We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a family friendly and relaxing getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sentido Mikri Poli Crete
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Makry-Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We (2 adults and 2 boys (1,3) just got back from a wonderful week in Crete. We stayed at Sentido Mikri Poli and were overall very satisfied. We stayed in a double room with a separate bedroom. The room was very spacious and so was the balcony and had very contemporary interior (unlike most Greek hotels).
The resort was very well maintained and had beautiful vegetation. The pool area is good but a bit boring. It had 4 rectangular pools with different depths and the baby pool had a sun screen over it.
The excellent and very child friendly beach which is just behind the pools is private and has free sunbeds. Great sand and great clear water.
The food in the main restaurant was a very pleasant surprise with a great variety of hot and freshly cooked dishes, salads and vegetables, freshly baked bread and desserts for all meals. The sodas and wine were not very good though. The pool bar offers snacks during the day, but some fresh fruit would have been nice.
The staff here is very friendly and helpful. The animation team was very enthusiastic and planned lots of activities for all ages. What you need to be aware of, is that this hotel is primarily aimed at German and Polish guests (the neighbouring hotel, Sunwing, is oriented towards Scandinavians, and offers shows for both kids and adults) .
The resort is placed on a hillside which means you either get some exercise going to and from the pools/beach or have to take some very unreliable elevators (which were often out of order).
One thing that we missed was some more information material in the room about restaurants and pools (there was nothing).
We were at level 6 which was very nice and quiet (but hard work going up and down with the stroller). I imagine that people in level 2 and 3 were exposed to a lot of noise from the shows that were on every night.
All in all it was a very nice hotel and a very nice stay. I would recommend it very much to families with children.

Room Tip: Choose to get a room a sea view. Unless you enjoy listening to the entertaining in the evenings get...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holm-Soby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
There are newer reviews for Sentido Mikri Poli Crete
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 723 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed first week in June 2013. There was nothing missing from this all inclusive hotel, Friendly staff and Animation team very good ( Nico engages everyone) Room well presented lovely views, food very nice and there is always something to tempt you also nice A la Carte restaurant wich is included one visit per booking. Drinks no problem. Hotel very clean and I had no problems. Something else which does not get mentioned by reviewers, The Garden was excellent, The Gardener has really done a great job and of course it has a nice golden sandy beach as well. Don't worry about sun beds there is always a place for you wherever you want to layout. Having said all this there is a difference in star rating the hotel is 5 star Greek but 4 star under Thomas cook, which I think is fair as a comparison with other hotels I have stayed at. couple of things that take the shine off the hotel was a number of double glazed windows had blown with salty unsightly salt staining on the inside of the glazing which needed to be replaced (Our room). Some awkward to get to areas of the hotel needed to be maintained as the plaster had blown and looked a little warn which was the same as our bathroom wall where the plaster had also blown and looked a little scabby. Remember although these are small things this is advertised as 5 star and the hotel is not very old, so should be addressed. The only other thing was one lift was broken for a few days but it was the fact that the door was detached and lying at an angle which was a sign of bad lift maintenance as was the fact that the lift levelling at floors was hit and miss with sometimes out of level by 3 to 4 inches (I am an inspector of lifts) So a little bit of maintenance on some areas would have given my rating a five but seriously most people would not have noticed its just my job to notice! Bed was as hard as a rock.
Big picture Very Nicely laid out hotel, very family orientated. I have to say that there was very few British people in the hotel and the evenings were very laid back and relaxed. The resort, well it’s not so much of a resort but a very quite small village by the sea, with several tavernas and restaurants, again very friendly and relaxed, a feeling of being very safe which was very nice, small but pretty harbour lined with tavernas and very cheap prices. Unfortunately there was a lack of holiday makers and most places seemed to be struggling with very few customers.
This hotel is ideal if you have young family or you are the type of person who enjoys a relaxing holiday. The transfer time from Heraklion Airport can be as much as 3 hours depending on if the coach is dropping off at other hotels at best it will be 2 1/2 hours. Price of internet for one week at beginning of May was very worthwhile. So for value for Money it was 5 star holiday.
Spa looked great but opens during the day when you want to be out and about in the sun. Would have liked to use it in the evening but it was closed. Room service was good but I think it is only 6 days a week as one day we didn't have any which was strange for a five star hotel.

Room Tip: I think most rooms have a good view. Don't know any that didn't
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were there end of April / beginning of May this year. We took a family suite with sea view. It means 2 rooms and a large terrace; everything nice, clean, spacious and sunny. In the room there is a fridge, electric kettle, some mugs - important things if you come with a toddler. Lovely pool area; unfortunately it was quite early in the season and the water was really cold; it got warmer only at the end of our stay. A really sandy beach and the sea very shallow - you can walk about 50 meters and still feel the ground under your feet. The food was tasty and the choice was sufficient even for a 2 years old, who by nature does not eat everything that the parents give her...
The minuses:
1) No soap or shampoo in the room. You'd expect at least some soap in a 5* hotel...
2) Very hard bed and tall, stiff pillows
3) I needed to have 1 call for my work during our stay and it was cheaper to do it from my mobile in roaming, rather than from the room. They charge 2 EUR per minute for a toll-free Greek number call!
Internet is free in the lobby, in the rooms you'd have to pay and the signal is week.
Service is quite indifferent towards guests; we don't mind really, but I've read a lot about Greek hospitality and it was not the case. But they were of course polite and helpful.
Not too many attractions in the neighborhood; although you should really take an evening walk to Makrigialos seaside promenade. It's small but nice and with a couple of pleasant cafes.
Overall, we had a very nice stay and I can recommend this hotel to any family with children.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Aleksandra_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here with some of my family members in July 2012. Our room wasn't as good as I had expected, but everything else was great. The beach was nice and the pool area was wonderful. The food was delicious and there was a lot to choose from. Fortunately, the hotel area was nice because there wasn't much to do in Makrigialos.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LilyMagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

i traveled as a couple in the beginning of october 2012. we had a wonderful time there, this hotel is good for families and for couples as well - the families is more near the main pool area, and the couples and those who want quite is near the spa pool.
the food is great with much variety.
we got a room with a huge balcony with the sea view, and with a lot of storing places.
the bed was comfortable.
the beach is clean, and really beautiful.
all inclusive is not including special things like imported beer, but i really liked the "home brand" beer so i didn't mind.
we rented a car and traveled in east crete and we really enjoyed the view and the nice people.

Room Tip: stay near the spa pool if you are traveling as couple to get more quite athmosphere.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LiorPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great place for children/youth and young families. Being around 70, we stayed at the quiet pool all day. Very much and good food, good service and nice staff. Clean and proper all places. Big rooms and terrace with sea vew. But the beds are far too hard to our backs! Nothing missing in all inclusive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingjerd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just returned after week vacation. Great hotel.Great staff great service.Excellent food.and beyond all great animation team.
The hotel is located by the sea with wonderfull sand and very very clean.
Lot of activities with the animation team.
When you take All inclusive nothing is missing.
Grab it before the season ends.Dagan family Israel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yarivda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makry-Gialos
10.9 mi away
Ostria Resort & Spa
Ostria Resort & Spa
#1 of 24 in Ierapetra
1,660 reviews
39.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
3,104 reviews
9.6 mi away
Almyra Hotel Village
Almyra Hotel Village
#5 of 6 in Koutsounari
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villea Village Resort
Villea Village Resort
#1 of 34 in Makry-Gialos
255 reviews
40.5 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Afroditi Apartments
Afroditi Apartments
#15 of 34 in Makry-Gialos
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentido Mikri Poli Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentido Mikri Poli Crete

Address: Makry-Gialos, Crete 720 55, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Makry-Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Makry-Gialos
Price Range: $125 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sentido Mikri Poli Crete 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SENTIDO Mikri Poli Crete is set on a sea facing slope... with direct access to the golden sandy beach. This resort is a unique beach getaway in southeastern Crete. Take your children or friends to experience an inviting ambience with tasteful style, modern amenity and expansive beach-facing accommodation. A retreat like no other... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sentido Mikri Poli Crete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mikri Poli Crete Hotel Makry-Gialos
Sentido Mikri Poli Crete Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing