We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden - tricky costs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sentido Mikri Poli Crete
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Makry-Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden - tricky costs”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have spent 10 days at Mikri Poli. Overall it was good. The stuff was helpful and polite. The rooms were large and clean. The food was good for all inclusive standards. But for a 5 star hotel it was totally unacceptable that for using the rooms safe box for 10days we were charged 18 Euros and that for beach towels if I remember correct 35 euros. Moreover, the bars didn't have anything else but the cheap all inclusive drinks. There was no option with extra charge (not free of charge) not even to have a Coca Cola. The hotel didn't have Wifi coverage. There was only one spot where you could find Wifi. As you understand it was full of people so finally nobody had wifi. Our nice room was right next to a huge TRANE air conditioning outside unit. The noice was terrible.
Finally, the cleaning lady who was cleaning the pool bar and the places around the pools was throughing away the dirty water into the pools. We complained to the general manager and he said that there is no problem because the pool's water is filtered. Having visited many 5 star hotels I definitely believe that the management is not up to 5 star hotel standards.

Room Tip: Definitely you should ask for a room away from the external air conditioning units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vaios F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    239
    54
    16
    6
See reviews for
335
230
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our good experience started right from the arrival. The reception was really efficient and we got the room in 5 minutes even though we got 3 hours before the check in time. The receptionists were very kind and gave us a quick explanation of what the hotel offers.
Very important to make a reservation to "lo spunito" (the local resturent - included in price) we didn't do it so we couldn't try the place.
The stuff was very nice and smiles all the time.
the all inclusive offer a variety of drinks which is quite sufficient and the beverage which wasn't included was Offered in reasonable prices.
The food was really good even though I expected more of the local food. The variety was much more than enough.
The view from the hotel was amazing and and the Hotel beach is 20 matter from the pool and the Pool bar. The Hotel is located 2 hours from the airport so You should take it into account when you plane your holiday especially if it is short.
Towels for the beach and Pool is not included so if 5 euros is too much bring your own towels.
there is free Wi Fi all sports in the cafeteria. and every other place it's not free

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nbalhance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, HaMerkaz, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent 7 days at the Mikri Poli.
First the place is beautiful! The hotel is located on its own bay.
The food was good, the staff and the service were excellent.
Most important the kids loved it, they spent all day in the pools/beach/kids club.
The rooms are large and clean, but I recommend to bring your own beach towels (they charge money for it), soap and shampoo.
The hotel is 2-3 hours away from the main airport so prepare yourself for a long ride after the flight.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms that are on the main pool level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Avi_g1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

stayed three times at this hotel already and it is great for families, if you get the large family room. Beach is great for small kids and food is very good, especially on Greek nights. Enjoyed loads of fun with the Italian animators.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We (2 adults and 3 kids) stayed at the hotel one week at the end of July and had a great vacation. The hotel is very well-kept. The rooms are nice and spacious, but remember to bring your own soap and shampoo. We stayed mostly at the beach which are very nice and child friendly. The pool area seemed a bit crowded and during the day the water in the pools seemed more and more muddy.
The food is good - we had all inclusive for the first time at a hotel and were quite content with the quality of the food. Wine and beer is not good.
The hotel is a five star Greek classification - I think it is more four star European classification.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a see view and one of the top building away from the pools. We stayed in room 624...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trinewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Isreal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Beautiful grounds, beach, & views; very friendly & efficient staff; good food; nice & relaxed atmosphere; pleasant & comfortable rooms. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Minor tips: 1) If you would like to dine at the a-la-carte restaurant, you may need to book in advance. We didn't have a chance to dine there because it was fully booked during the entire weekend.
2) Bring your own shampoo, body lotion, etc.. The hotel does not provide any toiletries other than liquid soap.
3) Pool/beach towels cost extra so many guests bring their own.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ATraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed for seven days in mikri polis Crete (family with two children). The truth is that it was not exactly what we expected, read or heard about the hotel. The rooms were big, clean with great view. The food was not bad, of course it is difficult to keep a high level of quality when you have so many guests. Te snacks were good enough and the service was great.
Unfortunately the beach was very crowded as well the swimming pools by the beach. As a result they were not clean enough for us or for the kids.
I think that it is not suitable for a five star hotel to charge extra the wifi, the beach towels or even the use of the room safe!! In addition the Greek kids cannot use the animation amenities as all the animators are not Greek speaking.
In conclusion the hotel is nice for families with kids and people who love staying in the same place for their vacations, but some things could be more "five starred".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeorgeR_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makry-Gialos
39.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,843 reviews
42.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
59.4 mi away
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villea Village Resort
Villea Village Resort
#1 of 33 in Makry-Gialos
244 reviews
40.5 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
45.8 mi away
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentido Mikri Poli Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentido Mikri Poli Crete

Property: Sentido Mikri Poli Crete
Address: Makry-Gialos, Crete 720 55, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Makry-Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Makry-Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sentido Mikri Poli Crete 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SENTIDO Mikri Poli Crete is set on a sea facing slope... with direct access to the golden sandy beach. This resort is a unique beach getaway in southeastern Crete. Take your children or friends to experience an inviting ambience with tasteful style, modern amenity and expansive beach-facing accommodation. A retreat like no other... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sentido Mikri Poli Crete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mikri Poli Crete Hotel Makry-Gialos
Sentido Mikri Poli Crete Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing