We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay...again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Elbresidenz an der Therme
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bad Schandau
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have returned to Bad Schandau again in July and despite the bad weather we had excellent stay. We have been reserved in family room, which has one bed room and adjoining room, perfect for children. The only suggestion would be to have the bed mattress firmer... Othewise excellent as always.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PZPRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Elbresidenz an der Therme
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 187 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

During our visit we found the staff extremely friendly and helpful, the pool and spa marvellous, the buffet breakfast lovely and the location perfect. We felt it was a bit overpriced taking into account the additional charge for parking and balcony and tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been good. But overall a superb hotel in an amazing area!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view, especially if you pay extra for a balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have only stayed at the Elbresidenz for one night, but I also got a chance to experience their spa treatments and one of the restaurants. I agree with the others who mentioned excellent value for the money. Great location, good spa, impressive breakfast and excellent reception staff. The hotel is run like a 5* establishment with corresponding amenities and services. I would certainly consider going back.

Check-in was very pleasant, and my Elbe-facing room was ready far before the noted 4pm. The room was quite spacious and well-appointed. The design is attractive. You get everything you'd expect from a hotel of such caliber. I was staying on the first floor room with a balcony. It is worth mentioning that although you do get a nice balcony, it is not private but shared with the whole floor. If you would like a private balcony make sure to request it.

There were only a few things i would suggest to make Elbresidenz absolutely perfect:

- While i found that everything on the inside of the hotel was spotless clean (in fact you see cleaning staff vacuuming and wiping 24/7), the outside wall and windows facing the river are less so. I realize it must be hard to upkeep, but i wish they were cleaned for the spider webs, as there were many right at the top of my balcony door and some insects got into the room.

- I had lunch at the Elbresidenz restaurant. The outside section is very pretty and service is yet again very good. The deserts were great. That said, the kitchen completely dried out my liver dish to the point of meat tasting like a shoe sole. Quite shocking for this kind of restaurant. Real shame too, as the flavors were all there.

- The spa staff is lacking somewhat compared to the reception. I asked my massage therapist one thing - not to massage my face with oil, and right for my face she went.

- Not sure something can be down about it, but i would love to see WiFi in the rooms. They do have DSL plugs in the room for which you can borrow the cables. However, I do not travel with my laptop, only my mobile phone, so having to run to the reception area to check on train schedules or otherwise is not ideal.

- Though i understand it may not be possible, i wish the towel drying rack in the lovely bathroom was able to operate at all times, not just when it's a cooler temperature outside.

Of course all the above points are relatively minor. Overall this is an excellent hotel and i wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Facing Elbe river is a treat.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DC_traveler_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Though the Elbresidenz does not merit its own five star billing, it is, nevertheless , a very good hotel, providing excellent value for money (so long as you do not buy drinks etc in the room). The staff are splendid, most of the receptionists having excellent English and being only too happy to provide advice and assistance, including excellent recommendations on walks and restaurants. My room was reasonably well equipped but the proximity of the railway on the far side of the river was not good. The bathroom was not nothing special, though the breakfast and spa facilities were all first class.

Room Tip: Resist choosing a room facing the river--it also faces one of the busiest railway lines in Europe!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Elbresidenz and would have loved to stay for longer- it was just so good. It is huge but the staff and their friendly and helpful manner make it feel so intimate . The front of house staff are very professional but always welcome you with a smile and are keen to make your stay as pleasant as possible. One young lady went to great lengths to get as much info as possible for us in English- after she had given us lots of ideas in extremely good spoken English.
The breakfast buffet was superb and again smiling and helpful staff on hand.Tables were available on the lovely terrace overlooking the river.
The bedroom we had overlooked the Atrium and was quiet and comfortable and the bathroom excellent.
We dined in the Elbterrase restaurant twice and again couldn't fault it-delightful service and good food and Saxon Wine.
The position of the hotel on the banks of the Elbe river is excellent for river cruises and for bus services and for the local Thermal baths as well as being on the Elbe footpath / cycleway -so you can walk as far as you wish on good surfaces alongside the river.
We never used the Spa facilities so can't comment.
We would definitely return to this hotel -- we've stayed in large hotels before but this was the largest - yet very personal.
I would suggest a basic ability in German would be helpful as English is not generally spoken in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJJLeightonBuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I had a pleasure to take my wife and go for a couple of day for a nice weekend and stay in this beautiful hotel. I was extremely pleased with the selection of this hotel, which has been recommended several times.
The hotel is located just directly on the embankment of river Labe in charming town Bad Schandau. Everything was perfect from the arrival to departure. As the hotel is openened for few years, it looks very modern, fresh. The rooms are nicely decorates, spacious enough, several have balconies facing the river side as well as the small square.


Food is great, excellent morning buffet replenished all the time. The hotel has 3 restaurants, which rotate in opening days.
The hotel staff is very very nice, friendly and happy to assist at all times. Thank you to Karoly - the Chef Concierge, who set us up with a very nice trip to see Bastei and recomended to return on the boat back. It was just great day to relax and have a fun.

Overall perfect experience and frankly I was suprised to see such a 5 * quality level at the location I would not expect.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river or take the junior suite, worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PZPRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Travelling to Leipzig with work was a little underwhelming so we looked around and decided to stay at this hotel in Bad Schandau, partly based on TripAdvisor comments.
Its a great hotel, in a great location with awesome walks, drives and tourist treats nearby.
My lack of German was a slight issue (yes thats my fault not theirs) but when my wife with a smattering of German arrived it was a whole lot smoother. Awesome rooms (not sure if they all have views of the Elbe) the views are great and the rooms are a good size, well furnished and very comfortable.
The attached restaurant was superb, service, variety, quality and wine list. Not sure if I would recommend if you are not a carnivore; I was meated out by the end.
If you are near this part of the world I would recommend a few days at this hotel and some walks in the nearby hills.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the Elbe are ideal.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TandDAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Schandau
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Bad Schandau
Parkhotel Bad Schandau
#4 of 12 in Bad Schandau
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindenhof
Lindenhof
#2 of 12 in Bad Schandau
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apparthotel Am Schlossberg
Apparthotel Am Schlossberg
#5 of 12 in Bad Schandau
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albergo Toscana
Hotel Albergo Toscana
#1 of 12 in Bad Schandau
52 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bio und Nationalparkhotel HELVETIA
4.1 mi away
Hotel Elbschlosschen
Hotel Elbschlosschen
#1 of 4 in Rathen
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elbresidenz an der Therme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elbresidenz an der Therme

Address: Markt 1-11, 01814 Bad Schandau, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Hotel Elbresidenz Bad Schandau Viva Vital & Medical SPA)
Location: Germany > Saxony > Bad Schandau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bad Schandau
Price Range: $158 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elbresidenz an der Therme 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star-hotel Elbresidenz an der Therme Bad Schandau welcomes you in the center of the Saxon Switzerland, only 100 meters away from the river Elbe. Surrounded by bizarre rocky crags, primeval forests, and deep gulches with wild brooks, Bad Schandau lies in the middle of the unique Saxon-Bohemian national park region. Sights of global renown such as the one-of-a-kind Bastei Bridge and the imposing Konigstein Fortress can be easily reached, whether on foot or by the historic paddle steamer with a boat dock right in front of the hotel. The location of the Elbresidenz directly on the banks of the Elbe River in the heart of Saxon Switzerland offers optimum conditions for manifold activities. Hikes for nature studies, with certified national park guides, courses in climbing, and mountain climbing tours through bizarre rocky gorges proffer spectacular vistas. The Elbe bicycle paths will entice you to take variegated excursions. Romantic castles and fortresses, as well as the adjacent cultural Meccas of Dresden and Prague, are waiting to be discovered. In a unique way the Hotel Elbresidenz combines tradition and modernity. Enjoy the luxurious atmosphere and timeless elegance in the 207 rooms and suites with a stunning view over the Elbe, the historical market place or the calm atrium. Do something for your health consciously, and feel wonderful at the same time in the 1,600 sqm Wellnesspark “Elbresidenz”. With specialized therapeutic counseling and treatments, we will take care of you holistically and sustainably. Natural healing methods according to Kneipp will give your health momentum; individual beauty and body treatments will strengthen you in body and soul. Relax in our Aurorabad above the roofs of Saxon Switzerland. Enjoy the picturesque vista of the Elbe River from the sun terrace, and regain new energy in the Finnish sauna, herbal sauna or steam bath. Experience diverse culinary highlights in our restaurants “Sandstein with Salon Artur Henne” and “Elbterrasse”. With a trilogy of regional products, international compositions and excellent culinary craftsmanship, the restaurants enchants their guests and offers a fantastic view of the river Elbe and the landscape of Saxon Switzerland. Business meeting, conference or family gathering – the 11 bright meeting rooms convey a feeling of classic elegance and provide the perfect atmosphere for events of all kind. A classy interior and high-end technical equipment guarantee a successful convention or celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Elbresidenz an der Therme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elbresidenz Schandau Hotel
Elbresidenz Schandau Bad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing