We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place indeed!”
Review of Hotel Bergland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bergland
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Grainau
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel has nice decoration with a bavarian atmosphere and very good and quiet location, short walk from the center of the village, but for all the rest atractions in the area woul'll need a car or walk to teh train station (not sure how far it is). Very relaxing place. Friendly staff (family run). Good b-fast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 25 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed at the Bergland as part of a 10-day trip staying at 4 different hotels in Bavaria. The Bergland was definitely the pick of the bunch. The welcome was genuine, the room was lovely - quirky but very comfortable and with a very good ensuite. Breakfast was excellent as were the evening meals, as long as you are happy to sample traditional Bavarian cooking. There is a very comfortable lounge with a view of the Wetterstein. All the decor is very much in the traditional Bavarian style - I couldn't live with it, but it's fun to stay in for a while. It is hard to think how it could be improved - I hope the owners just keep doing exactly what they are doing now!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil_oldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

I was traveling with my fiance, who is in the army and is stationed elsewhere in Germany. We are both 30 years old and American. We wanted to stay Edelweiss (the military resort in Garmisch), but it was booked so we found Hotel Bergland... And we were so glad we did! Had we stayed at Edelweiss, we would have been surrounded by lots of Americans. Hotel Bergland gave us the opportunity to experience the Bavarian culture and people.

From the moment we got there, the staff was helpful and gracious. They helped us carry our bags in from the car and up to our room, gave us an overview of the hotel and the surrounding area, and inquired about our breakfast preferences.

Our room was a decent size, large from what I've experienced in other parts of Germany and Europe. There was a balcony, but since it was so cold outside we only used it to chill our wine. The bathroom was very large, which was nice for 2 people trying to get ready. While the room was not modern in decor, everything was new looking and functioned well. The beds were made and the rooms cleaned daily.

Breakfast was a buffet and a fairly standard German spread- various breads, meats and cheeses, honey, butter, jams, Nutella, fruit, juice, etc. And coffee and tea were served upon request (they brought it out to you if you told them upon checking into the hotel that you wanted it). We both had enough to eat both days of our stay.

There is a parking lot that is free if you are staying at the hotel.

The hotel is located near restaurants and shops. We only ate at one restaurant in town. It's also located near the Zugspitz. But I can't be sure how far the drive is, as we had to go to the military base first to pick up our rental gear. There are other rental places nearby, but we chose to use the base. If you are military and choose to use the base to rent your gear, I recommend getting the day before so you can just head to the Zugspitz in the morning. The rental place closes around 5pm, and we got into town after that... :(

Overall, Hotel Bergland was amazing, and I would definitely stay there again. It felt more like a Bed and Breakfast than a hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellamoon0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

This was a wonderful place to stay. We had stayed in Garmisch for a week and then moved to Grainau. The town and the hotel were so wonderfully quiet and peaceful. We were able to totally relax. We walked among the cows, biked, hiked, visited the Zigspitz, and just had the best time. The staff of the Hotel Bergland were awesome. No English speakers but they were so helpful and friendly that it wasn't really required. We don't speak German but felt quite at home and had no problems not speaking German. Would absolutely recommend and will return again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luz2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2008

Although you do not really need a reservation to spend a night in Grainau as 'zimmer frei' signs are all over the place, I decided to book a room in advance. I soon found out that most private pensions do not prefer one night guests, but Hotel Bergland (which in fact a family business offering all amenities) had no such reservations.

Colourfully decorated both externally and internally, every inch of the hotel makes you remember you are in Bavaria. Looking at pictures of it it seemed more on the tacky side, but somehow being there just felt nice and rustic.

The landlady went out of her way to serve guests and the notes in the guestbook showed that all left very pleased.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kekecutas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Doppelzimmer
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alfredo152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Inhaber at Hotel Bergland, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wolfel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Inhaber at Hotel Bergland, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grainau hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpenhof Grainau
Alpenhof Grainau
#4 of 17 in Grainau
97 reviews
1 mi away
QH Hotel
QH Hotel
#16 of 17 in Grainau
69 reviews
1.2 mi away
SENTIDO Zugspitze Berghotel Hammersbach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Zum Franziskaner
Zum Franziskaner
#8 of 17 in Grainau
28 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Laengenfelder Hof
Hotel Laengenfelder Hof
#3 of 17 in Grainau
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bergland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergland

Address: Alpspitzstr. 12-14, 82491 Grainau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Grainau
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Grainau
Price Range: $126 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bergland 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bergland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing