We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The essence of Gemütlichkeit”
Review of Alpenhof Grainau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpenhof Grainau
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Grainau
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The essence of Gemütlichkeit”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay so much at this lovely hotel. The entire staff provided us with friendly personalized service. The kind that you can really only get at a smaller family run hotel. The breakfast buffet and dinner served nightly were first rate. We dined in the cozy restaurant, as well as outside on the terrace (weather permitting) with breathtaking views of the mountains (Zugspitze). Our nicely furnished room also had this amazing view from the balcony.This hotel is also ideal for children. My daughter enjoyed the spacious backyard with play area and creek running through it and the indoor pool, which is also very nice and large. We felt very at home and well taken care of here and are definitely planning on coming back.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    24
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
49
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our room was huge with an entrance hall, a bathroom leading off this with shower over the bath (but with glass panels) and then into the bedroom itself which has a sitting area with armchairs and table. In addition to this we had a large balcony with two reclining chairs & a table providing stunning views. Extras such as bathrobes slippers chocolates, two bottles of water, fresh flowers and a fridge were also provided. In the evening, our bed turned down and two chocolates were left on it.

The grounds were stunning with sunbeds set out along one length of the beautifully-kept gardens. Running through the middle of the gardens is a small stream that comes down from the mountains, the hotel has had steps built that lead down into this stream with rails actually set into the stream in order that guests may walk in the stream safely. They have even installed an outside shower so guests may cool down if they become too warm in the sun. In addition to the gardens, the hotel also has a wonderful, large indoor swimming pool & spa.

On my bucket list was to drink real German beer from a real German Stein ... and they even managed to provide that.

One slight issue for us was having made sure it had a lift, we discovered it only goes to second floor, as I have MS & my mobility is not good, this was a little stressful, but that was our fault for not checking that the lift covered all floors. Sadly as the hotel was full, there were no rooms on the lower floors, but we managed OK and it was our fault for not informing the hotel that I was disabled as they would have been able to provide a ground floor room and a disabled parking space.

As it had been a fantastic day, it was very hot in dining room which didn't appear to be air conditioned, my MS means my body is not able to manage heat, this results in my body shutting down if I become too warm. I hate making a fuss, but I had to be somewhere cooler and fortunately my wife speaks German & was able to explain & so they happily moved us to a cooler table without fuss.

The prices for food and drinks were very reasonable with wine, both white & red served in .5 litre caraffes for 10 Euros making a bottle around 15 Euros.

The menu too was very reasonable with starters from around 5 Euros & main courses from 15 Euros. Another nice feature was that you could order a "normal" or "smaller" size main course with a reduction in price accordingly. This is very much appreciated when you don't feel able to manage the larger portions. The food was excellent, Sue had the crusted salmon & I opted for the Bavarian pork which was served like fillet steak in three round pieces that were beautifully tender with not a trace of fat or gristle.
All the staff were extremely friendly & for only the second time on our tour helped us with our luggage and insisted on carrying to our room.

Our only sadness was that we were only there one night, as we were continuing on our tour. We both wished that we could stay several days here & explore more.

The location is stunning with mountain views & the local village/town a picture-book Bavarian town with bars and restaurants that really needed to be sampled. Thus is a hotel that we will return to.

When we checked out, the owner came to see us and gave us two jars of their honey. What an exceedingly nice touch. We are enjoying them now we are back in the UK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StocklinchTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilminster
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We loved this hotel - beautiful location, outstanding facilities, amazing room with balcony, and great food. We would love to come back for longer and have the chance to enjoy the pool and spa. Only downside was that lift does not go to 3rd floor, and restaurant was terribly hot, with no windows open. But overall a wonderful experience and highly recommended. Definitely on our list for a return visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rovingspringfielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from a holiday in Bavaria, staying at this superb hotel in Grainau. The location, food and service are excellent, the staff very welcoming and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. Guests are greeted by the owner throughout their stay, and I can thoroughly recommend the hotel for a great holiday in this beautiful area. We ourselves will be returning for a further stay before too long.
John and Winifred Hall
Weston-Super-Mare
UK

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the South side with a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Alpenhof Grainau is a lovely, very typically German hotel in a spa town on the German-Austrian border where the clients are treated as cherished guests.
Upon arrival we were helped with our baggage to a large, pretty room supplied with the kind of extras you expect from a 4-star hotel (nice sample-sized toiletries products, minibar, fluffy robes and slippers, chocolates on the pillow at bed time & a free bottle of water). The staff were very helpful, polite and cheerful and the farewell gift of a jar of honey a nice touch. Although the restaurant was rather formal, with the staff in their Trachten, there is a kids' menu with placemats to colour and pencils available.
The people at reception and some of the restaurant staff speak English which was helpful, but not everyone does and I really enjoyed trying to use my terrible German.

There were a few drawbacks to our lovely stay worth noting: the hot water did not run consistently, so there were chilly surprises during our showers. I was woken up a lot by traffic noise. A little bizarre given how quiet the village is, but the restaurant guests leaving in the night and the rubbish truck emptying glass at about 7am both contributed. (I don't think we had a window open either.) I am sure the rooms facing the Zugspitz are quieter. The down pillows were completely flat, giving no support and made it hard to sleep when you're not used to it. I wasn't keen on being obliged to keep the same table for breakfast as dinner. It would have been nice to sit by the window, or to have chosen the table in the first place.

All-in-all I would go back in a flash.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Zugspitze side, or well above the street, to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We chose this hotel, because our favorite in the area was fully booked. This is our new favorite. Very Bavarian, which is what we like. Great food, be sure to take half pension, to enjoy the wonderful dinners. Spacious room, with separate seating area and balcony. We walked to the Eibsee (about 1 1/2 hours) ate lunch and took the train back. Did a lot of photography and relaxed. The best WiFi of the trip. Good signal in room and very fast. Very quiet area.

Room Tip: choose half-pension; as the dinners are excellent and 4 choices of entrees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wotsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

This was our second visit to the Alpenhof and we were delighted we had returned.

We arrived late and the reception staff welcomed us and told us they had a cold plate ready for us, so we were treated to a lovely selection of cold meats etc,. which was great after a long day traveling.

Our rooms were close together and were clean and comfortable with fresh fruit and bottled water in the rooms.

Every day there was a lovely selection of well presented food to chose from. The staff noticed that my daughter liked hot chocolate so every morning for breakfast a pot of hot chocolate was waiting for her. It is very much a family run hotel where they care for their guests.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Waterfordfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grainau
0.4 mi away
Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein
1.0 mi away
SENTIDO Zugspitze Berghotel Hammersbach
0.7 mi away
Hotel am Badersee
Hotel am Badersee
#3 of 17 in Grainau
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Grainauer Hof
Hotel Grainauer Hof
#11 of 17 in Grainau
44 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
261 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eibsee Hotel
Eibsee Hotel
#10 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Grainau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Grainau

Property: Alpenhof Grainau
Address: Alpspitzstr. 34, 82491 Grainau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Grainau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Grainau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenhof Grainau 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HRS, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Alpenhof Grainau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing