as advertised
With no support from reception we could not charge our computer, phones, etc (yes we had Helena's phone number but no working phone!!)
Breakfast wasn't supplied on the second morning as requested.
We were supplied with matches for the lamps, candles and gas cooker - 11 matches for 3 days - a logistical challenge that one!!!
We had a table and chairs in the 'house' but the chairs didn't fit under the table! Great fun eating at right angles to your meal!

When we departed on the 3rd day, we left what we thought the accommodation was worth sitting on a bench in reception - there was no one there to give it to or to register our complaints with.

In their Visitors Book, previous guests mention Myrto and her wonderful hospitality - her invisibilty is all we experienced!

In short, a quaint place to stay in a beautiful part of Crete - but in need of some urgent attention to detail.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room that you have requested and check it out before the staff disappear.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ozaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Peace, beauty and away from the buzz, come to Aspros Potamos. Here you have something different from what you ever have seen or experienced on Crete before.

It is romantic and a kind of "back to basic" without electricity powering nothing else than you fridge, but don't worry, you still have hot water, a gas stove/oven and the most beautiful view. And more than that, you get to live like a how a Cretan lived back in time.

And if you want beach, butcher or a Bank....it is just a beautiful 10 mn drive

Please don't get disappointed or angry if your arrival doesn't seem planned -Cretan's are very relaxed but extremely efficient, so just be patient and sit back (meaning, enjoy your holiday).

Room Tip: With todlers choose a room near the reception
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sidelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

When planning our (very deserved) holiday, we found Aspros Potamos Houses by chance on the web, and it was the first place we both liked at first sight. Getting there was easy, as we had received very precise driving instructions (and as there are sign posts on Makry Gialos' main road).
Not having too much light actually helped us to slow down and adapt to a healthy rhythm - just follow the sun :) Using petroleum lamps gave it a time-travel-feel!
People expecting luxury shouldn't make this their holiday destination. But everyone looking for peace and quiet is highly recommended to try out this special place. Become friends with the 25 cats while you enjoy breakfast al fresco, or a glass of wine under the starlit sky... Becoming friends with the mosquitoes is far more difficult, ask for a mosquito net at the reception!
Great hikes into a gorge can be started right in front of the door; while the town with shops, cafés, restaurants etc is close and yet far enough

Room Tip: at their website you can see the exact location of every room, try to get one on the side facing the...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doerte.s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

As with most of the other reviewers, I found the cottages easily with good signage. The cottages are gorgeous and lovely to stay in although as one other reviewer said it is helpful to adjust to the daylight hours to do things that need you to see well. We stayed in cottage 3 which was very cosy. The only down side was the mosquitos (in late September) and i think that a mosquito net may have been helpful. The walk along the gorge to Pefki was wonderful and up to Peperini Taverna and then up to the chapel on rock above the village was fantastic.
It was a memorable and lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PacificDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makry-Gialos
9.3 mi away
Koutsounari Traditional Cottages
0.6 mi away
Villea Village Resort
Villea Village Resort
#1 of 34 in Makry-Gialos
255 reviews
1.3 mi away
Afroditi Apartments
Afroditi Apartments
#15 of 34 in Makry-Gialos
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White River Cottages
White River Cottages
#2 of 34 in Makry-Gialos
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Helios Studios & Apartments
Helios Studios & Apartments
#21 of 34 in Makry-Gialos
2 reviews
1.1 mi away
The White Houses
The White Houses
#22 of 34 in Makry-Gialos
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspros Potamos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspros Potamos

Address: Makry-Gialos, Crete, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Makry-Gialos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Makry-Gialos
Price Range: $44 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspros Potamos is known to be the most ancient settlement in the area of Pefki. It is located in south-east Crete, a thousand meters above sea level and the coastal village Makrys Gialos. The area is famous for its natural beauty, which comprises of numerous unspoiled beaches, traditional picturesque villages, and its four magnificent gorges. It is an ideal location, since the area combines both beaches and mountains covered by lush greenery and endogenous pine, olive and citrus trees. It is thought that early Aspros Potamos was originally much larger; however, probably the constant attacks and raids from pirates forced the inhabitants to abandon the settlement. So, they sought refuge in the higher mountain ranges, where it was more safe and isolated and they used the settlement to house their life stock during the harsh winter months or they would venture down in order to maintain their vegetable gardens. The old inhabitants of Aspros Potamos are considered to be the first settlers of the mountain area of Pefki. This comes as no surprise, since the location is spectacular with densely covered mountain sides and valleys giving an intense green foliage. The valley on the south side reaches all the way up to Analipsi and the stream Aspros Potamos, which the settlement takes its name from, runs through it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aspros Potamos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspros Potamos Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing