We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveler rating
128
127
35
15
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
128
127
35
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building swimming pool many choices buffet dinner babbling brook ample parking beautiful location train station ski slopes sauna and steam room every hour highest mountain local train two nights garmisch partenkirchen comfortable bed included in the price
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 308 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2018

My daughter and I had the pleasure of staying here for two nights. Our room was beautiful - overlooking the scenic mountains and we had our own balcony on the second floor. The beds were super comfortable and the room was spotless and clean. The breakfast buffet in the mornings was NOT your average bland continental breakfast. The food was delicious and the variety was never ending. We were catered to in every way in this hotel. There is no AC but we were there in mid- May so that was not an issue. We loved the private balcony from our room and we felt safe. The rooms are quiet and well kept. We will return to Grainau and will stay at this hotel again. Highly recommended - by far much nicer than other hotels in the area.

Room tip: Beautiful views - request room with a balcony
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Guest relation team at SENTIDO Zugspitze Berghotel Hammersbach, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Dear Rhonda,
thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are happy that you had a great time in our hotel and we hope you will visit us again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018

i have very mixed feelings about this hotel.

the rooms are pretty outdated. tiny tv, old furniture, no AC, very few power outlets, almost no lamps. everything however very well mainted. very fast wifi. bathroom renovated. we asked for a very quiet room and got one 10m away from the train line (train is slow and not very noisy).

restaurant very good. the evening buffet is good but not outstanding. food from the menu very good. waiters vary from grumpy to very nice.

pool is huge but cold.

interior of the hotels is inconsistent at best. i found especially the tunnel between the buildings to be a timetravel experience. every few meters a different generation of decor. at some point i got fed up and started to walk outside between the buildings.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank das_ubersoldat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Guest relation team at SENTIDO Zugspitze Berghotel Hammersbach, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Dear guest,
thank you for your feedback in detail. It is very important to us to know how you perceive our house. Only in this way we have the opportunity to constantly improve our services. We hope, you will be our guest again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018

Very pleasant accommodation. Friendly and helpful staff. Luxury breakfast. The train station is about 80 m from the hotel. You will receive a Grainau Cart (free) on the road between Elbe and Garmisch. I highly recommend accommodation.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tomasb458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Guest relation team at SENTIDO Zugspitze Berghotel Hammersbach, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Dear Tomas,
thank you for your great feedback. We will be happy to welcome you again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2018

Ok where can I start..
The least I can say is that I was not really please with my stay.
Went for ski holidays and book 4 or 5 months in advance via booking.com. I choose this hotel according to the reviews as most of us do and from the nice pictures I saw. So this is what happened when we checked in. To my surprise this hotel is made from three blocks, block 1 the main nice building is the one you see on the websites..but there also a much less nicer bloc2 and bloc3 across the road and + across a small river for the last one.
Depending where you stay your experience may CHANGE GREATLY..Unfortunatly we were on the block 3 at 150/200 meters from the main building which was more like a kind of apartement hotel with no reception, no bar, no lounge no restaurant, no nothing...as for ALL the facilities you have to go out and walk to the main building where everthing is...and that's the HUGE problem. We completely felt as we were scammed...I choosed a 4 star hotel because I usually like the atmosphere within it, the lounge, the restaurant, the crowds, the vibes..etc..if I wanted to stay in an apartment or a flat I would certainly book something through airbnb or homelidays.. Plus, I took this hotel because of the swimming pool and a spa but bad luck for you guys if you stay in block3 as you have to dress up to go out if you want to access the pool. Block2 has a direct connection underground with the main building so the guests can put their bathrobe to access the pool or the spa and eventually go back directly to their room. So guess what...at the pool all the guests from block 2 and main buildings were wearing a bathrobe and came directly from their room what you guys if you stay in block 3 can't do. So don't expect to find a bathrobe in your room if you stay in block 3....so after swimming and unlike other guests we had to dress up and cover us from head to toe as it was -5 outside to get back to our room. So the worst still to come.. so after that my daughter caught a cold, got sick during the stay and vomit, she couldn't ski and we had to cancel her ski lessons and give back all the ski equipment for her. My wife couldn't ski either as she had to stay with our daughter in the room...so the super holidays everyone where expecting for months turned very bitter the least we can say.
For the price we paid we would have liked to be informed upfront about where we stayed to decide or not to stay in this kind of hotel. Don't buy the pictures you see online neither the positive reviews as it is mainly from guests who stayed in the main building or the block 2.

Room tip: go there if you like gambling...
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank daniel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Buchhaltung at SENTIDO Zugspitze Berghotel Hammersbach, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2018

Dear Daniel,
Thank you for the detailed description of your stay and the issue at hand.
We are sorry about your wife and daughter falling sick and having to cancel the ski lessons. However, cases of illness are outside of our influence.
The separation of our hotel is not apparent at first sight via booking.com; only after your reservation there is an annotation on your confirmation. We are currently working with booking.com on resolving this issue.
Many guests of ours reserve a room in the building “Alpspitze” where you stayed as they are more inexpensive and quieter than their counterparts in the other buildings. The drawback is the “Hammersbach” that makes an underpass impossible as opposed to the other two buildings.
We would be happy to assist you with your next reservation and give you every piece of information you need regarding rooming beforehand.

Kind regards,
the SENTIDO Zugspitze Berghotel Hammersbach staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2018 via mobile

We spent one week with my partner here and were very pleased with hotel and facilities. We flew to Innsbruck from London Gatwick. Took FlixBus to Garmish which was only 1 hour and 15 min and cost only £5 per person. From Garmish you take local train which stops just outside the hotel Sentido. How convenience! We were warmly welcomed and accommodated in nice room. Everything was clean and perfect. We received free pass for local train which took us to Garmish for only 10 minutes and was due every hour or we could go on the other side towards Zugspitze. What the bonus. Breakfast was amazing, I never seen so many choices in my life. You can book for buffet dinner which cost £19.90 or you can book a table in restaurant. Hotel has swimming pool which is open every day from 7am till 10pm, sauna and steam room. It was very good to use it after cold day and skiing. This hotel has also a ski rental run by charming young man and opens every day between 5-6pm. The prices are very competitive. Overall we had a fantastic holiday and specially thank you Alex the Barman who is very professional and knowledgeable. We will be definitely back again soon.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Janako71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy G, Leiter Front Office at SENTIDO Zugspitze Berghotel Hammersbach, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2018

thanks for 5 points

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews