We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little restaurant, worth finding.”
Review of Schmolzer Wirt

Schmolzer Wirt
Ranked #6 of 30 Restaurants in Grainau
Restaurant details
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

We wandered down from our hotel in Hammersbach and really enjoyed the food, the selection of wine and the friendly and professional staff in this little gem of a restaurant. An excellent and very generous serving of char with tomato rissoto and my wife’s gnocchi were extremely well made accompanied by great wine. Give the kaiserschmarl a go or the very tasty rosemary creme bruise...well worth a trip out of town for!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Getinmabelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 136 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2018

Excellent service, excellent food and incredible scenery. Our server was very polite and answered all my questions and made suggestions about the menu. So delicious- a must try. The patio was awesome, right on the river

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kobrien423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017

second visit to this place, had amazing Veal, melt in the mouth - delicious, first visit was NYE for dinner and that was delicious too, its a firm favourite.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank mbukAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017

On the river and between Garmisch and Grainau this is a modern restaurant with a comfy ambience, good food, great value. Biergarten on the river is cool i the summer. English menue available.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank epicureantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017

We stopped in after having eaten here 6 years ago only to find it was under new ownership and had been renovated. The changes didn't hurt in the least, the atmosphere was clean and bright, the food was wonderful and the service was great throughout our evening. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ncsujuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schmolzer Wirt also viewed

Grainau, Upper Bavaria
 
Grainau, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Grainau, Upper Bavaria
Grainau, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Schmolzer Wirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing